We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

From booking to arrival to departure we were treated amazingly. The room was great, with a view of the harbour. We stayed 4 nights and paid just $25 for the whole stay for valet parking. We have an oversize SUV and they had to park it at a hotel across the street and they never hinted that it was an imposition to get the truck. Free umbrellas, bikes. We got to feed the resident ducks by hand. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again. :) The location was awesome in that you can walk to all the great harbour amenities.

Room Tip: Try and get a harbour view. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    637
    184
    46
    19
See reviews for
509
777
67
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a 2 bed city-view room on the 7th floor. Room was clean and fresh. The balcony was nice even without a harbor view. It was a classy place. Only knocks were that my room was not ready for check in when we arrived at 3:30. The hotel gladly held our bags for us but it cost me two good sized tips for the bellman. The kids loved the huge pool and exercise room. We also enjoyed meeting with Joe the Groundskeeper and his ducks. He let the kids feed them by hand. We did not eat the breakfast buffet at the hotel but did get good muffins and coffee at the courtyard level cafe. We were amazed that we got on and off the elevators with such ease in a big hotel. One can't beat the location in Victoria!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing such a great review of your recent stay with us. We are blessed to have all of our rooms with balconies. I'm happy to hear your family enjoyed the view, the ducks, and the elevators! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and checked in graciously. We had my mother with us and they made sure she was on the same floor and close by. The staff couldn't do enough and that includes the restaurant staff also. Martin, Timothy and Shirugh were excellent. We ate several meals there, food was superb. Would we return, in a heartbeat. It is so convenient to downtown Victoria we hardly used our car except to go to the Gardens. Thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCP1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Arrived in Victoria BC with great expectations and were looking forward staying at Hotel Grand Pacific, which we had booked usind Booking.com. Booking.com is our preferred hotel booking site and we have never faced any problems using it. Obviously my credit card number wasn't correct (my fault) so they could not authorize the card for my reservation. As the hotel was fully booked we were told there was no room for us. They had our contact information from booking.com (I saw the print) and asked why they didn't call us sorting this issue out. The front desk manager (don't remember the name) sad "As we are fully booked for the night we never came to that". Obviously, it was not important for the hotel to solve a minor issue with a guest as they would get the money anyway. This is for me an unacceptable attitude.

The front desk manager was happy to help us with finding a room at another hotel. Same standard of the room and same rate. He failed even this time. We were shown to another hotel, but not at all the same standard as the Grand Pacific. The good thing is we were met with nice smiles and good service unlike at the Hotel Grand Pacific.

As a frequent traveller and hotel guest I have never met this kind of attitude at a hotel before, I will for sure never book the Hotel Grand Pacific and avoid any hotel connected to Preferred Hotels and Resorts.

Running a hotel when there are no issues to be solved is probably relatively easy, but if you don't even have the ambition to help your customers, you shold do something else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Comments such as these can only help us in our efforts better serve all of our guests.

I apologize that you were not able to stay at our beautiful property because your reservation was not guaranteed with a valid credit card. As your reservation was booked the night before your stay through a third party and we were only given a European home number for contact info, the situation did not give us an opportunity to contact you. I always recommend booking directly with us to help avoid any issues. However, when you did arrive, we did help you find an alternative that we consider to be just as fine a hotel as The Hotel Grand Pacific. In fact when we are full we refer our guest to the same hotel and have received very positive feedback.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Grand Pacific on any of your upcoming journeys to Victoria. Please feel free to contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you decide to allow us to have the privilege of looking after you in the future.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were fortunate to stay in this hotel during Canada Day. We had a great view of the celebration and festivities around the Inner Harbour all day and night from our room. It's walking distance to shopping and tasty eating establishments. If you're into government buildings, the Parliament building is just next door. The hotel is modern and our standard room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Island, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Honestly, I don't know where to start; this hotel was wonderful! The customer service was great! John, the bellman was so helpful and always a smile on his face. Joe, the "duck man" had an extra special touch. He was always greeting the guests with his little ducklings following him around. We had six kids with us and they all got to feed the ducks!! Everyone in the hotel was courteous and had a smile on their face!

The beds were very comfortable, spacious rooms and CLEAN! Housekeeping was always around the corner and making sure we didn't need anything. The pool is Olympic size, with a sauna, steam room and huge workout area. I could go on and on regarding this hotel. Every time I visit Victoria, this will be my hotel of choice. Thank you for making it wonderful (especially with six children combined)!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alaskatiff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Terrible service. When checking in (At 3pm check-in time), greeted by receptionist, "Monty," who said our room was not yet ready and could not provide us with any estimate of when it would be ready. He said there were no other rooms available for us. We were travelling with a toddler, who was sleeping and he rudely told us we could just find a place to sit and wait. He made no effort to accommodate us or any consolation, especially with our little one. He was extremely short and unwelcoming. We went to the concierge who was very helpful and immediately said there was a room available for us and checked us in. The staff in the restaurant were also very tired, slow, rude and sarcastic. The food was not good either. We had the breakfast buffet which seemed it was prepared in the cheapest way possible. The food wasn't fresh and the service was extremely slow. The hotel rooms are small and outdated. The furniture is old and worn. Only a queen size bed was provided, which is unusual when king-size beds are the norm in hotels of this price. I would not recommend this hotel is you are looking for value for the price...especially when you have other hotels to choose from in the area. The only saving grace is the good location and great pool facility. We complained to the manager upon checkout, who was very apologetic, but I still wanted to post this as I feel I could have spent my holiday dollars better and had a more favourable experience.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any updated, larger, room with a king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenR_6042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share some of your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations.

I was surprised to be reviewing your stay again as we had reviewed your issues with you at length while you were staying with us. In fact we offered, as an apology, and you accepted, a Gift Certificate for One Nights Stay from us that includes free parking.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our close to it all location and our 25 metre lap pool.

I want to apologize for the disappointing service you experienced at check-in. Our check-in is stated as 3:00pm but occasionally it is challenging to clean all the rooms by that time on days when the hotel is sold out. I appreciate that you had a sleeping toddler and wanted to rest. I am very sorry that the front desk agent at that time did not empathize with your situation and offer an alternative room however I am pleased that our Concierge resolved the issue immediately and checked you right in! This is a concerning training shortfall on our part.

The room that you were in is indeed one of our smaller rooms. Fortunately, we only have a handful of those. The rest of our rooms are about significantly larger. And all of our rooms and suites come with their own private balcony. The room that you had was the only room that was ready and available at that time to accommodate your sleeping toddler.

Most of our guests are very pleased with our both buffet breakfast and our award winning service. Your comments are being reviewed by the entire team as we examine ways in which we might do better.

We look forward to seeing you here again when you choose to redeem the Gift Certificate that we provided for you.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,523 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing