We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive experience!”
Review of Beaconsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaconsfield Inn
Ranked #13 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our recent trip to Victoria was complete by having the opportunity to stay at the Beaconsfield Inn. From the cozy room to the delicious breakfasts, there was no expense spared. We felt that we were part of a family there. Being away from our own family made this a very positive relationship. Warren and Gary couldn't do enough to make our stay special. They were both very aware of our needs and made sure they were met. I have no problem recommending this Inn to anyone. Lori Russell

Room Tip: Our room could sleep 4. What a value. Also close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

It was such a pleasure to have hosted you during your stay in Victoria, and to meet your son the first few days of your trip. Thank you for your kind words about feeling like family, we strive to make the Inn feel as comfortable as possible so our guests can relax and feel at home.
You were such fun, and it was great to share stories about your day exploring Victoria.
Glad to hear you made it safely home to Ontario, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Warren and Gary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Best Inn in the city! Attention to every detail from Innkeepers Gary & Warren. Immaculate rooms, library with complimentary afternoon tea, and coffee. Sherry in the evening and a gourmet breakfast! Walk to Cook Street Village for the local flavor. If Victoria, BC is on your list, the Beaconsfield Inn is an absolute must stay!!!

Curt Dichiera, Port Angeles, WA

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for calling to spend your Birthday with us!
We enjoyed the lively conversations over sherry in our library, and helping with recommendations for dinner!
We are thrilled that you rated us best in the city, and we certainly look forward to your return visit for another birthday celebration in December!
All the best to both of you, and it was our pleasure to host you
Gary and Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This wonderful late Victorian/Edwardian house is warm, cozy, and friendly. Beautiful furnishings and decor, plus an ever-helpful staff, make it a relaxing place for a holiday stay in Victoria BC. The walk to the center of all the action--the Inner Harbor and downtown--runs about 15-25 minutes instead of the advertised 10, and that's not a problem unless it is raining. Breakfast is well-prepared in both taste and presentation. Our original room had water leakage issues, so we were upgraded to the top floor suite, which made the stay even nicer.

Room Tip: Take something NOT on the main floor--either upstairs or in the garden room downstairs will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaujames64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for posting your recent review of your stay with us, we appreciate you taking the time to write. We are thrilled that you found our furnishings and decor beautiful and that we provide a relaxing place for a holiday.

Upon your arrival ( the first day of our rainy season ), the room you had booked had a slight leak from the top of a window frame, so we were happy to offer you the best room in the house as a complimentary upgrade, and $80 difference at no extra charge.

Our location is in a quiet residential neighbourhood, just 4 city blocks to the inner harbour of downtown Victoria, which, many guests walk in ten minutes or less. Victoria's historic downtown is expansive, and is a great place to explore for the afternoon for great shopping and dining

Thanks again for taking the time to review, and for choosing the Beaconsfield Inn

Gary, Warren, Arland, and Cora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have stayed many B&B's over the years & this is the 1st one that we've ever received so much love, care & attention, in the most comfortable setting. Loved Arland, Warren & Gary. Was cozy to come down to a warm fire in the foyer & library, and to be seated at a beautiful table & served
a delicious gourmet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you Cynthia!
Gary, Arland and I are thrilled that you found our welcoming so warm!
It is nice to hear that over the years you found the Beaconsfield to be so attentive. We enjoy conversing with guests while serving breakfast, and truly care about their experiences while visiting Victoria.
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you both again!
Gary, Warren, and Arland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

As walk ins from a failed booking at another B&B we were looking for anywhere with a room!

Some 5 minutes after arriving in the Beaconsfield Inn, we had been shown around the beautiful public areas , all three available rooms , and had been made to feel extremely welcome...

...after 15 minutes we had chosen our beautiful room, taken complimentary tea and home made cookies in the drawing room and taken advantage of the Wi-fi and excellent advice to sort out our evening plans!

Overall the Beaconsfield offers an extremely well thought out and bespoke experience through its detailed and individualistic suites and well its tailored and considerate service.

Well worth a stay. Breakfast will blow your boots off!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olly_Scotland_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments. We are very happy to hear that you were wowed by our service, we try very hard to provide professional, personalized service to all our guests.
Complimentary afternoon tea and fresh baked cookies is a welcome treat when guests check in, and hold onto your boots in the morning... Thanks! We never had breakfast described that way!

Have a great winter and thank you for choosing the Beaconsfield Inn!
Gary, Warren, Arland
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed an extended "Garden Package" visit at the Beaconsfield Inn last April. We were pampered, all our questions answered--and enjoyed the stay thoroughly. We have never had a better time!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the sleeping porch on the main floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARLPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My stay at the Beaconsfield Inn was wonderful! The atmosphere is so calm - from the classical music playing in the front hall to the roaring fire in the library. The rooms were beautiful - elegant and spotless, the gourmet breakfasts were a treat, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is just amazing! They were just a few short blocks and a comfortable walking distance to downtown, the harbour, and Beacon Hill Park. I would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoeliaAndrade1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We couldn't agree more that our location is amazing - the Inn is located just 4 blocks from the Inner harbour of downtown Victoria.
We are glad to hear that touches like classical music are noticed, and that our breakfast's are a treat! It was great to see you take an interest in our other guests photography over breakfast.
Thank you for staying with us on your trip from Edmonton, we look forward to hosting you again!
Gary, Warren Arland and Cora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,063 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,137 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Inn

Address: 998 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $155 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaconsfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Beaconsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing