We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort overlooking the harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice resort overlooking the harbor”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at the Delta Victoria because our function was being held at the hotel. The hotel is located on the west side of the harbor (on the other side of the blue bridge). The hotel is definitely upscale with beautiful views of the harbor. The rooms are luxurious and well maintained with high end touches. There is no wi-fi in the hotel, but there is complementary wired Internet.

Although the main harbor (ie in front of the Empress Hotel) looks far away, it is only a 10-15 minute walk. Victoria is a very pedestrian friendly city. Coupled with expensive parking rates, there is no reason why you can't walk everywhere around the city. Be aware that on the end of the Johnson Street bridge (blue bridge) there seems to be a lot of shady looking characters. It didn't help that we passed a box for people to "dispose of needles properly" on the way to the inner harbor. We never felt unsafe walking, even during twilight hours. Just use your good judgment!

The Lure Restaurant is really pricey, like $25+ for entrees. The food is great, but there are enough restaurants nearby that offer a lower cost alternative. Self park was $15 + tax a night, but is located in a garage with a private entrance to the hotel.

Though a bit on the formal side, the hotel staff were friendly and excellent. They gave us good advice and helpful tips to make our visit to Victoria wonderful.

Bottom line: A high end, luxurious hotel on the "quieter" side of Victoria Harbor

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuretravelernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    419
    92
    35
    9
See reviews for
357
638
52
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Devon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed for two night at the start of our tour of Canada. Found it so welcoming and the staff were so friendly. The room we had was a twin and measured some 8m x 4m with two queen size beds and still plenty of room. The bathroom was well laid out. The hotel was quiet at night so a good sleep was had.

The restaurant was great with panoramic views of the harbour, and the food was excellent (if a little expensive). The location was ideal as it was only a few minutes walk over the bridge to the city centre or you could catch a water taxi from the jetty in the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEYLAND Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was well-appointed and very clean. The hotel is ideally situated with really good views of the inner harbour and only a short, 10 minute stroll to the main part of the city.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities, inluding swimming pool and hot tub were of a good standard. We ate breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the harbour. Service was attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We just returned from a quick 24 hour escape to Victoria, where we celebrated our 10 year anniversary. I booked a room at the Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa through Expedia and got a really reasonable room rate given the class of the hotel. In the special notes section of the online booking form I just thought I would request an ocean view, as the night was supposed to be a celebration and I wanted it to be very special. I didn't really think that they would be able to accommodate my request, as the room rate was so affordable and we were only staying the one night. Sure enough, on our arrival, the Front Desk clerk wished us a happy anniversary and announced that they had upgraded us to an ocean view room. The room was just beautiful (as is the hotel in its entirety) and we were thrilled by our view into the harbour. To top it off, the hotel provided us with a lovely plate of truffles and chocolate with "Happy 10th Anniversary" drizzled onto the plate in chocolate sauce. What a lovely touch!
The King sized bed was ultra comfy and the shower had nice pressure. We went down to the lounge before dinner and enjoyed a personable waiter and yummy beverages while listening to a fabulous jazz pianist playing old standards. REALLY enjoyable.

When we headed out to dinner (our longtime favorite, "Il Terrazzo" , we were literally a 5 minute walk across the bridge and wham, we were there! Great proximity to shoppiing too.

I would highly recommend staying at the Delta Ocean Pointe. They give service plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parksvillemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The location is great and couldn't ask for more from the service aspect. But the rooms could definitely use upgrading; pretty bland for the price charged. You need s harbour view to make this stay worthwhile. Much better, more creative, and less expensive breakfasts in numerous cafes downtown - don't bother with the restaurant for that meal at $25.00 per person for an everyday English breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sje15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed for three nights in this hotel during a round trip through Canada. They gave us a beautiful room with a wonderful view to the harbour and the parliament. We enjoyed the comfort and quietness. Everything was definitely excellent in this hotel and we had a great stay there. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the restaurant highly recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieterA_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel has a wonderful position overlooking Victoria harbour. The views are amazing, yet the hotel remains quiet and relaxing. Rooms are a good size, the staff are courteous and helpful, and the whole experience is excellent

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,686 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
Address: 100 Harbour Road, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 0G1, Canada (Formerly Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Victoria West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Spectacular Setting Where People Work & Play in Perfect Harmony Situated on Victoria's breathtaking Inner Harbour, the newly renovated Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort is just steps from downtown shopping, restaurants and attractions. Our beautiful Victoria hotel's location in British Columbia, Canada offers a modern waterfront setting for unsurpassed guest service, exceptional dining, and full resort amenities, including an award-winning Spa, complimentary health club, indoor swimming pool and tennis/racquet courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort And Spa
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Hotel Victoria
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort Spa
Victoria Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing