We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven close to downtown Victoria”
Review of Beaconsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beaconsfield Inn
Ranked #10 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A peaceful haven close to downtown Victoria”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I spent a delightful holiday in the Garden Room of Beaconsfield Inn. It was lovely to have the light of the garden, and the porch outside for sitting. A favorite aspect was the attention to detail of the hosts. We loved their warm helpfulness, with suggestions for meals and walks nearby. Breakfasts were delicious, and the contact with other guests also presented wonderful possibilities--we could interact, or disappear to our own areas as we pleased. The library is extensive and great for those of us who delight in a good book by a warm fire.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PGDanuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    53
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
270
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bous
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A stay in the Beaconsfield Inn is the perfect match to being in Victoria. The setup, decoration and breakfast are marvelous. Also, and most important, the whole team is dedicated to excel permanently in serving their guests. Many thanks to Gary and the team for making our stay so memorable.
Jean Braun

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in the Gatekeepers Suite with our 16 & 19 year old kids. It was without a doubt one of the most memorable stays ever. Everything was gorgeous and the food was to die for! But the best part of our stay were the Innkeepers, who were thoughtful and accommodating. Perhaps we will be lucky enough to stay there again some day..... We were "living the dream" on that vaca!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary at the Beaconsfield Inn in August 2013. We had honeymooned there 27 years ago so it was very special to return. We had an absolutely fabulous experience. We loved our suite and our host Gary and Warren were so warm and attentive, not to mention they served delicious breakfasts every morning. The location is perfect if you want to be out of the busyness of the city but close enough that it is easy to walk to many restaurants, the park, the bay and other attractions. We highly recommend the Beaconsfield Inn and hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in August '13. The weather was perfect; so, we didn't spend a lot of time in inside, but had an amazing time. The walk to an incredible marina/harbour (10 minutes) is beautiful, running by Beacon Hill Park, which is full of flowers, green grass, and plenty of things to do. The ocean is just 5 minutes away. Warren and Gary were as hospitable as can be and we will definitely chalk this up as a must return trip. We are fairly discriminatory as far as travelers go and demand to have good quality rooms, towels, cleanliness, and friendliness. The Beaconsfield staff and demeanor is as good as it gets. You need to come here!!! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in August. The weather was gorgeous (mostly) so we didn't spend a lot of time in the inn itself, otping instead to walk to town (10 minutes), take a seaside stroll (10 mins, opposite direction) or drive to the famous flower gardens (some 12 miles out of town). We had a spaceous room on the ground floor, with fireplace and jacuzzi (plus bathroom with separate bath and spaceous shower). The room opened up into the "rose garden" which is a great place to sit and read a book in the sun.
Breakfast was a tasty feast each day; our hosts, Gary and Warren were attentive and full of good suggestions for places to eat (esp. check out Cafe Brio in Fort St and Bon Rouge Bistro in Courtney St). Every day at 3 Warren and Gary serve tea in the library (with freshly baked cookies) and at 6 they'll pour a glass of sherry for those who are around. All in all a great stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked being on the ground floor, which gave us a private entry from garden into our room (but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Willem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
279 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Beaconsfield Inn is a beacon of friendliness and fine service, located in a nice, quiet residential area within walking distance of downtown Victoria. Each morning the attentive and friendly innkeepers, Gary and Warren, served up a substantial gourmet breakfast with a pastry, fruit and creative entree. One day it was a shrimp quiche and the next egg pillows on a cloud. Special dietary requirements are honored as well.

Garry, Warren and the staff are only too happy to please guests in every way, whether it is making travel recommendations or reservations or setting out freshly baked cookies and sherry in the afternoons. The inn itself is an exquisite Edwardian home that is meticulously maintained. We stayed in the lovely McClure room, which comfortably accommodated three people. The room was bright, airy and large with a working fireplace. The beds were wonderful and the bathroom was a cut above, with a jacuzzi and separate shower. Chocolates and bottles of water appeared daily. Parking is complimentary.

Beacon Hill park is nearby, and the walk to the city center is a pleasant stroll -- we never had to drive unless we were going further than downtown.

First class all the way -- you cannot go wrong at the Beaconsfield Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVLwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,508 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,684 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Inn

Property: Beaconsfield Inn
Address: 998 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaconsfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Beaconsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing