We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and beyond my expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and beyond my expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

My mother, sister and I went to Victoria for a night and adored this historic boutique hotel! The staff was fantastic. Diane, Front Office Manager, gave me some 2010 Winter Olympic Canadian coins after I mentioned my husband was a collector. Nick, General Manager, made sure we had everything we needed and that we truly enjoyed our stay. Colleen arranged a delightful and very entertaining horse drawn carriage ride that toured the city and then dropped us off at Brio's for my mom's birthday dinner. What a wonderful place to eat (Thank You Colleen)! Upon entering our "Country Room," we had beautiful music playing and were delighted with the basket of wine and cookies. I must say, I fell in love with the gorgeous bath tub/shower. Abigail's Hotel also had an inviting library where you could choose from several wines where we enjoyed a quick game of scrabble. We slept like babies and had a savory breakfast before checking out. The location was a quick walk from some great shopping. I can't wait to bring my husband for a visit. 5 Stars!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiHofromIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    74
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
728
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

If only you could pick up Abigail's and move it to a different surrounding area with lush gardens and perhaps a waterfall to add to the ambiance! It would be absolutely perfect. We have no complaints with the hotel amenities and rooms, the extremely hospitable staff and the quality of the breakfasts and afternoon hors d,oeuvres. Parking is a little tight, but the harbour and downtown are within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brits at Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

An old time hotel with tight, and fairly drab, rooms...at least ours was. The library is pleasant, but almost everything is up a tight flight of stairs. The help is enthusiastic and friendly, but seniors should be aware of the stairs. The breakfast room is charming, and the breakfast is superb. The location is drab, and the walk to the harbor area is great going down, but not so great coming back. All in all, and OK place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallybaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abigailshotel, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Wallybaloo,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The staff, management and owners of our property all strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience. We think of ourselves as a family and we try and relay that feeling to all of our guests. If concerns are vocalized to us, we try to be as accommodating as possible – including, but not limited to, quick shuttles to a nearby destination or a review of room alternatives.

With respect to your comment about our rooms being “drab”, we have a variety of unique rooms over five different categories. All of our rooms have their own distinct furnishings, finishing, chair setups, bath tub/shower types, dimensions, etc. If ever in doubt about the particulars of our rooms, we are happy to discuss these matters personally by phone or show you where they can be found on our website.

Concerning our location being “drab”, while we are not a view property, we offer something that is rather exceptional to downtown Victoria: close proximity to the inner harbour (roughly three blocks / 10 minute walk) yet at the end of a residential cul-de-sac that makes for a much less noisy experience than you would find closer to the harbour (buses, sea-planes, street noise, etc). We often receive much praise for our location as we’re central to the majority of attractions that Victoria has to offer yet peaceful and quiet at the same time.

Lastly, with respect to our stairs, unfortunately we’re a heritage property with significant space constraints that do not currently permit us to have an elevator. Our Main House has three storeys and our Coach House has two. We are in the process of launching a new website and I will ensure this point is stressed as a notice for future guests. Notwithstanding this fact, we have one ground floor unit, our Country Garden Room, which is often desirable for those that have mobility restrictions.

Thank you again for your feedback and I wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,

Nick S.
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I did not find Abigail's Hotel particularly appealing from the outside, but the furnishings and decorations inside are very comfortable. We liked the "library" area where we enjoyed the complimentary tea and browsed the guide books, and also the aperitifs.
We were booked into the honeymoon suite and, as someone else has observed, there was no sign of the "honeymoon gift" and the room wasn't really a suite as it is advertised but was still very comfortable. The bathroom featured a double size jet tub which was great, and the bed was so high you needed a step to climb up! It was a shame that we had a large stained glass window that we couldn't cover though as we were awake at 6am...
Breakfast was yummy and kept us going til the afternoon, although the coffee could have used a bit more punch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abigailshotel, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments, good or bad we monitor all external reviews to ensure that we are exceeding our guests’ expectations or implementing suggestions to improve future experiences with us. We will certainly heed the comments you’ve made in this review.

Two particular issues that I’d like to address regarding your feedback:

1. When booking indirectly with us (i.e. through an online travel website), there is no opportunity for a guest to specify an “occasion” such as a honeymoon, it must be done through a generic comment field, which often goes unused. Thus, we can sometimes be in the dark on travel occasions until the time of check-in.

2. To my knowledge, we do not advertise any of our rooms as suites. If you have seen an external website that indicates the contrary please let me know as I would like to rectify this. I completely agree that while our honeymoon rooms are indeed deluxe rooms (vaulted ceilings, antique chandeliers, two person jetted tubs, king sized four post beds recessed into wall alcoves, etc.) they are not suites.

Please feel free to correspond directly with us at innkeeper@abigailshotel.com

Best regards,
Nick S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed in the Sunflower room which was comfortable and beautifully decorated. The calm music playing as we went into the room summed up the relaxing feel of the hotel. Drinks could be enjoyed in the library or the garden to accompany an afternoon snack and breakfast was cooked to perfection. The recommendations offered by staff on reception proved well worth visiting. A delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viscount21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We returned to Abigail's as we recalled how much we liked staying there during our last trip to Victoria--24 years ago! They've expanded, but have retained much, if not all, of the charm of the original property. The rooms are very well appointed with every amenity. (If I was VERY pickey, I'd say maybe they tried to pack too much into the rooms, making them feel a little cluttered) The staff is pleasant an knowledgeable about the area. The location is perfect, in a quiet neighborhood but only a 5 minute walk to the harbor area. I think this is a very well-run establishment and it will continue to be our first choice when we next visit Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrileymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. From the staff at reception, to the breakfast room, to the incredible breakfast prepared by our personal chef, our stay at Abigail's Hotel was incredible. We were within walking distance to all of the Victoria sites, and were personally welcomed home on our return each evening. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay top rate. Thanks to everyone at Abigail's for making our visit to Victoria a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing