We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
$202
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Fairmont
$203
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
FindHotel
$177
View deal
Expedia.com$202
Hotels.com$202
Destinia.com$207
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,956)
Filter reviews
4,956 results
Traveler rating
2,695
1,256
574
281
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,695
1,256
574
281
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea bengal lounge gold floor beautiful hotel old world charm scones overlooking the harbour british columbia visiting victoria vancouver island empress ivy concierge conference canada valet bc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 4,956 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2019

A beautiful building but we found many of the staff to be quite off-hand and in some cases plain rude. Two exceptions to this were James (breakfast dining 2 mornings) and Zachary (front door entry). Both of these gentlemen were truly lovely and helpful. They went out of their way several times to assist. A young lady on the front desk called Stephanie was also pleasant. The rest of the staff could learn a few things about hospitality especially from James and Zachary. The high tea experience was quite lovely but expensive for what it was. Would I stay there again? Probably not. As much as it's lovely to stay in beautiful surroundings it's much more about the people that leaves a lasting impression!

Date of stay: October 2019
3  Thank lynr262015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Thank you very much for your valued feedback and for the lovely comments regarding Zack, James and Stephanie. We strive to provide the very best guest service to all of our guests by all of our staff. We do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you again sometime.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

A quick trip to BC, we stopped in and had dinner and drinks at the fairmont. The food was wonderful and the services was impeccable. Afterwards we listen to music in the lobby. The area was safe and walkable.

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daytrip141
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

An amazingly beautiful Hotel, a must see even if you do not stay in it.
A super luxurious hotel with a lot of history.
Looks magnificent when it is is lit up in the night.
A lovely experience to see it.
Heard many stories regarding this fabulous building.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank DilrukshiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

We sincerely appreciate your lovely accolades and look forward to the opportunity to serve you one day soon!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

Visited for afternoon tea in the lobby. Enjoyed the harbour view and elegant surroundings. The afternoon tea is certainly not cheap, but it is a very nice experience for a treat, especially with the live pianist playing while you eat. Good selection of teas too.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 757jayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Tea at the Empress experience. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

What a lovely place to stay while visiting Victoria. A short walk from the ferry. Beautiful hotel and location with views of the inner harbor. gorgeous indoor pool and hot tub with views of the lush grounds. visited the bar and had a world famous martini that lived up to its reputation.

Room tip: High floor with views
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellih859
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Thank you for the great feedback. We are thrilled you had a change to enjoy our incredible Empress Gin!

Kind regards,

Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews