We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful inside out....”

British Columbia Parliament Buildings
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.53*
and up
Victoria Harbour Kayak Tour
Ranked #6 of 180 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, the Parliament Buildings are open to the public year-round. Visitors are welcome to join one of the regularly scheduled guided tours, stroll through the buildings on their own self-guided tour, or even have a bite to eat in the Legislative Dining Room.Free guided tours are available Monday through Friday throughout the year, and seven days a week during the summer.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,302 reviews
793 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,034 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside out....”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The marvellous Parliament Building overlooks Victoria's majestic Inner Harbour is open to the public year-round. Visitors can discover the architectural splendour of the Parliament Building by self or by guided tours which are free and last approximately 30 to 45 minutes. Tours are offered frequently throughout the day, but the schedule changes so if you are interested in guided tour you may check for the timings.

It’s a government building and official work happens inside. And still visitors are allowed this amazed us. The building is splendid inside out and is very well maintained. The rotunda inside is charming, carvings on walls and stairs are elegant with beautiful colour combination.
It has small garden outside the building making a picture perfect. It reminded us of few historic buildings in Europe.

We weren’t lucky enough to witness the building lit with 3,300 light bulbs but the photos displayed inside the building with lights were superb.

Your trip to Victoria is incomplete without a visit to this place and inner Harbour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,207
    753
    130
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Closed Easter Sunday but well worth walking around”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My son had never been here and I thought it would be great to see, even if it was closed. He can tick this off his bucket list but he said he preferred the big tree out front. It was more spectacular. hee hee

I've been here many times and find each time I come that it changes ever so slightly. Something seems to be missing whenever I've seen it. This year was the first time I'd seen it during the day. It's grey stone walls weren't lit up with the usually beautiful lights. Not as impressive as it is at night. But it's still pleasant to walk the grounds.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TLynneWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“History for free”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Really enjoyed the tour through this wonderful building. Also had a great meal in the restaurant (past security but no hassle). Guides were well informed and handled questions well

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RicknvalVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Ledge at Vic”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice. Great architecture and very nice grounds. My only point of contention that kept this from being a perfect score was the lack of lavatories. The nearest washroom was a block away. We were there on a Sunday and none of the building was open for viewing, it would have been nice if even the lobby had been accessible so I can not comment on the interior since we could not view it. The security outside were helpful and polite. The ground around the building were clean and well tended with no a single piece of litter visible. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Vancouver Island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pastornpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The architecture, the art, and most importantly, my 6 and 7 year old thought it was pretty cool! And even the lawns are one of the best places to just sit back and relax on.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mandythefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Columbia Parliament Buildings also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to British Columbia Parliament Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing