We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea for two!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver Canada
1 review
“Tea for two!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Would be nice with a lunch place in the hotel as the Bengal lounge had wonderful smells that tempted the stomach but did not allow my 14 year old son in. Lunch ended up being a sandwich from across the street. Antiquated liquor laws?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Vancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your feedback regarding your son and his not being able to dine in the Bengal Lounge. This feedback is important and will certainly be shared and addressed so that we are able to move forward with the goal of improving service in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,880
    890
    433
    201
    104
See reviews for
786
1,507
123
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel. Great staff, very helpful and friendly from the moment of arrival beginning with the doorman, valet, porters all the way to the housekeepers. The hotel itself is a wonder, it's a little bit of history that you get to enjoy and the details are beautiful. We booked our package through BC Ferry Vacations, 2 nights at The Empress - including parking (which is normally $30 per/night) also included was our return ferry ticked for a standard vehicle. Great deal at $450. Overall clean rooms, large TV in room, mini fridge, milk for coffee in room, room has Keurig coffee machine and YES you can brew up afternoon tea in your room as a selection of the Empress organic teas are provided. Victoria is beautiful and The Fairmont Empress takes the cake on location, you are walking distance to the harbour and downtown. We skipped the room service burger for $23 + $5 delivery + 15% autograt and found some delicious restaurants throughout the city. GO! NOW! Check it out! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Kelowna,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. I was happy to read that you appreciated the wonderful history and charm of this hotel as well as our great location. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

A magnificent hotel ! We had such a gorgeous room & a beautiful bathroom. The view of the harbour from the 8th floor is wonderful. This hotel stay was actually on my " bucket list" + the afternoon tea at the grand Empress -- did not disappoint. The tickets to Butchart Gardens was great. (Also here 50 yrs ago ) Thanks for the lovely tray of chocolate covered strawberries in our room. All was Amazing!! We are already planning a return visit next year anniversary. The beauty of spring in Victoria is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Loved the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderthandirt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us for your 50th Anniversary. Congratulations. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. I am also pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our wonderful Afternoon Tea experience. I am thrilled to read that you are already planning your next visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Excellent location. Simply beautiful charming hotel. Easy walk to restaurants, attractions, harbour.

Rooms: beautiful, clean.

Breakfast: good

Staff: excellent and friendly

Decor: stunning, old , charming , vintage

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin1959_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Australia,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the charm and history of the hotel. I hope that you had a chance to visit our archives to see the historical photographs and menus. Our location is wonderful and it sounds like you were able to get out and visit some of the wonderful nearby attractions that Victoria has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Empress is a beautiful hotel. The location, service, interior, well absolutely everything was wonderful. Room was clean, well appointed and enjoyed sound sleeps. The view of the inner harbours is wonderful. Was able to easily access running paths. The grounds are spectacular and the food and beverage service in the hotel was very good. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Edmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your room with great sleeps, as well as our wonderful views of the inner harbour. Our grounds are truly spectacular and I was happy to read that you were able access many running trails from the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when you return to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Perfect location! Was close to all activities. Good meeting! What more can I say???? Our group enjoyed all of the facility. Beautiful flowers. Wonderful view of the harbor. Good drinks in the Bengal Lounge







  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Denver,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our location which is so close to many of Victoria's wonderful attractions. I am so happy that you enjoyed our beautiful gardens and flowers, as well as our wonderful views of the Harbour. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when you visit Canada again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of checking off a "Bucket List" item after our youngest daughter was married in Seattle. I have always wanted to visit Victoria and stay at the Empress. So, instead of a Honeymoon, we went on a "Parentmoon" with the Groom's parents. We had a remarkable time at the Empress - from check in to beyond check out. The staff was amazing...always friendly and helpful, and our room was fabulous. We love hotels with history , character and central locations, the Empress hit all marks. Not only would I love to go back to the Empress, but am looking forward to visiting the Fairmont Hotels in Quebec City and Montreal as well. Also, a big thank you to Thania, the housekeeping manager, for finding my jacket, which I forgot in my room, and sending back to me. Now that is special service!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to read that you found our staff to be helpful, friendly and amazing. The history of this hotel is truly amazing. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing