We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had never been to Victoria and chose this hotel for its location. Perfect since we came in on the Victoria Clipper and it was docked 200 yards away. We realized that the hotel would be a wonderful choice as soon as we came up the walk. We were greeted by a friendly staff and although we were 2 1/2 hours early for check in they found us a room. The room was nice and spacious with a view of the Inner Harbour area. The facility was clean throughout.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Home Instead Senior Care hosted a conference with 30 people across Canada and United States. They all stayed at your hotel and were "blown away"...by the rooms and the service. We also had a meet and greet AND a lovely dinner in one of your dinner lounges. Timothy, our waiter was fabulous - again, the service was top drawer!! Thank you for helping to impress our lovely guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair Hicks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is located right on Victorias beautiful inner harbour and is a short walk to all the touristy places such as the excellent Royal British Columbia museum. The hotel itself is large and offers all the amenities one would expect to find in a top hotel. Parking was easy to access and self parking or valet parking is available. Check in was handled quickly and efficiently by a very pleasant lady. Our room was a standard king size. It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Although we were there on a special seniors promotion, we had a nice view of the harbour. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rhona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times over the years. The entire premises are spotlessly clean, the wifi works quite well with no dropouts or apparent restrictions, my room had a new LG widescreen TV (remote batteries were a bit flat), and new bed linens. Internet phone bandwidth was sporadic, so a travel router connected the the wired ($9.99) internet hardline may be required for reliable Skype, Viber, or Facetime calls. The balcony view is wonderful, but it has plastic patio chairs, and nowhere to sit a drink. The rooms are quite big and there is minimal noise. The bed was quite firm, but very comfortable. Power point access for recharging devices could be better - take an extension cord and power board and go searching for a wall socket. In the usual Canadian fashion there was a spectrum of staff. The doorman was very helpful and attentive, the check in staff were good, but my wife did get some attitude and was told to call back when she phoned me on the 'wrong' phone line. Caite in the restaurant was exceptionally helpful, and while she was quite busy with other tables she was extremely efficient and friendly and made breakfast a very quick and easy experience, rather than an ordeal.
This is a good, reliable, and very clean hotel. There are never any dramas. The key IMHO is the location. If you want somewhere quiet, efficient, and with the best view in town, then this hotel should be on the top of your list. I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: A Pacific View room/suite gives exceptional harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwood_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Best thing about rooms is the Harbor View from the upper floors. Rooms are pretty unremarkable but comfortable. Restaurant in lobby had good fish and chips but rather expensive for portion size. Alarm clock was not working in room and a few other things were not in tip top shape. Staff was pretty unremarkable. Balcony was rather dingy.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Harbor on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takemeaway_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If possible, would you mind elaborating on which room you stayed in, the employees or the department where you experienced the inferior service and provide details about the other issues that you alluded to? This will assist me in identifying and correcting the issues.

Please contact me at 1-800-663-7550 or by email to rjames@hotelgrandpacific.com at your convenience.

Thank you for your feedback and again please accept my apologies for the underwhelming experience.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

There are two wings east and west , west is the older /shorter building . although according to the staff the west wing is upgraded to macth the newer east wing , I suspect that would be the case . The rooms did not look renovated to me ,rather dated in fact,you might have a far better experiance in an east wing room .
Room and bathroom is not big according to american standards though clean and homey .
more on the clean 3 star hotel than 4 .
The being said,the location is unbeatble .few steps from the parliment .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our Inner Harbour location; we concur, the Hotel is well situated.

Your guestroom was located in the East Wing which is the original building. We are proposing a guestroom upgrade in this wing for 2013.

Please accept my apologies for the underwhelming accommodation in this wing. The West Wing guestrooms are newer.

Thank you for your feedback and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location of this hotel is its greatest asset being right on Victoria Habour, near the Legislature, and directly across from the Black Ball Ferry to Washington State. My wife and I stayed here for one night on a Tripadvisor promotional certificate. This full service hotel has all the amenities expected of a higher end hotel. Parking was convenient in the underground garage. The room was well appointed with quality furnishings. The balcony was small and did not provide much of a view except for the roof of the Days Inn next door. Staff were acomodating but we were surprised that the concierge did not have updated information on the ferry schedules across the road. Wifi was complementary but the room was compact and did not have a fridge or microwave. The bathroom was also small. There was no complimentary breakfast. If available for a discounted price I would recommend this hotel for its location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMorris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,918 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,846 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 47 in Victoria
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $131 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing