We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend Abigails Hotel wherever we travel for a first class experience”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We recommend Abigails Hotel wherever we travel for a first class experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Here's what sold us: they let us see the rooms and pick the one that called our name. I don't usually use the jacuzzi tubs when we travel but here the rooms are so clean that I soaked my aching bones. The staff, especially Chris are so well mannered and personable. Two years after our initial visit he remembered us. That's pretty cool. The luxurious rooms, linens, fireplace and attention to detail in the decor was a treat. The evening appetizers, the glass of wine in the library before retiring and the amazing gourmet breakfast aroma wafting to our room in the morning all add to the value we receive when we stay at Abigails.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeakLifeExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    78
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
772
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

After a very hectic schedule across Canada we arrived weary to this lovely hotel. Even booking in was a pleasure when offered coffee and pressed to have freshly baked scones by the delightful staff. The room was wonderful with a lovely fireplace that was also shared by the ensuite bathroom. This had the biggest rainfall shower on the planet!!! After a hectic whale watching trip and dinner, it was wonderful to just relax in this lovely room. the first time we had relaxed in three weeks.
If I had a criticism it would be that I thought I would have a heart attack when tackling the three storeys by stairs. Thank goodness we had very little luggage with us. The accommodation far made up for this though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetHappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

All the convenience of a hotel w/o the unwanted impersonality ; all the charm of a b&b w/o the unwanted intimacy. Plus Max behind the breakfast bar makes the worlds best granola from scratch and willingly shares the recipe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpwinfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This charming hotel has got all the little things right! From the weather report thoughtfully included on the breakfast menu, the incredible beds that have you sleeping like a baby, to the personalised "can do" service, it's obvious that the owners and managers care deeply about their guests' experience.

We were in town to visit family, but Abigail's turned out to be the unexpected joy of our time in Victoria. We stayed in the Coach House and were enchanted by the beautiful room and the fantastic service of the staff. The hearty and wonderfully cooked breakfasts by Matt and Victoria started out every day perfectly! Matt even allowed me to pick his brains about local cuisine and food trends.

We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

After reading so many great reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to book Abigails as part of our honeymoon, we booked the honeymoon suite which was expensive but we were expecting big things. It felt like such a letdown when we arrived our room was nice, well decorated but by no means a suite, there was no mention of our honeymoon or gift (we were either giving a gift or upgrade at every other hotel we stayed in) for the price we payed it was not a luxury... dragged suitcases up and down the stairs!. We also had high hope's of the 5pm aperitifs, this turned out to be a bowl of soup and some crackers for a luxury hotel this is poor with no real effort, the breakfast is also made a big deal of on Abigails website, I had an omelette with some bacon, fruit and a scone...art on a plate??. If we had payed half the price I would rate the hotel higher but when you call yourself a luxury hotel and charge £250+ a night it just doesn't deliver in any way also the wireless internet didn't work . The staff were all really nice our promlem is with the hotel itself. We stayed in 12 different hotels during our travels around Alberta and BC loved every minute of it, this hotel was our biggest disappointment. Stay at brentwood bay 20 minutes out of victoria, excellent rooms and restaurant with pool... and champagne to celebrate our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sammy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear Mr and Mrs Sammy15,

I’m sincerely sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than extraordinary.
We value your comments and will certainly review our honeymoon room descriptions as well as test out the limits of our complimentary wireless internet connection. As for the food experience, I will relay these comments to our Chef’s -- who will be devastated by this feedback because they work very hard on their menus (which change daily) and typically receive an abundance of praise and recipe requests. Our soups are made from scratch using locally sourced organic product.

That said, we do appreciate the balance of your feedback whereby you gave us high marks for location, cleanliness, service and sleep quality.

Should you ever return to downtown Victoria we would be honored to try and rectify our standing with you. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly to discuss further.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We had a fabulous weekend despite the cold, windy, and rainy weather in Victoria. Who knew the wood-burning fireplace would come in so handy? My husband and I stayed at a room in the coach house which we purchased in a package that came with spa treats and champagne. The staff were very friendly and extremely apologetic when the fire alarm went off at 5 a.m. due to a spider getting in the sensor. The bottle of wine they offered ensured a good nights sleep the following night. I would note to others that excellent breakfast is only included if reserved through the hotel's website or by phone. Some guests were not aware but paid the extra fee to enjoy. We received excellent recommendations on things to do and places to eat. The hotel is a few blocks from downtown - close, but not wear your uncomfortable heels close.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My wife and I recently spent several nights celebrating her 40th birthday in Victoria. We had two nights at a different 5 star spa/resort and it really didn't compare to our stay at the Abigail Hotel. The rooms were immaculate, beautifully furnished with classic old world charm surroundings. Very comfortable beds and welcoming fireplaces in the Orchid and foxglove rooms. There was a sight problem in the foxglove room and they immediately moved us to the honeymoon suite - the Orchid room (both rooms were really beautiful) The staff pampered us with their attention. We enjoyed the 5pm wine and cheese gathering in the library and the gourmet breakfast in the morning, being served by 3 different staff was really a treat. One of the best hot chocolates I've had in years (many). My wife really appreciated how central the hotel was to downtown Victoria and got a great run in before breakfast. The grounds were lovely with many flowers. Just book it and enjoy your choice you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crossroadsmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2010
Thank you for the incredibly kind review. These comments are a great reminder for us of the impact we make on our guests' experiences and serve as a wonderful motivator as we enter "busy season".

Warm regards,
Nick Saklas - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,735 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing