We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise! A nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprise! A nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We needed a quick overnight stay in Victoria and chose the Hotel Grand because they have a Charger for our Electric Car and they also allow dogs. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel is. Rooms are pretty and very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit tired but shower was nice and strong. We called down to the front desk at 10 PM as the suite above us was having a party of some kind and the noise was transferring down to us. Again to our delight the noise stopped within about 10 minutes. A slight improvement might be a magnifying mirror for those of us putting on make-up.

Room Tip: We took a residential view room (cheapest) and was very surprised with a great view of the legislati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    614
    180
    44
    19
See reviews for
483
749
64
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pitt Meadows, BC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The night sleep was OK... rooms walls are somewhat thin. You can hear peoples conversation and toilet flushing. Rooms are small and furniture needs updating. This hotel charges for EVERYTHING, the value of the hotel room paid was NOT WORTH IT. I would stay else where.

Room Tip: Room with a view (you will be charged). Definitely away from the elevators. Top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbcmjbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you felt that your stay with us lacked value.

For your information, our standard guestrooms are 300-325 square feet in size excluding the balcony.

We are currently renovating two floors in the East Wing and will continue this renovation in the fall.

Regarding your comment about charging for everything, you do not indicate what charges specifically, but I can assure you that we are more than competitive with the luxury hotels in Victoria.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Reid James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for a few nights late this summer, was on business. The hotel itself just felt old. I get that this type of charm would be very appealing for an older crowd but it's just not my thing. Other than that, the staff is great, the room was as you'd expect, beds were good. Great views from the room and the hotel itself is in the perfect location for Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I are staying for 2 nights - the hotel is wonderful! The bed is comfy and I always appreciate having a coffee station in our room. I used the cardio equipment this morning - the Athletic Club was very well equipped and the pool looked very inviting! The snowy day put a crimp into our exploring, so I had a facial in the on-site Sora Spa. My esthetician was Juliana, and she was absolutely fabulous!

We didn't give a 5 out of 5 rating because of the cost of parking, $18.00 per day for self park, and the cost of dining. I'm sure the charges here are quite comparable to other hotels in this category, but they were high for us. If the weather had been different we would have had more dining options off site.

We loved the hotel overall and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woods365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great experience. Checked in and was upgraded to a room with a sweeping view of the inner harbor. Gym had good equipment and sauna was very good. Had a couples massage and spa services were outstanding. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vince335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went to Victoria for the weekend for our daughter's birthday. The hotel made it easy to make a reservation and accommodated our date change without a problem.

We arrived on February 14 for 2 nights. Our room was ready on arrival and the checkin was easy. The room was great on the 8th floor with a peek a boo view of the harbour through a large cathedral window. The bed and bedding were clean and warm. The bathroom was great with a large soaker tub.

Coffee and tea were provided in the room and the coffee was great.

The staff were wonderful and even the room attendants greeted you in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel was truly a mixed blessing. It has a great location right next to many great attractions and close to the ferry. The outside of the hotel is lovely. The negative side of the coin was our room. It felt very closed in and dark. Perhaps we were in what a previous reviewer referred to as a "bad room." I had requested an upper floor room with a harbor view. We do not travel that often, so when we do it is a big deal to me and I try to make it special. Our room did overlook the harbor but it felt very closed in. The room had one small window and a balcony that felt very closed in. Concrete blocked most of the view. Between the small window and the balcony is a large wall that jets out into the room because of the roof design. Could of paid less for a nicer room. Wish the receptionist had known her rooms better. Perhaps this disappointment could have been avoided. We knew that the weather would be bad and just wanted somewhere to get away, relax and read. Didnt happen. The manager did call once we returned home...something I do appreciate, however this does not make up for a lost chance to relax. Do not plan on returning because of this experience. Sorry to be negative but I was disappointed in the room.

Room Tip: Watch out for the 6th floor pacific view rooms. Especially those whose where the roof line jets int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room during your recent stay with us. You are correct, the sixth floor has different architectural features than the other floors which prevents a glass balcony. Saying that, we feel fortunate to be able feature balconies in all of our guestrooms.

To your comment about feeling "closed in" the weather has been inclement of late which makes for gray skies and dark guestrooms, unfortunately. You would notice quite a difference in the same room on a sunny day even with the northeast exposure of our harbour view rooms.

I am sorry that you will not be giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves. Should you change your mind, please contact me at 1-800-663-7550 and I will see that you are well accommodated.

Thank you for your feedback and patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing