We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Mini-Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Mini-Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We selected this hotel as part of a Victoria Clipper Ferry package for a trip with six family members. We booked three City View rooms and each worked perfectly for our two-night stay. The rooms were clean, extremely comfortable and well-appointed for a downtown hotel (which are often tested for space), and featured a newly renovated bathroom. The little balconies were also terrific! The only area for improvement might be an update on the TV to a flat screen, but other than that I was really happy with our choice. We ate breakfast in the small Cafe that was attached at ground level (not the full-blown restaurant), which was fine but nothing surprising -- you might consider going to a local place instead. For most of the days we were out and about -- recommend Bard & Banker Pub and Bistro Bon Rouge as places to dine. If you are considering Tea, do it: we did Tea at the Fairmont and it was an incredible experience! Overall, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating, but we didn't have any outlandish requests. I told the reservationist ahead of time that it was my Mother's birthday and they had a card and free dessert coupon for her upon arrival, it was a nice touch! I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allikat613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    627
    180
    45
    19
See reviews for
497
762
65
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
duncan, bc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Clean rooms, fantastic location, very friendly, proffesional staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I've stayed here a few times now when visiting my old hometown, mainly because of the location and the balconies. It sure is nice to be able to put my feet up in the sunshine overlooking the inner harbour.

This is a very competent hotel with good services, amenities and staff. It's clean, well maintained and relatively well priced.

The only thing that irked me when I checked in last June, was the doorman/concierge. As I handed him the keys to my car, I noticed that the flag on the Legislature was at half staff. "Who died?" I asked, as my travels had kept me away from papers and other media for a few days. "Oh, that's in memory of fallen comrades to terrorism" was his reply. "What????" I said? "That's what they tell us."

I suppose, mistaking me for an American, that's what he thought I wanted to hear, or he just winged it. Either way, a tad insulting, thinking I would swallow that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for our Doorman appearing to make assumptions on your nationality when you arrived at our Hotel last June. We should have and will do a better job of informing our employees about the significance of that day last year (June 23, 2011).

The Canadian Government declared June 23 as Canada's National Day of Remberance for Victims of Terrorism (in general) which would obviously include the victims of 911. If you were unaware, this date was chosen because the Air India tragedy occurred on June 23, 1985.

We will be lowering our flag to half mast again this June 23.

Thank you for your feedback and as well, thank you for your past patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

One bedroom suite was very tiny comes with 2 beds in bedroom and 2 chairs in livingroom, or one bed in bedroom and hideabed in livingroom, neither very suitable for 3 women travelling together. They did bring up a roll away cot for me to set up in the living room so that each person could have a bed. Was very surprised at charges of $20 for 3 local phone calls, $16 for parking, $10 a day for internet, $14 for a corkscrew, and on and on it went...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am writing in response to your recent stay with us.

Our ability to accommodate three adults in separate beds is admittedly limited to one suite in the hotel. Otherwise, a cot is required to accommodate this request.

I am not certain how you paid $20 for three local telephone calls. Our local call rate is $1.00 plus tax per call. There must have been some other services utilized with your telephone charges.

Our overnight parking rates may seem high but they are more than competitive with other luxury hotels in Victoria.

The $14 corkscrew fee is only applied if you take it home with you but there is no charge to use it during your stay.

Lastly, the $9.95 internet fee is only if you plug into our fibre optic high speed internet line. The entre hotel has complimentary wireless internet throughout the property as outlined in the information card in the desk drawer.

Please contact me at 1-800-663-7550 if you wish to discuss your concerns or if you have any other comments. I would be glad to speak with you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stated at The Grand Pacific with our 2 year old & 6 month old. The hotel is perfectly located & we arrived early to our room all ready for us. From start to finish service was wonderful throughout the whole hotel, restaurant, front desk, house keeping, valet, everyone was so helpful. Our room had a separate living & bed room & it was very clean & spacious. It met our needs & even with travel cribs left plenty of space. We needed to warm some baby food & a microwave was brought to our room free of charge.
I have no constructive criticism at all as it truly was a great stay. Without a doubt we will be stating here for all of our Victoria trips. This is our second stay, our first was as a single couple with our then puppy - the hotel was just as accommodating for our dog too. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLCollins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you and your family were made to feel welcome during your stay with us. We do out best to accommodate all of our guests including families like yourselves.

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and our service. It means a lot to us. We look foward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were welcomed by a doorman who introduced himself and gave a quick overview of the property and area as we unloaded a few bags. Check-in was quick and the room was a good size with queen size beds, which are getting harder to find. The beds were really good and there was no noise from the road outside.

Each staff member was very knowledgeable and went out of their way to give us the information we needed. They also took the time to chat about local events and it seemed like each staff member appreciated our business.

The restaurant, Pacific, had several excellent menu items for about the same price as you would find at a chain steakhouse. I found the food and the presentation much better at Pacific, though. Next time I would have breakfast elsewhere, however, only because of the prices. The fitness facilities and pool are well-equipped and spacious, and there is a small cafe and spa at street level.

The only complaint I have - and it is minor - is that two of the electrical outlets in the room did not work. So I woke up in the morning and my phone had not charged. Nothing worth whining about! I would definitely stay here again and would consider other properties from The Preferred group in other cities (seriously, check out the one in Goa, India!)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaRider13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Wonderful to stay at the heart of Victoria. They could use a few technology upgrades to stay cutting edge, but if it is charming, old world elegance you're looking for, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. With regards to your "stay cutting edge" comment, we are replacing the remainder of our older televisions with high definition televisions this year. As well, we will have a high definition signal for all of our guestrooms this fall. Of course, I am assuming you were referring to our older televisions with your comment. As you may have noticed, we have a fibre optic internet line that makes us one of two hotels in Victoria with the fastest internet in Victoria.

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Grand Pacifc! We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing