We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the marathon”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel three times during the Victoria marathon. The start and finish are just a block away and the hotel is very nice. The rooms are quite large, parking was easy, very nice views, and even the restaurant was quite good (we don't usually think much of any hotel's restaurants).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThreeFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    660
    185
    47
    19
See reviews for
535
805
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stopped in Victoria for a few days before attending a conference elsewhere in B.C. The hotel was part of a package by Victoria Clipper that included round trip for two from Seattle to Victoria, a night in Seattle, night in Victoria, and return night in Seattle following the conference. It was super affordable. January rates are amazing.

Okay, so (as the Canadiens are always saying)...final verdict: best hotel stay of my life, and I'm almost 70 years old and have travelled quite a bit and stayed in some very nice places.

There was one little bobble with a stain on the underside of the duvet, which was addressed within ten minutes and came with apologies and two vouchers for the breakfast buffet.

Friendly, prompt service, gorgeous surroundings, fabulous meal. I can hardly wait to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a huge hotel about a block from the Blackball Ferry terminal and the Clipper terminal. We had ridden the Clipper and walked to the Hotel, it was that close.

The first room was disappointing. We had requested a room with a view of the harbor, which we got, but the window was VERY small. We like to sit in front of our windows and watch the people, traffic, whatever. It had a balcony but the "railing" was concrete so we couldn't see thru it. We requested another room and was told we could get into it the next day.

The second day our luggage was in the second room and the room was great. Large double windows to sit in front of, and the balcony had a plexiglass "railing" so we had an unobstructed view. We don't tend to watch TV but it had a good sized flat screen. There was a blow dryer and the sinks were split. One in the bathroom and one outside. The lighting on the outside one left a lot to be desired - not good for doing makeup. The beds were comfortable and had extra pillows.

The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and very polite. We went to the lounge every evening and the bartender, Cory, was exceptional. Always polite, and the more we visited with him (when he wasn't busy with other guests) the more we liked him. He was always friendly, polite (as I said) and very helpful. Great guy!

The hotel is centrally located. It is just a few blocks to the Empress Hotel, the Royal British Columbia Museum, the Houses of Parliament, and downtown. Great walking distances to any of the above. When we went, early December 2011, it was super cold, but even still the distances weren't bad at all.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel - for the staff, location, and comfort.

Room Tip: 8th floor rooms have small windows and views aren't very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammaRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tapps
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed three nights just before Christmas. The view of the harbor was so beautiful at Christmas with all the Parliament buildings and hotels and boats lit up. The king bed was really comfy, and I'm picky. We can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimibear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Other than the closed pool, sauna, hot tub, (we didn't receive any information about alternative arrangements), and 2 restaraunts, the only major problem with our 2 night stay at the Hotel Grand Pacific was the many hidden charges. The first was the pet fee: $50/stay. Over two nights, that's $25/night - the highest rate we've ever paid. The second was the room service delivery fee: $5 (not including tip). This is ridiculous. For example, they offer a pet menu (an excellent and unique idea!) for $5, but really it's $10 because they were not willing to make any exceptions to this rule. The third problem was the parking fee for $15 over 2 nights (even though the parking metre said the price was $7/night...). All in all, three hidden charges made this hotel a place we will not return to in the future. Another problem with this hotel was the outdated furniture, appliances, flooring, etc. (e.g., the pull out bed emitted an obnoxious odour). A renovation is needed imo. There are also no microwaves in the rooms. The one positive thing, though, was the doggy bed, treats, and map of local dog parks...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for writing your review and sharing it with our online community.

As a hotel that has built its repuation on service I am sorry that felt you were the victim of hidden charges. Our pet fee is similar to that of other hotels of our calibre in Victoria and the fee is for seven days. This fee covers the cleaning of all of the soft goods and the carpets in the room. Additonally this fee includes our pampered pooch kit which every canine guest receives.
The posted parking rate of $7 is the charge for day parking. The rate of $16.00 is good from time of arrival until 6p.m. the next day. Again our parking fee and RS delivery fee are the same or lower than that of comparable hotels in Victoria.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our unique pet menu and our pampered pooch kit.
And we certainly do have microwaves available on request so next time please let us know! The Hotel Grand Pacific does recognize the importance of maintaining a fresh room product and we anticipate ongoing room imporvements.

One again thank you and we hope to see you here on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Grand Pacific between Christmas and New Year's. We booked two rooms for five of us, one with two queens and the other a king. The view from both rooms overlooked the harbour and/or the Parliament Buildings.The view was gorgeous as the Christmas lighting on the Inner Harbour buildings was superb, especially on the Parliament Buildings.The rooms were fine and the beds were extremely comfortable. Both rooms had small balconies.The only downside was the lack of a flat screen TV in the 2Queen room. We used the pool and hot tub which were located in the fitness room area. The pool has an adults only swim time between 5:00 and 7:00 pm every day. The pool is split about 50/50 between open swimming and lanes. We ate dinner one night in the Pacific Dining Room and were very impressed with the food. We had a five year old with us and really appreciated the children's menu. All dishes were excellent and well presented featuring west coast cuisine. The service was first rate in the restaurant and very good throughout the hotel. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. We also used the Hotel's cafe for our early morning coffee and muffins. The hotel is reasonably priced and the location is excellent within easy walking distance to the Royal B.C. Museum (which is very worthwhile visiting) and downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a harbour view room - well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel Staff were most accomodating about giving us a beautiful view. We were celebrating our 26th Anniversary on New Years eve and couldn't have asked for anything more. We were right across from the elevator which I thought might be a concern but no problems at all. Even on New Years Eve things were pretty quiet. Would definitely stay here again. We walked everywhere we needed to go in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmgirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,692 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Property: Hotel Grand Pacific
Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing