We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband booked the Bed and Breakfast with a harbour view room for our weekend away. I have always wanted to try this hotel, and it didn't disappoint.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3:30 and we were asked if we could come back in 1/2 hour. This wasn't a problem and we took a quick drive around Dallas Rd to watch the kite sailors. We we arrived back at the hotel, 45 minutes later, we had a smooth check in and were told we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was beautiful. It had 3 balconies overlooking the harbour, dining area, living room with fireplace, seperate bedroom with king bed, 1 and a 1/2 marble bathrooms. It was a shame we were only there for one night.

Polite staff, free parking and great breakfast! Walking distance to all the sites, shops and dining is wonderful, no need for a car if you would like to leave it at home.

If I could tell Management anything about the suite, it would be that the shower was too small. For a luxury suite, one would expect a shower that the average person could fit into comfortably. Second, arrange a couple comfy chairs over at the windows so you can sit and watch life go by.

Will definitely return :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    572
    170
    42
    18
See reviews for
450
697
61
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First of all the location is perfect, looking right out over the water and inner harbour of downtown Victoria. We checked in and right from the start the staff were very warm, helpful and informative; the check in clerks, the restaurant staff, the pool/excercise check in, the maids and so on. We parked our car over night at a very reasonable rate. The inside of the hotel is beautiful. Our room was on the tenth floor and had a gorgeous view of the inner harbour/walkway, the Royal BC Museum & IMAX and the Fairmont Empress. Everything was clean and modern. We decided to go for a swim in the 25 meter pool and then relaxed in the hot tob, steam room and sauna. It was a wonderful stay and would strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you can get a higher room with a view of the inner harbour I would strongly suggest it. My room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rccameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean, great location. Rooms of adequate size and amenities. For such a new hotel, some design choices are dated, but not end of the world. Some furnishings "cheap" classy. Stayed at corporate rate if $139, so can't complain. Better than Holiday Inn and the like, but should not be considered deluxe beyond the location. Would stay there again if looking for value or with the family, not luxury.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommysdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Based on your comments I believe you stayed in our East Wing during your recent visit to Victoria. If that is the case I am pleased to inform you that we will be starting a refurbishment of the East Wing this fall.

Please contact me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you wish to further discuss.

Thank you for your feedback and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here one night for a surprise romantic getaway for my husband. We had a lovely suite with gorgeous views. The suite was well appointed and did not disappoint. Greatly appreciated the late check out that was graciously provided.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriaflower_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What an absolute beautiful Hotel! the staff was great at check in, our room was soooooo pretty and clean and classy. The bed is very comfortable and the sheets are so soft, lots of pillows that are high quality and not overly stuffed. We had a room overlooking a residential area however we still had water views with a lovely balcony. Even the bathroom was lovely with high end soaps and a clean classy wall in the tub. High ceilings, crown moldings, beautiful hallways to our room. Underground parking was expensive but secure. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Tarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We get shuffled around in Victoria, but this time stayed at the Grand Pacific, from arrival to
departure there were no negatives. The room I had was well appointed, and had a large balcony,
the weather was co-operating and it was a great place to spend an hour after work just to watch
the seagulls and soak in some sun. The pool and fitness center are excellent facilities. The staff all work hard to provide an excellent experience, from valets to desk to maintenance, everyone was very positive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While Victoria itself was a little underwhelming, everything about the Hotel Grand Pacific was excellent. From providing a very early check-in (11am), to a late checkout (noon), to a perfect location (a block from the ferry, a block from the capitol building, 2 blocks from the Empress), to a great cafe downstairs (check it out for breakfast!), to an excellent gym and pool, it's just ideal. Rooms were clean, spacious, and had a porch, and the price was right as well. Too bad the weather was terrible in April!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank termie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 3,226 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#10 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 56 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 2,203 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 56 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing