We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem, centrally located”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Ruston, Wa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, centrally located”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a wonderful two nights here and could have stayed so much longer. Our room, 2B was magnificant. Four poster bed, fireplace, exquisite bath with jetted tub and all the wonderful touches that make a stay at this caliber hotel so wonderful. Above and beyond all the lovely physical attributes of this hotel, such as library for evening appitizers and drinks, breakfast room that was well appointed, outdoor seating among the gardens, the STAFF is what makes this such a great stay. They are welcoming, pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. When asked for help wth a day trip or a walking tour on our own, their advice was spot on. They seemed to enjoy their jobs and that enthusiasm so came through. Cudos to them. The breakfasts were so yummy with fresh everything. The coffee perfect! Tortally loved everything about our visit and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithaVue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    76
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
739
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our first stay at Abigail's will certainly, certainly not be our last.

We had arrived in Victoria under stressful circumstances--we we're house hunting, with very tight deadlines looming, and very new to the area. The staff, ambiance, and fellow guests were the perfect antidote to this stress.

Upon arrival, we were stopped in the parking lot by a very personable staff member who wanted to ensure we knew where to park before offering to take our bags inside (despite our shyness here, he graciously insisted upon helping). We were then ushered up to one of the Rose rooms, where relaxing lighting, beautiful music, home-baked cookies, and plush, welcoming bedding were waiting for us. This suite featured the largest, most comfortable bed we've ever had, at any hotel (and we are no strangers to 5 star plus environments).

The bath/shower combination was everything we'd hoped it would be from reading reviews. Anyone that calls these masterpieces "gimmicky" is entirely missing the point. They are luxurious, very deep, and the rainfall shower head is a dream. With the two-sided fireplace going, and a glass of wine in hand, there's nowhere else I'd rather be.

The library was perfect for planning our day and enjoying a drink in the evening. The staff are absolutely excellent and management deserves top marks for developing such an outstanding team. Employees have a talent for appearing when you need them, and disappearing when you don't. They are attentive without being overbearing or hovering--such experiences really expose the lacking customer service at so many other hotels. You won't be disappointed.

The breakfast the next morning was outstanding. We had our choice of three delicious options (artisan granola with rich yogurt, banana/chocolate chip pancakes with pure Canadian maple syrup, or homemade sausage and eggs anyway). The staff accommodated our small requests graciously. The dining environment was multicultural, and it was so nice meeting other guests from around the world. :)

The building, grounds, and decor are very "European estate." It felt very much like the setting of a Victorian romance novel--comfortable, rich, antique, and refined. If ever I needed a literary escape--this would be my first choice, bar none.

Our only complaint: things were too comfortable! We didn't want to leave and didn't get nearly as much done as we probably should! A guilty pleasure at it's finest!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtjmcddonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great way to celebrate a friend's milestone birthday, a visit to Victoria BC and a couple of nights at Abigail's. This was my first time to Victoria and because of the staff at Abigail's I definitely hope to return. The attention to detail (hosted appetizers, printed menu's, delicious food and friendly staff) set this B&B apart from the rest. The location is great, easy to walk all over town. The staff recommendations for dinner are spot on and they'll assist with reservations. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the claw-foot tub made the bubble bath irresistible! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What makes this Hotel so wonderful is its Charm and its staff.Oh and we can't forget the Amazing gourmet breakfast each morning by the in house Chef.It is in a quiet location and is just a short walk(10 min) to harbour.
Our room was "The Emerald room-superior", with its in room fire place and king four poster bed, made for an abosolute perfect romantic get away.
The staff were awesome... i was surprised by the genuine reaction of shock and horror by hotel staff when it was discovered that a feather matress cover was left on our bed after we had requested all feather bedding be removed due to an alergy.The professionalism and intergriety really became apparent when the manager brought us a bottle of wine and a heartfelt appology for the over sight.
We travel to Victoria minimum of twice a year and we will be staying in this wonderful and charming hotel for every future visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyre4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
365 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is one of those places that the minute you leave you are thinking of ways to make a return visit. Each of the 20+ rooms are beautifully decorated, each comfy and cozy in its own right, the robes are luxuriously soft and the beds spaciously large. It is a place that makes you feel right at home. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the chef is terrific. Every morning you are presented with three main course options that are hard to choose between. Every evening at cocktail hour, there are appetizers to munch while either sitting outside on the little patio or in the library sipping a glass of wine. Abigail's is a hotel not to be missed. It is worth every penny paid for the total experience received at this beautiful site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear “heartstoyou”,

Thank you for the kind review. It is touching to receive high praise from someone so well-traveled. Your comments have been shared with our team and have helped to widen our smiles around the hotel this week. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the ‘little extras’ that we deliver. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again and wish you safe travels.

Warm regards,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a nice B&B located in a residential area of Victoria. Nice quiet neighbourhood but within walking distance of downtown. Excellent personalized service by the owners and staff. The rooms are very nicely appointed although a criticism might be that there is a little too much furniture for the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamdowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly, well worth the evening and breakfast in bed! Guest staff are very helpful, provide a great ambiance to your evening, and the night was a "just because" night and was perfect. We would return over and over, and we live here in Victoria!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meckbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing