We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abigail's is so terrific it pretty much has wrecked all other hotel stays for us!”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Marysville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abigail's is so terrific it pretty much has wrecked all other hotel stays for us!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Ruby King room, service, gourmet breakfasts and evening appetizers were beyond any expectation. The proximity to all attractions while not being in the middle of the "tourist zone" is perfect. Chef Matt is a brilliant gourmet and all taste pairings, spice, textures seem to be considered in planning daily breakfast menus. We will not only be back, but compare all other hotel stays to this trip!

Room Tip: The Ruby King room has the most amazingly comfortable bed I've ever seen in a hotel, and the rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 233cargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    78
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
772
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel within walking distance to the main shopping precinct and waterfront. The decor is superb and the staff could not have been more helpful. We loved the breakfast and the 5 pm finger food and hot apple cider. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandbridgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am finding this one a bit hard to review. It is certainly attractive, lovely surrounds beautiful decor if a bit twee. Service was good staff are lovely and attentive. It is romantic in the tradition of a Victorian novel eg fireplace, ruffles etc but as a heritage property it has some problems too. We were in the opal room, and for the first night it was lovely and quiet and I was only woken up by the lovely smell of bacon cooking. The second night was different the room next door was occupied and the occupant I felt sorry for, as he obviously had some problems as we could hear every time he went to the washroom. Imagine being a newly wed!! There were some lovely touches fresh cookies in the room, afternoon snacks, soup and hot apple cider. Breakfast menu was creative, but very rich and I like a simple breakfast. The cook was obliging and cooked to our request.

Room Tip: Choose one which has no common walls if that is possible, on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for choosing Abigail’s Hotel for your recent trip to Victoria, we appreciate your business and would also like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on this site.

We are sorry to read that you had some mixed feelings in regards to your stay. If you would like to discuss your experience further I would very much like to hear from you and can be reached at Nick@abigailshotel.com. Specifically I am interested to know which exact room you were in as we do not actually have any rooms that share a common wall between the bathroom and bedroom of neighbouring guest rooms. You also make mention of our breakfast menu being rich, yet say we tailored a breakfast to your request; which is confusing. Our daily-changing breakfast menu always consists of three options: a light breakfast, sweet breakfast and savory breakfast and we always accept, within reason, individually customized orders.

We appreciate your patronage and your balanced review which also gives us top marks for service, location and cleanliness. Should you wish to give us the pleasure of having you back please feel free to contact me directly at any time to arrange a future visit.

Safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights and loved every minute! The staff was terrific, always there to meet any need. They gave great advice on things to do in the area and setup reservations as needed. Breakfast was excellent, and the evening snacks were great, enough to be our meal after a heavy lunch or afternoon tea (yes, do this too somewhere!). Each morning we woke to the smell of breakfast being made for some earlier risers. There was always apple cider, coffee, and tea available with many great flavors to choose from. The fire place was a hit with us too - I like the "real" log version they have that you lite with a match. Getting there, I thought the Garmin was lost as the street looked residential, but nope, it was right at the end of a dead end so that the hotel is actually on the main road with parking access in the back. It is a short walk to all the downtown attractions from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Walk to everything in about 10 minutes. Located in a nice residential area. Surprised us with a 5:00 pm snack tray ( cheese, salami, etc.) and their breakfast is great. Only negative is the stairs and climbing them with suitcases. If this is a problem ask for a lower room. We were on the 3rd flloor and it was tough going.

Room Tip: We were in the main building, very quiet and comfortable king bed. Stairs are severe so if this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stumbled upon this place while surfing the web to find a new place to stay in Victoria. What a find!! I was absolutely delighted with this beautiful hotel. You feel like you have stepped back in time and it resembles an English manor. The breakfast is 3 courses and included and absolutely superb!! There are complimentary appetizers served at 5pm each day and no detail is missed coffee and tea is always available in the main lobby. The staff are warm and friendly. You can have a quiet drink or visit in their parlor in anytime during your stay. Entering our room to soft music and very yummy cookies. I am definitely going back. Hurrah!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twindates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This charming B&B is a short walk from the ferry terminal in downtown Victoria. If there is a class above first class, this is it. I'm not easily impressed with hotels, but Abigail's left me speechless. We stayed in one of the Ruby King rooms. To begin with, the grounds are remarkable. The bed was fantastic and I was in love with the large, claw foot tub with rain can shower.
The staff was very attentive to our every need. Kelly (possibly the concierge?) was great. He helped us pick out a restaurant for dinner, even bringing up the menus of different restaurants on an iPad for us. He even got us reservations at a wonderful Italian restaurant that would have been impossible to get into otherwise, and scheduled a cab to come and pick us up from the hotel.
After dinner, we called the hotel because #1) we had no idea how to get back to Abigail's and #2) we were in no condition to try and figure it out ( we did imbibe a delicious libation or two) and the front desk was extremely polite and had a cab waiting outside the restaurant for us in less than 3 minutes.
The next morning, the 3 course breakfast provided by this B&B was so delightful, delicious and filling. They provided a menu of different items to choose from for each course.
Appetizers are served from 5-7pm and were quite sophisticated. This was a lovely snack as we decided our dinner plans.
Unfortunately, we were not able to utilize their wonderful library as our time was so limited, but we certainly will next time!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootall13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,739 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing