We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room exceeded expectations”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Booked this room on a discounted special so was not expecting much more than a closet. i was totally wrong. Room was lovely with a fully accessible bathroom. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Also, went to the lounge on a Friday evening and was delighted when a trio started playing some jazz. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    660
    185
    47
    19
See reviews for
535
805
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked this hotel through a third party booking site. Prior to booking, we called the hotel to confirm there would be two beds for our party of four. After checking in, and with room keys in hand, the Manager stopped to inform us that will be charged an additional fee as we had four persons in the room. This fee amounted to OVER 60% OF THE INTIAL RESERVATION COST !!!

We told (and showed) the manager that the booking site did not allow us to specify the number of guests. We also explained that the fee was not disclosed to us by the staff and it was unfair to charge us now while we were walking up to the room. The manager was totally unreasonable and refused to waive the 60% INCREASE IN ROOM FEES.

Who does that?
FYI the hotel is a little worn down and dated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry that your stay did not meet expectations.

I was quite concerned about your comments and as a team we spent a great deal of time discussing your experience and reviewing the booking process on all of the online travel agencies that sell our hotel rooms.

We made a number of mistakes and I apologize.
We failed to see that the online agent had indicated our extra charges. We have now corrected this.
When you contacted us we failed to confirm how many people would be the room and make you aware of the additional charge.
Thus our Guest Service Agent noted as you were leaving the desk that there were four people in the room. This lead to our hotel manager relaying the information to you about extra charges. We failed to deal with our mistake in a professional manner
We have used these last two issues as a training opportunity for our staff.
We pride ourselves on providing award winning service and exceeding guest expectations and clearly, in this case, we did not.

I have removed the extra charges and mailed you confirmation of this.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and observations from your recent visit. Your reflections are greatly appreciated as it allows us to review our services to continue delivering exceptional guest experiences. We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of serving you again the next time you are in the city for either business or pleasure.

Please feel free to contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550.

Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff went far and beyond in making our stay such a memorable occasion. When our room wasn't ready, we were upgraded us to a Suite, without any problems and we were absolutlely thrilled. The view was magnificent, facing the harbour. The location is perfect as it is literally across the street from the harbour. Our suite was gorgeous, including heated marble floor in the bathroom and towel warmers.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and corner suites have harbour for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Hotel Grand Pacific is my choice for business trips to beautiful Victoria. I’ve stayed here a number of times and have never had a bad experience. On the most recent occasion an early flight saw me arrive at the hotel at 10:00 am but this was no problem; a warm friendly greeting from the check-in clerk and I was offered the choice of waiting for my reserved room or taking a alternate. This approach to accommodating the guest is what makes all the difference for me. I’ve always found the rooms and service to be excellent and the harbour front location close to many attractions and amenities can’t be beat. If you like to walk or run outside the options are endless, however, the hotel also offers a first rate fitness centre with lots of static equipment options and a pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful getaway. From the moment we arrived we had a friendly greeting and helpful advice at the front desk, were given a complimentary upgrade to a two balcony suite overlooking the harbour, very nice and a nice welcome gift. That evening we dined in the restaurant and took advantage of the early seating which featured a three course meal for only $14.95, my wife never made it to the third course however , just too full. I enjoyed Crab cakes and scallops from the regular menu and we both enjoy some great apple martinis too. ( We are now making them at home). The next morning we had a couples massage, only my second massage and they really gave me the gears...but I am now standing straighter, feeling happier so I have decided I have to do that on a monthly basis thereforewell worth it. I slept in so was unable to make it to breakfast before my spa appointment so I am unable to review that.I look forward to my next quick getaway there and I would highly recommend it. I slept in so was unable to make it to breakfast before my spa appointment so I am unable to review that.

Room Tip: They all appear to be nice but I do understand they are renovating so they should be even nicer when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel on business. I was a little concerned about the security of the building as it is right in the Harbour centre and I was able to drive into the underground parking, park my car and go straight up to my room from the underground parking without swiping my hotel security card. That being said, it was a clean room, comfortable bed and very friendly service. The access to the pool was a little strange, but once I found it I have to say it was a nice facility. The location is excellent!

Room Tip: I was worried that because my room was right next to the elevator that there would be excessive nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahbeara007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent hotel and excellent service. However you MUST receive a printed newspaper everyday. Like most hotels they claim environmental concern by giving you the option to wash towels but no option with the paper because they have signed an agreement!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1964smc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,691 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing