We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

We settled on Abigail's for it's location and free parking. We stayed in the room called Abbey Rose and it couldn't have been more perfect. The fireplace can be viewed from the bedroom and bathroom, so lounging in the clawfoot tub was especially relaxing. We basically had no complaints. Breakfast was prepared in the open kitchen. We hope the owner considers putting a mirror back there so you can really see the preparation.

In the evening there were hors d'ouevres that were varied and scrumptious. Complimentary tea and coffee were always available.

We absolutely recommend Abigail's!

  • Liked — Impecable, well decorated room.
  • Disliked — Can't complain about a thing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    73
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
716
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife, children and I stayed at Abigail's for two night in early September as part of our Pacific NW and British Columbia Tour. It was my third time to stay at this property and it met our expecations once again. The breakfasts included during your stay are to die for and the location is ideal as you are close to everything but just far enough away to relax.

During our stay we enjoyed Beacon Hill Park, Miniature World, lunch at the Empress and Butchart Gardens. Victoria is magical and our stay at Abigail's was wonderful.

  • Liked — Breakfast and rain shower
  • Disliked — Carrying my bags down the narrow staircase
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goneallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

We only stayed one night at this hotel and wish we had stayed longer. We arrived in the early evening, just in time to check in and dash downtown for dinner, but the hotel was so inviting we stayed for a glass of wine (purchased) in the garden. The hotel is in a residential area, which makes it very pleasant and quiet and it is an easy walk to the waterfront area. The room was very comfortable and there were complementary home made cookies and bottled water waiting for us. I think we slept better at this hotel then any other on the trip. We loved the bathtub/ rain shower set up in the bathroom. And the next morning there was a substantial, excellently prepared breakfast. The Abigail is a boutique hotel with some really nice details.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — we weren't there very long
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

When we first got to Abigails we were curious about the area and the whereabouts of the Downtown Core! But when we got inside we knew this was the right place to stay. The friendly are courteous staff greeted us with enthusiasm, and the smell of fresh baked goods coming from the Kitchen was a delight and it tempted my tastebuds. Because it was only 9am Our room was not available, so the Agent reccomended that we eat breakfast and perhaps spend some time in the Library. Great Idea! So we sat down and instantly there was a Selection of Tea's , Coffee, Juice, Hot Chocolate, Fresh Cut Local Fruit and Berries with Vanilla and Candied Orange Yogurt, A Delightful Choice of Housemade Organic Cherry Clafoutis, Egg, Three Cheese and Roasted Vegetable Tower, Purple Potato Cakes, Duck and Cranberry Sausage and Fresh Housemade Granola with Vanilla Bean Yogurt (I was so delighted that I kept the menu). The food was outstanding and what a great presentation. We decided to stroll downtown as the room was still occupied and not clean yet. What a beautiful Stroll to downtown, which was bustling and busy and I was surprised that near the hotel which was only a 10 minute jaunt to the downtown core, there was quiet streets. We wanderd downtown and then at 12pm went back to the hotel for our room which to our surprise was clean, and ready. What a great room, comfortable bed, fireplace, large flat screen television, and the bathtub, that was a relaxing time before we started the rest of the day at the Titanic Exhibit. Overall We Love Victoria and Abigails Hotel was a major hi-light of our journey! Keep up the Good Work Staff!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank donkey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Abigail's for two nights. Enjoyed the room and garden and nightly manager's reception. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending Pagliacci's and the Marina for wonderful dinners. One disappointment, tho, was being charged $15/person for the breakfast we had. Not sure if it was related to our discounted rate from Hotels.com, but had assumed it was included in $239/nt. I didn't question it while there, but my follow-up email to the innkeeper from a week ago has gone unanswered. I couldn't even finish my 3-cheese quiche that contained bleu cheese. Would be curious to see what other guests' breakfast experience is/was.

  • Liked — Charming room, location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Being charged $15 each for breakfast, thought would be included
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TEW49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

We just returned from a two night stay and had a lovely time. We were a bit worried about being in the ground floor room by the front desk, but it was very quiet and well-laid out. A bit dark, but that was nice for sleeping. The breakfasts and appetizers were delicious and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is well located, and we walked to shopping and restaurants the whole time we were there. A nice romantic getaway!

  • Liked — the attention to detail
  • Disliked — no gym
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

The staff is professional, well trained, helpful and knowledgable.
The excellent chef prepares a new menu for breakfast daily.
The afternoon appetizers are wonderful and are never the same.
The room was large, beautiful and well appointed with a working fireplace and a sofa right in front of it. Our windows were open all day and night with a wonderful breeze.The view out our window was lovley. The bed was absoultely wonderful. Big fresh fluffy towels daily. We enjoyed sitting on our veranda and drinking coffee or wine. The entire place is beautifully maintained (buildings and grounds).

We loved our stay at Abigail's Hotel. We can see how it won B & B of the year so many years in a row and why it was just named botique hotel of the year.

If we are in Victoria again we will most diffentely stay at Abigail's Hote.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank beoChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing