We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Amazing Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our family's 1 night in Victoria. We booked a balcony room using airline miles, and we were delighted to get a partial view of the bay.

The hotel has a classical decor with chandeliers and gorgeous carpets. The room furniture is classical and the bathrooms are very luxurious and seem to be recently renovated. The location is right in the middle of the action, steps from the Ferry terminal, and looks right on to the harbor, Fairmont, and Parliament building.

The best part was the large 25 yard short course pool located in the hotel's fitness center. It was absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Get a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kittytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Director of Sales at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your short stay with us. We have recently updated a number of features around the hotel including our guest hallway carpeting, I'm so happy you appreciated it. We look forward to welcome you back, hopefully for a longer stay.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Grand Pacific several times recently
The Hotel is wonderfully located and the facilities and rooms are of a superb standard
The staff are professional and extremely helpful
Also the restaurant provides reasonable and excellent meals
Overall an Outstanding place to stay

Room Tip: The south side is quiet but I recommend the North side for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chue32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and very well kept in a great location right across the harbour. I had a few issues however which is why I can't give it a higher rating much as I'd like to. Check in on my confirmation stated 3pm. We arrived at 2:30pm and our room wasn't ready which was fine since we were early. They said they would call when the room was ready. An hour later the room still wasn't ready and I called them from my cell as I was getting frustrated. I was travelling with my elderly mother who by this time was exhausted from travelling and from the heat wave (this was a few weeks ago). We did not get in our room until after 4pm. The manager did compensate us with discounts at the restaurant and by paying for our parking. Once we got into the room I have to admit it was gorgeous with a stunning view of the harbour. So, it was worth the wait. My other issue is that the wifi was horrific. Very difficult to get work done if that's important to you. The restaurant on site was very good with tasty food and good service.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the delay with accessing your room. I appreciate that your mother was tired and wanted to rest. Our check-in is stated for 3:00pm but occasionally it is challenging to clean all the rooms by that time on days when the Hotel is sold out. Hence, the compensation after 3:00pm.

I am also sorry about the wireless internet service. We were in the midst of upgrading our bandwidth when you were staying with us and we had connectivity issues. The "bugs" have been worked out and our internet has great connectivity now and is 3 times faster.

Thank you kindly for your nice comments about our Hotel and location. We think our location is one of if not the best on the Inner Harbour.

Thank you also for your feedback and patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

right across from the harbor. lots and lots of tourists, Starbucks across the street... nice room, nice beauty aids.. little balcony... but the parking lot is not great... some awkward spaces that my little car had difficulty getting out of. ( and its $18 per day) there is street parking around there.
Close to Government St and tourist stores. Excessive amount of no smoking signs. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jkuteshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Arriving late we got a good rate and were shown to a large room on the 2nd floor. Everything was fine, beds were comfortable and bathroom was lovely. Staff helpful. Great location 5 mins walk to harbour and centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HVD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great rate with a MasterCard one day free option for ou 7 day stay. Family with two adults and two children (8 & 6 yrs old). Suite with harbour view was good and the location is excellent right next to the Inner Harbour. Kids enjoyed feeding the ducks with Joe. The big, big let down was room service and general dining facilities, poor staff with limited English as waiters, and an aburd cost of U$100,00 for a in-room breakfast with each item (Croissant, muffins etc.) charged separately at an absurd rate. The main restaurant had very limited options and they had closed down their top end restaurant. Overall for the rate we obtained and as a family option I would recommend this hotel, but I think there are better options in Victoria for couples or business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrunoBenevolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at the Hotel Grand Pacific. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your room and that your children enjoyed feeding the ducks.

I am surprised to hear that you found the options for dining limited as we have a very large selection of items.

I would like to highlight that we do offer a variety of dining options in the Hotel for breakfast; the Pacific Restaurant offers a breakfast buffet which is the largest and most extensive option at $19.50 per person, along with a selection of a la carte options ranging in price from $9 for lighter fare to a $13 - $16 range for full breakfasts. Additionally, we have our Courtyard Cafe on the Concourse level which offers breakfast sandwiches, pastries, oatmeal, egg dishes and parfaits for guests who are on the go or who prefer a less formal dining option. The average price of these items is $6.50. The Courtyard Cafe also offers lunch items, the most popular being our selection of Panini’s at $8.50 and Asian Rice Bowls at 7.50. The same culinary team who produce the meals in the Pacific Restaurant also prepare the offerings in the Courtyard Café. We have children menus in both that are quite inexpensive.

We regularly complete comparisons between our menus and pricing and those of the hotels and restaurants surrounding us and have found that we are offering more choice than most and charging less than some of the well-known local restaurants on particular items!

There are many other options available in Victoria for dining and if you choose not to have breakfast with us. Please let us know next time and we will be happy to outline some of them for you.

As a hotel that has built its reputation on service I am sorry that you felt that the prices were excessive. I hope I have made clear the many inexpensive dining options at the Hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope that we see you again.


Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June. We had 2 rooms and a Suite overlooking the inner harbour. The hotel has excellent facilities, was spotless and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant as we arrived late on the Friday night and the food was superb! The hotel is in a terrific location, just leave the car and walk everywhere. I would highly recommend The Hotel Grand Pacific.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mysonisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,844 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $140 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing