We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield, UK
Level Contributor
414 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location and price”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked this hotel based on location and price. Excellent service and rooms, with a feel of luxury everywhere in the hotel. We hadn't realised until our arrival that it was Canada day (1st July). We asked if we could have a room where we would be able to see the fireworks. The man on reception advised that we could get an upgrade but would not be guaranteed to get a room facing the harbor. So we didn't upgrade and were thrilled to get a room, where we watched the awesome fireworks on the balcony. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UckfieldSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    633
    181
    46
    19
See reviews for
502
766
67
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent two wonderful days in Victoria in early July 2014. The Hotel Grand Pacific was great. The staff and rooms were excellent. I would definitely stay there again. We took advantage of their bike program. Sure beats having to bring your own along.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dforch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked this hotel for the great location and water views. We paid the extra for a water view room and I was a little disappointed in the view since we were on the 4th floor it wasn't much of a view but it was still there. I don't think it was worth the upgrade though. That being said the bed was amazing. We both slept wonderfully and it was one of the better hotel beds I have slept in. It was also nice having the balcony available to enjoy our morning coffee on. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that we were able to get your visit right on so many levels during your stay with us. This type of positive guest experience is something we strive for everyday.

I do apologize for your disappointment with the view. I have shared your comments with our team and we will review all of our designated view rooms carefully to ensure that they do provide the views that our guests expect. I wish that you had let us know when you were here
that the view was not to your expectations. We make every effort to exceed guest expectations
and we would have tried to find the room for you that met your needs.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your balcony and our wonderful beds. We are the only hotel in downtown Victoria to provide a balcony with every room. Victoria is a wonderful city. We are right in the heart of the city and the balconies provide a perfect vantage point to watch the coming and goings of the inner harbour and the city.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us on future getaways.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

W booked at hotel directly as they advertized 4th night free if you use Amex or Master card.I did.Not only we got 4th night free but they uogrded us to two rooms for 4 ,with a balcony facing inner Harbor.Not only this hotel is located right next to Parliament building,it was walking distance to most major attractions in downtown.It so happened to be the Canda day on July 1 and we watched fire works from our own rooms! Fantastic view .Room service was a treat.Staff is friendly .On our check out day ,I rushed and left stuff in my safe and the room.Our house keeping lady ,Emily found them all ,another staff chased after us en route to breakfst and gave them to me! What a service.They still charge $18/day parking however.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors with a view balcony facing inner Harbor.Don't go on the day of holidays but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloberotterADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful views, our close to all location and that our staff provided you with friendly and helpful service.

We have looked carefully at our parking fees and they are the same or lower than the fees at similar hotels in Victoria.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Really enjoyed the stay as it is close to everything you don't need a vehicle as it is close to the harbour and close to all amenities would stay there again if required very Victorian style
Shops are close by parking was given for a minimal fee

Room Tip: Did not use the spa or breakfast hence no comment but very close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 630traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachland, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall, the Hotel is pretty nice. It’s in a great location and I would normally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria that wants to spend time downtown. Also, if you are a BC resident or government employee you get a pretty good rate.
That said, the main reason why I rate this hospital as terrible is because of my booking experience. Specifically, booking a room with a view of the fireworks on Canada Day. If you want a room with a view of the fireworks on Canada day BEWARE, there is only a very small section of the hotel where you are guaranteed a view of the fireworks. Large sections of the “Bay View” rooms only see about half of the bay and in my case (and in other reviews I read) could not see the fireworks.
If you plan on staying in this hotel on Canada and want to view the fireworks from your room make sure you book a room that is closest to Belleview Street. If you look at the map in Google Maps you will notice the hotel is L shaped. There is a small section of the hotel closest to Belleville Street, while the rest of the hotel sits further back from the street. If you get a room that is not in the section closest to Belleview Street, there is a good chance that you won't see the fireworks unless you get a room at the very end of the hotel closest to the parliament buildings.
In my case, I spoke to 2 booking agents and one front desk clerk and none of them gave me this advice even when I mentioned to them that I had heard from other reviews that some of the bay view rooms could not see the fireworks. During our stay, once the fireworks started and we realized that we could not see them we ended up missing half of the show because it took us about 10 minutes to make our way down into the street (and into the crowds).

I hope this makes sense.

Room Tip: The rooms and the beds are a little small. The pool and spa are excellent. You can actually swim f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us from your recent stay at The Hotel Grand Pacific.

I want to apologize for your recent stay with us and the disappointment you experienced with your hotel room. A follow up will be made with our team to ensure that we are providing guests with their proper room preference. We truly want you to feel at home when you stay with us.

However I was quite surprised to hear about your experience as all of our staff- bellman, doorman, reservation agents and guest service agents are trained to tell our guests that none of the rooms provide a view of the fireworks.

We are not in the business of selling rooms that have a view to this event. We cannot control the position of the barge, the wind or the weather so we have trained our colleagues to inform our guests that they should move to the inner harbour to secure the best possible view.
I am shocked that you were not given this message.

I am pleased that you found the hotel nice and enjoyed our close to it all location.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to further discuss your stay at 1-800-663-7750.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel Grand Pacific on any of your upcoming journeys to Victoria.

Kind regards,

Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is beautiful and service much improved from our last stay. The breakfast is superb value and the rooms are great.
Everything in walking distance, - food, attractions and the views are wonderful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing