We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Expensive but a lovely experience in a lovely location. Fairmont gold, lovely rooms although very expensive for what you get. Evening snacks quite nice and breakfast was excellent. Disappointed that the alcoholic beverages were chargeable, would expect more. This level.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Singapore,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our Fairmont Gold rooms as well as our evening snacks and wonderful Fairmont Gold Breakfast. The alcoholic beverages in our Fairmont Gold lounge are not complimentary, however there is coffee, tea, waters and juices available complimentary throughout the day. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,848
    879
    428
    197
    102
See reviews for
776
1,478
122
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The service at Fairmont Empress was great. Although we travel a great distance, we feeled like we were home. All staff always so kind and great service.

Thank you for make our visit to Kanada so great and memorable. My wife and I want to come back to Victoria and stay at this hotel once more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Empress even though my time frame was only four days. I feel like it's the perfect place to explore Victoria from. The staff was outstanding. It exceeded my expectations and made my visit comfortable and memorable. Definitely take a bike ride down to the beaches and go sea kayaking!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Regina,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that the staff were outstanding. I am happy you were able to enjoy our central location so close to many attractions and venues. The city tours of Victoria are a great way to see all that the city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Website is misleading about the amenities (free or available). No air conditioning, expensive internet, ripped curtain, extremely small room and bathroom (even the harbor view), no microwave, shabby interior. If the guest room was as well maintained as the public areas, that would have helped. A total disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Hillsboro,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. We strive to provide the best experience and customer service that guests have come to expect of Fairmont Hotels. I will personally be following up with our teams in regards to your comments about the state of your room. We are always very happy to move you into a room that is more comfortable. Please do not hestitate to ask in the future. By becoming a member (complimentary) of our Fairmont President's Club, you are able to access internet for free as well as add other preferences to your profile such as pillow type, newspaper type etc. I apologize that your visit with us was such a disappointment. I would be hapy to discuss your stay further should you wish. Thank you again for sharing the feedback.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The heart of the Empress Hotel is the magnificent structure overlooking the harbor in Victoria. If only we still built such elegance today. However, the hotel is stone and mortar, the true soul of the building are the employees who make your stay feel as if you are royalty back for another visit. At every level every employee will go all out to make you feel at home in your castle.

Room Tip: Go "Gold" it will enhance your experience and the value is unbeatable. If you really want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the historical attributes and ambiance of this wonderful building. I am also very happy that we provided you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to The Fairmont Empress, our "Castle on the Coast".

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Has high tea here as a shore excursion from a cruise. It was very good. The Hotel is impressive, the service excellent, food delicious and tea top notch. We were given sample packs of the tea to take with us and only this morning did I finish off the last of it, still delicious. Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Did not stay here, just stopped in for the high tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozziegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Port Orange,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent Afternoon Tea experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. The Empress Tea Blend comes from six estates, including Kenya, Tanzania, South India, Assam, Sri Lanka, and China. Nearly 100,000 guests are served tea annually with an estimated 500,000 cups of tea. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel (intent on visiting the magnificent Butchart Gardens) and were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Fairmont Gold. Was that a great move!!!
Absolutely superb service at the Special reception desk and also at the exclusive Gold Lounge area. Here you were able to be pampered with complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks etc and an honesty system for alcoholic beverages, including wines, whilst soaking up the ambiance and the view over the harbour. This was topped off with an elegant selection of canapes and other delicious food treats (also complimentary) The warm , friendly, attentive service in this Lounge was also a thing that will always remember
Our Room was large and very comfortable , well appointed and with free "fast" internet and even though we had a courtyard outlook, rather than a harbour view this didnt even seem to matter as we spent most of our 'indoor time" in the Lounge anyway.
Yes , the Hotel is old , but therein is the wonderful charm of this place. It has an air of Old World but has been well maintained and appropriately up dated to provide a high standard of accommodation
We dined both nights in the main dining room and the food was very good, service excellent and prices, although not cheap, compared quite favourably with other local restaurants nearby
Breakfast was served in the main dining room but we were more that happy to accept the complimentary breakfast in the Gold Lounge. It was quiet there and very pleasant with the same excellent service and a selection of food (hot and cold) that that was ample for us
In summary - a great hotel in a great location with impeccable service - and "Go For Gold" IT IS WORTH IT

Room Tip: Go For Gold (Fairmont Gold)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Brisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Gold Lounge and its wondeful staff as well as canapes, breakfast and the superb view. I am also pleased that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is great to read that you enjoyed the historical ambiance of the hotel as well as breakfast and dinner in The Empress Room. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Canada again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing