We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”
Review of Beaconsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaconsfield Inn
Ranked #13 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first stay here and we were pleasantly surprised. The hosts are extremely welcoming and the house is quite delightful. Beautifully decorated with antiques, the library is a comfortable spot to while away an hour reading and enjoying the fire. Our room was spacious, nicely appointed and with a very comfortable bed. We checked out all the other rooms as we are planning a return with other members of our family at a later date and found them all to offer a different feel and all are very nice. A 10 minute walk to the harbour makes this a great spot to stay, in a quiet residential area. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 454 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very nice room with a garden entrance - even in cold, winter weather, it was nice to be able to head straight outdoors from our room. The bathtub beside the fireplace, along with a sip of sherry and a cookie was greatly appreciated after a cold blustery walk. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection - delicious...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kth0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The baconsfield is lovely! I go primarily for the giant soker bathtubs, but they have also been consitantly good at providing gluten free meals, and snacks. The rooms are spaciouse and classicaly decorated. And you can`t leave until you try on one of thier fuzzzy robes. We have been twice, both times the service was awsome. The first time we went, they provided an early breakfast for my fiance, without issue. The only complaint I could see is that there internet is very solw, and the don`t have wifi...which might be an advantage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are thrilled that you took the time to write and share your experience and that you chose us for your return trip. It is our pleasure to work around known food allergies, and are glad you appreciate this service.

We would like to clarify that we do have wi-fi and high speed internet service. We actually expanded our wi-fi service and installed equipment on each level of the Inn so as fo ensure there are no dead spots. This was done this past November. There is an access code provided and connection is explained in the information binder found on the desk of every guest room.

We take your comments seriously, and will explain to all guests at check in that we do have free high speed wi-fi for all to enjoy.
We are sorry that you missed this information during your return visit with us.

Regards,
Warren and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent New Year's at the Beaconsfield Inn and was immediately enveloped in the inn's warm ambiance and welcomed like an old friend by the inn's delightful hosts, Gary and Warren. They couldn't have been kinder, or more genuine; their level of service is exceptional, and feels more like a natural extension of who they are than a job they do. Quite honestly, while the inn itself is stunning in every respect, it's Gary and Warren who make it feel like a home; they're the inn's beating heart. Thanks to them, despite the grandeur of the surroundings, I was instantly at my ease and supremely content. They also very kindly upgraded me to the Emily Carr Suite, which was simply beautiful, and extremely comfortable. All in all, I can't recommend the Beaconsfield Inn highly enough. Every comfort is thought of before you know you want it - and the attention to detail is second to none. And then there are the two delightful hosts - you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

It was a treat to meet you and host your stay, thank you for your elaborate review it gave us goose bumps !! When are you coming back ?? We still have not seen Les Mes the movie :(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was treated to a 2 night stay at the Beaconsfield Inn for my birthday that I will never forget!
The Inn was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season, combined with the Edwardian heritage comfort and modern technology ( plumbing,etc. ) made this house feel like home.
Gary and Warren bring a level of service, warmth and attentiveness to complete the incredible experience of this stately home throughout your visit.
Their culinary creativity and presentation made the dining experience second to none!
"No I am not related to either Gary or Warren!"
If you want to have a romantic getaway with that special person in your life, in Victoria, enjoy an incredible stay at the Beaconsfield Inn!!
We will be back again soon, thanks guys!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beaconsfield is a treasure of an inn, conveniently located just blocks from Victoria's inner harbour. The Edwardian mansion, decked out in its Christmas finery, soon transported us to a gentler time. We delighted in our spacious hunting-themed room, heavenly bed and Edwardian bathtub. It was so relaxing to drift off to sleep with the warmth and flickering light from the fire in our room's vintage tiled fireplace.

Gary and Warren, our innkeepers extraordinaire, were helpful and gracious. They booked dinner reservations for us prior to our arrival, provided maps and directions, and served prompt and delicious gourmet breakfasts. We particularly enjoyed discussing our day with them while sipping sherry made especially for the inn. We plan to make a stay at Beaconsfield Inn a yearly treat!

Tamsin M

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Your artful description of your stay in the Duchess room made us want to book right away! Thank you so much ! We enjoyed being able to talk about your day's exploration of Victoria each evening, and enjoyed your sense of humour! It's humbling to know that you enjoyed our service, and that you are planning on making this a yearly treat! We look forward to seeing your smiling faces same time next year.
Warren and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As I had a 2 day business meeting in Victoria, I stayed overnight at the wonderful Beaconsfield Inn. The inn is a lovely and well maintained property, very conveniently located just blocks away from the centre of attractions in downtown Victoria. Hosts Warren and Gary provided exceptional hospitality, delicious food and lovely rooms. I would definitely stay here again, and will also definitely recommend the Beaconsfield Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We both would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the Beaconsfield Inn. We were pleased to have hosted the meeting and believe that we offer a great intimate space for small meetings.
What a huge compliment to know that you will choose the Beaconsfield Inn again for your next stay in Victoria!
Gary and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 92 in Victoria
539 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prior Castle Inn
#23 of 92 in Victoria
26 reviews
James Bay
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Pendray Inn and Tea House
#11 of 92 in Victoria
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Inn

Address: 998 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $106 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaconsfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaconsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing