We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is as Classic as the Empress without all the Hype. It's on the harbor with the Legislator Building next door and a short walk to the Royal BC Museum. The nice part is the lobby is not full of tourists wandering around for High Tea.
Our room faced the harbor with a great view from the balcony but far enough away from the harbor so as not to be a nuisance Starbucks coffee in the room with a refrigerator and bottled water with turn down service. The excellent staff is friendly and efficient.
The Breakfast buffet was not the extravaganza that some would expect but the food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packngo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    572
    169
    42
    18
See reviews for
448
695
61
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When I made our reservation at this hotel, I specified I did not want a room near the tour busses and garbage trucks. That is exactly the type of room we were booked into. We had a very, very early awakening as a result. When I took this up with the management, Scott, the Manager of Guest Services, graciously upgraded us to a corner suite with a lovely harbor view. He seemed to really care that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

The rooms and the public spaces were well appointed and immaculate. We ate in the dining room quite late on the night of our arrival, and the food was very good.
All in all, I would stay here again even without the upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I travel a great deal and find my stays at the Grand Pacific are something to look forward to. I rely on the friendly staff and excellent facilities to make my stay enjoyable. The fitness facility is better than the one I use at home and it is convenient to use morning or evening. Whether I eat at the hotel's restaurant or coffee shop the food is always good. I've taken my family on business trips and they agree their stays at the Grand Pacific are like a mini vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but the views are great out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Within easy walking distance of Victoria Clipper terminal (Even with luggage) and right next door to the beautiful Parliament Building the hotel is perfectly located for all of the harbour area of Victoria. The Black Ball Ferry building is directly opposite the hotel for regular services to Port Angeles, Washington State.

On leaving the hotel and turning right the bus depot for the service to Vancouver is about 300 yards along the road.

We had a Pacific View room at the front of the hotel and all the harbour activities could be watched from our balcony including the constant take of and landings from the seaplane terminal opposite.

Room Tip: Choose a Pacific View room for views over the harbour from the balcony where you can sit out and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel every thing was first class. The location is perfect overlooking the harbour and and next to the Parliament building you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Only regret wish we could have stayed longer.

Jim Mc

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good property in a perfect location to explore beautiful Victoria. The Harbour was at our doorstep; Parliament was right next door; The Empress is a five minute walk as is the Victoria Clipper. Twenty minutes to the left is Fisherman's Wharf and twenty to the right is the heart of the Harbour activity.
Not having reliable internet was a real inconvenience. Posted letters explained timed upgrades but they never seemed accurate. We would
return only if this issue was resolved. (As a matter of fact I was kicked off line as I was writing this review at 5am.) A few hours w/o wi/fi is ok......several days is a real
downer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistent internet service during your recent stay with us. Regrettably, we had unforseen challenges with our wireless upgrade that caused intermittent service interruptions. I do hope my colleagues informed you that both the internet service in our public areas and business centre was operational throughout this period?

This upgrade is now complete and our wireless internet is consistent and faster than ever.

Thank you for your feedback and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I rate this property at a five because of excellent service, comfort of the bed and work space, cleanliness, and location, being within walking distance to all of downtown Victoria. However, the view of the bay was limited. It was interesting and enjoyable, given that it included a fair amount of downtown and inner, inner harbor. But disappointing in that one did not get the sweep of the greater bay that other properties offer. The small patio, outdoor space was very nice. i might try for a view of the broader bay on my next trip to Victoria, but overall, the experience here was excellent. I add that our work conference was held at this property, and the food was wonderful, the accommodations for the conference were excellent. I also took a guided hike and that was an amazing experience. See my review of Rainforest Tours. Pick up and drop off at the hotel made this hike very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay, perhaps the broadest view possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 3,206 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 2,196 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing