We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairytale!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fairytale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be in a fairytale? If you stay at Abigail's Inn, it will be "happily ever after'!!! We loved-loved-loved every moment there. First, the inn and the setting are so beautiful that I had to drag myself inside! Once inside, there is a warm and cozy 'library' to the left filled with books, videos, games, and a glowing fireplace.

Because of our rather last minute booking, we stayed in two rooms- which was no problem. The first room was "The Honeymoon Suite" and the second the "Fireplace" room. Though both were beautiful and plush, we believe we liked the fireplace room a tad better. The first had a nice 'spa/whirlpool' tub and the Fireplace room had a hugh old claw-foot tub with a fireplace!

The rooms are beautifully appointed and plush. As we were leaving and the maids were cleaning, we were able to 'peek' into several other rooms. Every single room was just as charming. I saw nothing that made me think of 'budget'!!!

I believe breakfast is included. Breakfast is a four course meal prepared by a chef! My mouth is watering just thinking of it. Delicious and again, beautiful.

Abigail's is just three or four blocks from the pier, so we walked from the ferry. It's also just a block or two from Beacon Hill Park. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: From what I saw, there are no "bad" rooms. Every room is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    73
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
716
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Once again TripAdvisor came up trumps with this lovely hotel in the heart of Victoria, just a short stroll from the busy centre. They even have a small separate patio for smokers. Immaculate rooms in a building that feels like home from home. If you want a large corporate hotel don't come here. The staff could not have been more helpful with information from restaurants to excursions, and booking them for us. As others have already mentioned, a couple of the highlights are the breakfasts and the 5pm appetizers. If we return to Victoria, we will return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Abigail's after finding it here on Trip Advisor. The room was great with a large bath and great natural lighting. it was one of the fireplace rooms. The staff were friendly, eager to help and knowlegable of the area. Our last morning we had to check out before breakfast and they packed a nice bag of muffins, croisants and drinks. I'd gladly stay here again or recommend it to friends. it isn't really that far from the inner harbor and the attractions there. We found it easy walking distance.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very nice rooms, staff very friendly.
Maybe a little too far from the city center.
The breakfast is made in an open kitchen next to the tables. There is a menu, and it's one of the best breakfast we ever had!
Only one small problem: in one room we had the kitchen's smell in thé morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FromSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
439 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Used Trip Advisor to locate a hotel close to my sister's condo in Victoria and luckily found Abigail's! What a wonderful hotel - more like a large B&B! Delicious cookies, breakfasts, and appetizers at 5pm with indoor or outside seating - Because the main house was full we were upgraded to a large, romantic room with a fireplace, sofa, 4 poster bed, jacuzzi tub, and soft bathrobes in the coach house. Very helpful and friendly staff- nice conversation with the chef at breakfast. Great location close to public transportation and short walk to the harbor, shopping, etc.
Looking forward to another stay the nest time we visit my sister.
Deborah and Andy,
Los Angeles

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here two nights in mid June along with friends. Staff was charming and helpful, suggesting restaurants, and providing directions for a scenic drive to Buchart Gardens. Breakfast was supurb, appetizers in the afternoon were quite good, and the room was spacious and charming, and beautifully decorated. Location is quite close to the harbor and city center, but on a quiet residential street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Helpful staff and good breakfasts. Comfortable room though no stairs to second floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing