We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curvy scenic driver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Marine Route

Scenic Marine Route
Ranked #6 of 175 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic running and hiking trail along the Pacific.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Curvy scenic driver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Awesome homes and water views. Where else can you see cliff jumpers and drive through a golf course?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kelliespence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    140
    20
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Sk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable drive through the scenic route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Drove, loved it, rainy day, fresh breeze, not crowded, stopped to take pictures in many locations, was really enjoyable and relaxing. I went to dip my feet in the Pacific Ocean for the first time ever -:) Great unforgettable experience!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr. Niyi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic on a nice day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We used a Gypsy guide (talking GPS) to take us ont eh Scenic Marine Route. I'm sure it can be done easily by just following the roads, but I can't comment on that.

The route takes you along the SE side of the island along luxury houses with great views of the Sound. We went in May, so the flowers were great. Each lawn is perfectly manicured. There is definitely money in this area!

There are several nice stops along the way where you can take nice photo's across the sound to Washington State. We went in late May, so there wasn't any traffic on the roads - but I can imagine the traffic would be crazy on a pretty day in the middle of the Summer.

Very nice way to spend 1+ hours driving around and dreaming. This tour would be best for elderly individuals that like to "view" things instead of a physical activity. Of course, the cost is free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vol_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rent a car and drive this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

You only need to rent the car for a day and it is easy to drive if you are used to the opposite side of the road like us. Stunning drive and so many places to stop that a bus tour won't do it justice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive, put on your patience cap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are 2 kinds of people on this drive: tourists & locals. If you're a tourist, remember that everyone is there for the same reason. You may be stuck behind a big tour bus that slows down for commentary that you can't hear. No, you can't pass them. You'll probably turn off soon anyway, if they don't turn off first. *Make sure to just pull over & let people pass you if you're being tailgated* A sunny day is best. Low lying clouds can hide a lot of the views. I started from Victoria & drove up, seeing the most beautiful oceanfront neighborhoods first. You definitely see a change in the styles & upkeep as you go North, but all worth a viewing. It took about an hour to drive from Victoria to Butchart Gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Marine Route also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Scenic Marine Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing