We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Wow, wow, wow! 5 stars out of five for Abigail's! What a pleasure to stay in such a beautiful hotel with the quaintness of a B&B. It felt like we were king and queen staying in the luxurious room. The service was fantastic. Loved the breakfasts and the afternoon appetizers too. We stayed two nights and can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beachdoglily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    73
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
716
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I would go back to Victoria just to stay there again. The staff was extremely hospitable and helpful. The breakfast and hors d’oeuvre were better than most restaurants. The bed was very comfortable. The overall atmosphere was both attractive and relaxing. I would give Abigail's a 4.75 if I could. Nothing is ever perfect. lol The only negatives I experienced were the tight parking and our room had a small shower with no bathroom vanity. But these were a small price to pay for such an amazing experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

From being greeted in the parking lot before we got our suitcases out - to the room, the service, the breakfasts (oh my - the breakfasts!) - this trip was amazing and Abigail's was outstanding. The staff went out of their way with customer service - they were very knowledgeable, helpful. The breakfasts were so good - amazing fresh fruit every morning, gourmet selections, baked goods. The wine and appies in the evening were such a nice way to meet other guests. The rooms are well appointed, very clean. Will recommend this to anyone traveling to the west coast - and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drag0nfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
605 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I travel for a living and stay at large hotels weekly so for a short 3 night visit to Victoria for our anniversary I chose this small B&B based on the ratings here on TA. It was truly a fantastic place to stay. From our arrival I knew something was really special about this place. The young ladies who staff reception are so friendly and helpful. Every request was met with pleasure and a smile. Special kudos to Alice who helped us with dinner reservations and recommendations but all of her colleagues were equally accommodating.
Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a fireplace and a great tub/rain shower combination. Only one odd thing to report. The fireplace connects the bedroom and the bathroom so you can enjoy it from either place- however it means that the bathroom/toilet is visible from the bedroom and there is little privacy when using the toilet. We both found that odd and a bit uncomfortable. That aside the room was great.
The breakfast is also fantastic and unique. My wife is gluten free and they willingly made adjustments to the menu to accommodate her.
There are snacks and drinks available in the evening as well.
Abigail's is a short walk to most of the major attractions in town and far enough away from the tourist center to offer a respite from the crowds.
Overall I would highly recommend staying here to anyone planning a visit to Victoria.
One other word that has nothing to do with the hotel. The seagulls in Victoria are the noisiest I have ever heard. You get used to them after a night but they are very loud.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I wish it were possible to give more than five stars to this wonderful boutique hotel, nestled in a quiet neighborhood just a few short blocks from downtown Victoria BC. My husband and I stayed here years ago and loved it, so when a friend asked me to join her in Victoria, I suggested that we stay here. It was even better than I had remembered. The hotel itself is quite charming, with a lovely garden and patio where you can enjoy your morning tea or afternoon wine. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the beds are incredibly comfortable, with high quality linen, and the baths have soft rain shower heads. Everything is first class. Breakfast is included and the chef is amazing - three courses with several choices, everything was delicious and it was hard to choose. In the afternoon hors d'oeuvres are served along with wine or your choice of cocktail. There is an extra charge for alcoholic drinks, but it is minimal and well worth it. Housekeeping is efficient - your room is "done up" while you are out and everything is immaculate when you return. But the staff is what makes Abigail's. They are amazing. Every single person, day and night, went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. No request goes unattended. They will give you suggestions for where to eat - listen to them, they know what they are talking about. They will give you suggestions on where to walk and what routes to take so that you have the best scenery. And if you take a city bus tour, be sure to buy your tickets at the hotel - much cheaper than buying them on site! My friend stayed at the Empress Hotel last time she was in Victoria, and she said it doesn't compare to Abigail's. I highly recommend this little boutique hotel - find a reason to go to Victoria so you can stay
here! And be sure to have at least one meal at Matisse - food is wonderful and the service is great.

Room Tip: I've stayed here twice and had wonderful rooms both times - can't imagine there is a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Abigails is a small hotel adjacent downtown Victoria. It is more of a B & B than a hotel, both in character and amenities. It's location gives one the feel of being part of the neighbourhood but still within easy walking of all Victorias highlights. Appetizers and wine were wonderful as was the included breakfast. Most likely the most comfortable bed and bedding I have ever experienced. If you are looking for an alternative to the big hotels, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We travel a lot but despite living in Vancouver, we rarely get to Victoria. This time we went with a sister and brother in law for a reunion of sorts with old friends and picked the Abigail because of the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. This is a fabulous place to stay - great look and feel of the rooms, first class presentation, excellent staff all around - more than pleasant and very helpful but always genuine and never fake. Having parking and breakfast provided brings actual cost of the room down and the breakfast is much more than the usual 'breakfast included' fare. Unique each morning, several choices, really well done. Very good wifi and it and the other room amenities (AC, IPod docking station, etc) worked very well. No elevator here which was not a problem for us but could be for people with mobility issues. The neigbourhood was very quiet and seemed like it was quasi residential so if its nightlife beside you that you are looking for, this may not be the place but it is quite central to the heart of downtown maybe a 10 minute walk. All in all, we couldn't have been more impressed. This is a well run operation that deserves the reviews.

Room Tip: There is no elevator here so if people have difficulty walking up stairs, ask for a room on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing