We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to almost Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We took the passinger ferry up for two night from Port Angles, Wa. Really there is no need for a car as the hotel is right at the inner harbor. and was the closest hotel to these ferries. It was clean and nice and our Pacific Room on the 8th floor had a great view of the harbor. The air conditioning is quiet and the balcony while small was also nice.

We ate one breakfast buffet which was so so but found the other food offerring of bison burger, duck etc not what we care for. Food in general is not inexpensive in Victoia.
The pool is inside but is more of a wide lap pool. There is lots of excercise equipment though.

The Parliment building is right next door and the Embress hotel just around the corner.
Check in and out was easy and while our room was not ready at 2PM we checked our bags and rode a double deck bus until 5.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

Overall, I had a very good experience a the Grand Pacific. I stayed with my husband in a Victoria suite, in the back of the hotel. The rooms were nice and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel served our needs -- it was convenient to town, and was comfortable and roomy.
Minor issues included the lack of wireless service (although there is an ethernet cable in the room) and the overpriced breakfast (which we skipped).
However, I would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in May 2010 while visiting Victoria for the Victoria Highland Games. The room was very comfortable and the location of the hotel, right on the Harbour, was very convenient for seeing Victoria and the surrounding area.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank stephl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed here three nights in a suite overlooking the harbor and couldn't have been more impressed. We were in the new wing on the 5th floor. The LR was small with two chairs, desk, tv in armoir but provided a quiet respit. There were two balconies - one off the LR and one off the bedroom. The views were beyond amazing. TVs in both rooms. It was a nice spacious and quiet bedroom with very comfortable beds. At our request they brought us a small refrigerator that cost a total of $10 for our stay and gave us a place to store water and leftovers. The hotel is very attractive and the ducks and ducklings provide a nice disattraction. We could never reach the concierage but found the handsome doorman to be quite knowledgeable about surroundikng restaurants and attractions. The hotel is in an amazing location on the harbor - right next to Parliament, min from the Empress, The museum, and too many attractions to name all within walking distance. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the restaurant. There was a problem with our room service order - club sandwich was not up to par and the french fries were burnt, but the manager credited our account and was very understanding. I was here on a trip with my sister and we had a wonderful time. I would definitely go back given a chance. Be sure to ask for a room in the new wing - I heard there was a difference.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here for a wedding for 3 nights during July. LIved up to every expectation. Had a residential view room to the rear of the building. Staff we great, had the option of self park or vallet parking. Bags were unloaded and taken to room. We were asked if the room was acceptable and given a full tour. Room was very large and grand. Although some of the furniture was dated, nothing else would have suited the hotel and the experience. Only had food here on the wedding day but it was great. Staff were very helpful and they also gave us a late check out free of charge. The only one little fault which was totally my fault for not asking....International phone charges. I should have checked the cost of these first as they cost me nearly $100 for a little amount of calls. Other than that i would totally recommend this place. A grand hotel to live up to its name.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Cardiff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed for one night, at a very good rate due to TravelZoo special. The service was fabulous, location couldn't be better, had a great workout/pool area. The parking was reasonable, the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The only complaint is the restaurant the concierge suggested was not good. It was not at the hotel, Cafe Brio but otherwise would recommend hotel highly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

While the hotels grand lobby and main entrance are quite spectacular things change upstairs. My confusion started when I asked the front desk for a one bedroom suit and was given a regular room. It was a "full view" room even though the window is no more than three feet wide. The old tv and lack of wireless in the hotel room makes us feel that we were taken for a ride. As tourists in our own we will not be recommending this hotel until it joins the 21st century. By the way, we wrote this while waiting 45 minutes for a couple sandwiches in our room attacked to the wall by a cable cord (will not surprise me if this shows up on my bill later).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amylegear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank-you for your kind comments about the hotel's port cochére and lobby.

Regretfully, I am not able to determine why you were not checked into a suite. The Front Desk would have been more than pleased to rectify the situation had you informed them that you were unhappy with your guestroom.

Replacing our CRT televisions is on the top of our list of priorities as is wireless internet. Like most hotels in Victoria, we are gradually purchasing flat panel televisions with a projected completion date of first quarter 2012. We anticipate that all guestrooms will have wireless internet in early 2011. As you may know, complimentary "hard" wired internet is available in all of our guestrooms and wireless internet is available both in our public spaces and in our function rooms.

Lastly, we wil review our delivery time for our In-Room Dining guests.

Thank-you very much for the feedback and for your interest in the Hotel Grand Pacific.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,893 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 47 in Victoria
2,155 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $121 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing