We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Outlook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Grand Outlook”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very centrally situated in reach of all transportation hubs, we stayed with two other couples for four days prior to a cruise from Vancouver. Great room which was a upgrade and had a little balcony on the corner with a partial view of the busy harbor and seaplanes. Very friendly and helpful staff and easy to walk out from to downtown. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Free WiFi as well

Room Tip: Ask for a corner view if possible you get a good view without the higher rate for a full harbour vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    649
    185
    47
    19
See reviews for
522
788
69
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

First the bad: our room, on the 4th floor, was surely one of the worst in the hotel. It face the brown wall of an apartment building next door, which made the room seem dark and oppressive. The room was small, with little room around the king size bed, and the small balcony, since it faced that wall, not used. It was possible to see the harbour by peering around the corner, but really? I don't think our room accurately reflects what's available, but we were placed in it nevertheless, and so could you be. With the dark and somewhat dated furnishings, I found the room claustrophobic.
That said, the hotel is in a nice location right next to the harbour. The cleaning staff, like those working downstairs, were really nice and helpful, and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable, and the hotel offers free bicycles for travelling around the city. I took a very pleasant ride through a nearby park and along the oceanfront. If I visited Victoria again, I'd probably look for someplace with more vibrant decor and a little more space and light. It's not cheap, but I didn't feel like it was anything special, beyond the central location, for the high cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseKeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince George
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Right from the friendly greeting outside, to the plentiful front desk people ( no waiting here ), to the room maids, to a great hotel this is now my most favorite hotel, surpassing the Empress actually.

The overall hotel is in great shape with a good layout. Was there for a conference and the layout of the various meeting rooms and quality of the food / drinks for the events were all top notch. The staff were able to quickly respond to any request we may have had concerning things.

Spent some time in the wireless lobby area "wave" listening to the front desk staff respond to the various questions and weird requests from people, while cruising the net and doing up my trip advisor reports. They totally could respond and in the majority of cases had whatever they were looking for, right at the front desk. I was waiting for someone to ask for a car part or something, and I bet they would have it ( or at least a good idea where to get it ).

They have an amazing pool area, make sure to bring your swimsuit.

Overall 100% !!!

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel faces a street that tour buses and some of the smaller tour buses park on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

I'm so pleased to hear we are now your #1 hotel in Victoria. Please let us know along the way what we can do to remain there. We always value your feedback.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our wireless lobby lounge, Wave. I hope our complimentary ipads helped you stay connected. Its interesting to hear your perspective on what our amazing front desk staff go through on a day-to-day basis. It can certainly be challenging although they consistently provide amazing service.

Thank you for the great review,m we look forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulwala, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in a standard room which was brilliant. Large room with all facilities along with a great view of the harbor.
Only a short distance to town center where there is great shopping and restaurants.
The service and quality of the rooms is great.
Breakfast and bars are friendly and quality is always great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Really enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel overlooking the harbour in Victoria. We were going to book the Fairmont but a friend said this was better. From the moment we checked in with the very friendly and helpful staff to the moment we checked out, I couldn't find anything wrong. We chose the Pacific view room with the Butchart gardens tickets. So glad I got this room. It was nice to sit on the balcony with a coffee in the morning or wine at night and watch all the action and lights over the harbour. The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was sooo comfortable. The bathroom had all the required amenities and was also very clean. I was also surprised at how quiet the hotel seems to be. The free wifi worked excellently at all times. Of course, the location couldn't be any better as it is easy walking distance from everything you need.
Wish I could say more because this place was wonderful.....the best on our vacation around B.C.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review. We completely agree with you.

Please thank your friend for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcome you and your friend back again in the future.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIG HARBOR
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Every time I go to Victoria I stay at the Hotel Grand and have never been disappointed. I love how I can get off the ferry and walk a few feet to the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of most restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2my4boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in early June and had an amazing stay.

Our suite was on the 10th floor with a west facing view, which meant that we had the evening sun and a partial harbour view. This was truly amazing.

The suite was clean and comfortable - the bed was so wonderfully soft! The staff found out it was my birthday and gave us a free desert coupon (we didn't get a chance to use it, but what an awesome touch!).

The location is close to town - walk in 5 minutes or less. We didn't have a car, so we didn't face any steep parking fees.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel for couples who are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay while in Victoria.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor with a west facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,599 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing