We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The accolades given this hotel in the majority of reviews are accurate - a great property with wonderful views and large suites. We had a corner unit with views of the legislative buildings, the Empress Hotel and teh harbour - truly awesome views. 4 adults in the room adn plenty of space for all with a suite for 2 queen beds in a seperate room that had it's own luxurious sitting area, 2 balconies and another seating area outside the sleeping area. Hospitality by the employees was wonderful. Within walking distance to anywhere downtown and around the harbour, even to Beaconhill Park and to Ogden point. Restaraunts and tea houses galore to chose from in the area. Restaraunt in the hotel not so great. Select from the hundreds around the hotel, including Harbour House just up aroiund the corner and up the street.

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view, downtown view or government grounds view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyfun1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Feb 8th and 9th/13 for the first time and were greatly disappointed in that we were charged for parking as well as for local phone calls.The rooms were not grand but clean and just OK. We have stayed at other hotels in the same area and were not charged to park our vehicle and had the same amenities. Sorry Grand would stay at one of your competitors instead!

Room Tip: Pick a Pacific View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank food53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you're fortunate enough to be visiting beautiful Victoria on Vancouver Island, spoil yourself with a stay at the Grand Pacific. Located right on the harbour front, you can sit on your balcony and watch the sea planes come and go, the little water taxis chugging around and the horse and carriage operators taking tourists for trips around the waterfront area. The horse "resting area" is in the park right next to the Grand Pacific, so it's really easy to just walk over there and climb aboard for a slow amble around this beautiful little city. Our room had two queen sized beds, ample sitting areas and a huge bathroom; very comfortable and although a little pricey we thought the combination of luxury and location more than made up for it. Lovely restaurants in the hotel, which is dog-friendly, and many nearby restaurants made us spoilt for choice for dining and the staff were amongst the friendliest and most helpful we've encountered in 30 years of travelliing. We hated to leave beautiful Victoria and the luxuries of the Grand Pacific, but we'll definitely be back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chezza046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just stayed at the hotel grand pacific. As soon as we were greet acted at the door by the friendly greeter we walked into a expansive lobby brimming with beautiful chandeliers and granite and marble all around very opulent. Check in was quick and even included parking. The front desk staff was very efficient and nice. The room was on the sixth floor and had a partial harbour view and was a very large room, crown moulding and marble tub. The room was very quiet and lovely .we would return

Room Tip: Room 647 is lovely and has a partial water view for the regular price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripping192016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Grand Pacific for 7 days, end-June 2012 for our annual holiday.
What is there to say that hasn't already been reviewed?
We used most of the hotel amenities, including the swimming pools, restaurants etc.

Having asked for a room with a harbourside view, we were placed in the centre of the hotel on a high floor. The view is simply superb.

The hotel is close to everything, a mere walk to the British Columbia Parliament Buildings, Royal BC Museum and right in front of the ferry building where the MV COHO arrives and departs 3 times a day. One of the inconveniences, is that the blowing horn prior to departure might disturb the peace for a few moments.

The street noise wasn't a factor but a nearby BMX contest was. Very noisy in fact for most of the day but in the lot of cases, we had usually departed the hotel to tour aroud the city by noon. The taxiing seaplanes might also pose a noise problem but, when the patio doors are closed, the noise inside the room from outside is extremely minimal. There was also the "Tour de Victoria", which basically ended in front of the hotel (actually a block away in front of the Parliament Buildings) but it only lasted till noon, while the BMX competition lasted all weekend (and geared to teenagers with the accompanying hype and noise).


We had apprehensions about our room so close to the elevator.
Our fears were unfounded, as the elevator noise simply was non-existant and the corridors very quiet at all times. At least in our centre section. For the entire week.

The room itself was spacious and exceptionally clean.
We chose to have the staff change the sheets only after the 3rd day but refresh the towels, coffee etc once per day, basically making ourselves at home with all the privacy that it deserves, rather than live out of the suitcase.
And indeed, it felt like home.

We used the concierge service at least twice. The person sits at his/her desk in the lobby and provides free service.
It was much appreciated to finalize our flight back home.

The restaurants are a bit on the expensive side as is almost everything in Victoria but you get what you pay for. We used the Pacific Restaurant (their main dining lounge) on many occasions and found the food and service very polished and unobstusive (in other words, they leave you alone to eat). We partook into their Sunday brunch and it was plentiful and appetizing with many choices from crepes to eggs any style. With as much condiments as you please (self-serve).

We didn't get to try The Mark, their intimate dining room due to lack of prior reservation (sometimes also necessary in the Pacific Restaurant). Service in The Mark is even more polished than their usual polished service.
Once, we visited their street-level Courtyard Café for a quick bite before setting out and the fare there also proved to be delicious, again if somewhat a pit pricey.

My wife used the pool but I always preferred the hot tub. She slipped on the pool floor once (no serious consequence) but I always found the hot tub a bit too warm for an extended stay in the water. All in all, both were satisfactory and we usually went there late at night after supper.
Free towels are available at the desk before entering the pool, upon registration. There is also an extensive array of fitness equipment.

After hours is where the hotel glows, with chandeliers and other lighting inside and outside definitely gives the impression of being in a very classy establishment, albeit that backpackers and other tourists stay there. The street noise has abated by then and there is absolutely no noise in the corridors. Stepping out onto the balcony available to each room and taking in the scenery of the Inner Harbour makes staying at the Grand Pacific a unique experience. Two plastic chairs are provided on each balcony for convenience (and each room has a balcony).

During my 7-day visit, I walked the length and breath of Victoria, mainly looking at boutique, chain hotels and others, comparing them with the Grand Pacific. None even came close, including the major chain hotels. (And we ate meals in some of them, including the Empress).

My only regret is that, while the bellman helped us getting the luggage out of the limo from the airport and bring it to the front desk at arrival, he didn't lift a finger to help when we departed a week later, again by limo to the airport and we needed his help then, making himself available for more arriving guests (which there weren't then).

All in all, if you can afford it (because there are a lot of hotels within a few blocks), the Hotel Grand Pacific is well worth the price, then some, in elegance and service.
We didn't have the impression of staying in a hotel at all, but being at home away from home.
And up some streets not too far away and removed from the tourist traps are banks, drugstores, restaurants and other conveniences used by the general public.

And the best part of Victoria is that you're not bothered by that pseudo-British pap that used to be so prevalent within the city in former years. The Grand Pacific is just a very great alternative to that ivy-covered Grande Dame overlooking the harbour, a block away at a slightly lower cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room in the centre of the hotel for a great harbour view All the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute for a one night ferry excursion from Port Angeles, WA. After I booked, within two hours someone called to tell me the pool was out of commission temporarily. She hoped this wasn't a concern, but if it was they'd arranged to use another hotel's facilities. The woman was so friendly and offered advice about the things to do, etc. I told her we were coming as walk ons on the ferry. Our first pleasant surprise was that it was located directly across from the ferry port. Second, we noted that it was a nice looking mid-rise building that obviously had a great view of the harbor and city. Lobby: Beautiful. Front desk: The woman who'd called noted our early arrival so we were able to got straight to our room. Room: Very nicely renovated in a traditional style, and wonderful view as expected! So the list of happy surprises goes on...short walk to the heart of town, friendly service, great night's sleep and relaxation time in the comfy room So I would highly recommend it, regardless how you get to the island, but for a one night trip for two tourists on foot, it turned out GREAT!

Room Tip: We paid a bit more (but not much) for the water view room. Also we had an upper floor which I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redborn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Other guests have held forth at length about amenities of the hotel, so I'll mostly refrain. One amenity that is often overlooked is that the Port Angeles ferry docks directly across the street from the main entrance.. No real need for a car unless you want to tour the beautiful up-island scenery. And no need to schlep your bags, or hire a taxi to a distant location. Easy walk to upscale boutique shopping, Parliament, the Museum (do not miss), and many restaurants (MUST dine at Cafe Brio - excellent, affordable rustic Italian fare.). Prepare yourself for a large hotel experience. The swimming pool and training room are shared with local club members, so expect a crush in the afternoon and early evening. Hotel is child friendly which is good (if you're a family) and sometimes unpleasant (if you are a single or couple) as there are a lot of kids in wet swimsuits and goggles in the elevators. The first impression of the building is that it is a typical mid-town Marriott. Then you notice that the decorating budget in the rooms, halls and lobby were a little light. The rooms are too small by today's standards: Not enough move-around room which could become toxic with a family. Closet space is almost non-existent. Room outlets are few, with extension cords running from one behind the bed to a desk where there was still no space to plug in a computer. Beds were great and the view was grand, but be prepared for such small annoyances as mentioned. All in all, a safe bet for lodging,and a good value, but not a ""find". We will come back to Victoria but we will still look elsewhere for that "special" place.

Room Tip: Choose waterfront side - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you will not keep us on your list of hotels in Victoria. We are a larger hotel at 304 guestrooms but our size means that our guests receive many wonderful facilities like the Victoria Athletic Club with a 25 metre pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. Admittedly, the club can get busy with the pool, the squash court, yoga, and weight or cardiovascular training. However, most of the time there is plenty of room for both our guests and members of the club. Perhaps your tastes would be better suited to a boutique hotel experience.

I appreciate your opinion about our architecture and decor in our guestrooms but we also receive many positive reviews as well. I cannot change the size of our closets but we are endeavouring to improve the cord situation in our guestrooms.

Thank you for your patronage and please call me directly at 1-800-663-7550 if you wish to give us another opportunity.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $144 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing