We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'go-to' hotel in Victoria for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2009

As a 5-day a week business traveller, I virtually live in hotels. The Grand is consummately professional in every way. The rooms are well-appointed, the beds are supremely comfortable and the restaurants easily trump the competition. The most impressive feature of the Grand are the staff who are welcoming, courteous and anticipate your every need. The fitness centre is comprehensive, the business centre briskly efficient and I've tried and enjoyed several of the spa treatments. Not only do I use the Grand for business, but I choose to spend my holiday time here as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiszaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,942 - 1,948 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

Arriving at the Hotel Grand Pacific, we thought the lobby was nice and the staff so-so. The staff bluntly told us we couldn't have the room we had booked (we wanted one king bed), and were less than friendly about it, even though this was our anniversary weekend. The room itself was clean and we found housekeeping to be wonderful the entire 3-day stay. However, there were two bland, queen beds, in a room right by the elevator. Luckily the door was fairly thick so we only heard mild wooshing sounds from the elevator, but we could hear the baby crying next door.

Our view of the harbor was pleasant, especially nice at sunset. The healthclub amenities and pool were very nice, though you had to pay extra if you wanted to attend a class, which seems ridiculous. The food at the hotel was overpriced and bland. Wireless cost $5 a day and could only be used in the lobby.

This hotel didn't have any of the luxury feel that I associate with high-class travel, other than a great housekeeper. I was pretty disappointed. The staff was rude and wouldn't even give us a late check out. I would not recommend this hotel -- it's like a glorified Holiday Inn with a nice health club package.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

OK, so we had the best suite in the place thanks to a nice upgrade from the Hotel's
GM. We spent 3 glorius nights in this lovely place with way too much balcony time
watching the goings on in the inner harbor. This hotel is well situated. The personnel
are splendid including the valets and bellmen. The buffet is great with Eggs Benedict
a daily feature. My only recommendation would be that the buffet menu be varied day to
day. Our suite was nothing less than spectacular. Our package included one nights
romantic turndown which we appreciated. I won't spoil the surprise, but don't try to
taste it as I did. The rose was nice (no I didn't try to taste the rose).

An earlier review mentioned the Swiftsure Restaurant in the hotel next door. Forget it!
Anything to do with "Swift" is a misnomer. We left after waiting 30 minutes for our meal.
Do visit White Heather for afternoon tea. My wife loved it, I had a good beer, but they
made me order a small tea. We also liked Butchart Gardens, 55 acres of fantastic
plantings.

Try Grand Hotel Pacific, you should enjoy it, particularly if you get a water view.

I can't help but mention that the GM didn't even acknowledge our token of appreciation
for the upgrade, even though the upgrade stood on its own.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garypcsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My Fist time in Victoria we stayed here in the middle of the week!
when we arrived at the Hotel the front staff were so friendly they gave us an upgrade for free before we even checked in to our room!
The best bed I have ever slept in, in any hotel
we even had a patio with an amazing view of the harbour!
what and awsome trip

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jetbjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Pacific for 3 nights at the beginning of our 10 day Vancouver Island vacation. The hotel's location was great, but I do note that it is ACROSS the street from the water, not directly waterfront. The hotel was fine, but generic in a chain hotel manner. Nothing really unique. My only complaint is that the coffee at breakfast is awful. Even the french press syle coffee ($5 extra) is bad.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The service by staff at this hotel was fabulous. The concieger was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, even sent up a bunch of balloons for our anniversary. The best part of our stay was the spa. Between the two of us we had four massages. A little weird to get from the east tower to the spa (through the underground parking lot). We booked through Westjet Vacations and received 10% off everything in the hotel other then alcohol, plus receiver our fourth night free.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen-Larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I booked an overnight trip through Clipper Vacations. For $114 per person, we got our roundtrip Clipper ticket from Seattle to Victoria as well as our hotel. It was a very good deal. The hotel is nice and located close to the ferry terminal, museums, waterfront, and the Empress. They also had a free shuttle in the evening which took us to dinner and back, and that saved about $15 - $20 in cab fares for one night. The room had a balcony with a side view of the water. It was quiet and roomy.

In April we stayed at the Marriott Inner Harbor, which was newer, closer to shopping and restaurants, and had more comfortable beds. However, the Grand Pacific had larger rooms and was a better price. I would stay at the Grand again, especially if I got the good rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,974 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $133 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing