We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Charm and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pembroke, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical Charm and Comfort”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Victoria and especially the Royal British Columbia Museum should be enough to say it all .. But then there was those nights at the Fairmont Empress ... after high tea of course. Wow. This place should be on your bucket list ... but don't wait. It is great

Room Tip: Get the view of the harbor... it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBertWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    940
    446
    217
    115
See reviews for
844
1,574
131
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is fantastic and in a great location. Everything about this hotel speaks grandeur and history. That being said it is an older hotel. Upkeep on the hotel has been fantastic, but the bathrooms are small and there are few electrical plugs in the rooms. Couldn't charge a laptop and cell phone at the same time.

The service was awesome, everything was top notch from a service stand point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlb_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Edmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. I will personally be following up with our teams about your comments regarding the bathroom as well as the lack of electrical outlets. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We joined Fairmont president club so you get upgrade, free wifi and faster checking.
Also book online and get super discount but you can't cancel!!! We stayed on 7th floor in a turret. Round bed. Lots of room. Harbor view is only reason to stay. Lovely grand old hotel. Staff are top notch

Room Tip: Book online!! Join club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drillerkc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a conference that also met in the hotel. Otherwise we probaby couldn't have afforded the regular room rate, but we were so glad for the opportunity to stay here. It's fun to think about all the travelers who have enjoyed this lovely building over the years. The staff did an outstanding job supporting the conference. We had a corner suite on the 4th floor with a small view of the harbor, good size room and very comfortable. Nice to be greeted with a small treat. The furniture was a bit worn and dated (only one piece seemed to actually be an antique) and not much desk room, but Internet worked fine (be sure to sign up as a President's club member for free access). King-sized bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping a bit clumsy (left a piece of our trash we recognized outside the door one day and a note warning that a broken glass had been cleaned up another day- we did appreciate the note) and there were a few hairs in the shower on our arrival but the room was generally clean. Evening turndown service isn't really something we crave, but complimentary water bottles were appreciated for all the walking we did around town. We did use the laptop size safe in the closet. Convenient to attractions including the waterfront, BC museum, and park. Need transportation to get to the gardens (there is a bus but we didn't have time to take it there). Very expensive to eat breakfast in the hotel ($27 for oatmeal and coffee)- instead walk the short distance to Cora's- a Victoria highlight. We were told the taxi from the airport would be $40-50, but it was over $60 without excessive traffic. We took the airport shuttle back, which was fine and less than $20 per person. First time we have experienced early on-line check-in which was convenient, though a bit strange to not stop at the front desk (we didn't get a tourist map but found one later- the visitor center is across the street), and we don't typically like being required to use (and tip) a bellman, though the layout of the hotel is confusing enough that it was helpful to be led to our room. The doorman greeted me by name (from my luggage tag and expected arrival?) and had the room key. Check-out can be done on the TV or internet, but no receipt under your door as most places have these days. To get a hard copy of the receipt you have to stop at the front desk or wait for it to arrive in the mail. So overall, missing some conveniences of typical chain hotels, but more than makes up for it in character and location. The conference facilities and service were outstanding at good rates. (The hotel is also connected to the conference center, but our meeting was small and used only rooms in the hotel itself.)

Room Tip: Highest level of service is offered on the 2nd floor. Rooms on the harbor side have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay enjoyed the room even though it was small and not as fancy as I thought it would be. The afternoon tea is 50$ but elegant and taste good wont say it is worth the price but it is a touristy tradition. The hotel itself is elegant and it is fun to meander through it. The pool is small for such a big hotel but water is warm and they have a nice hottub. The Bengal lounge is wonderful and I love there delicious lunch buffet. Service is wonderful and so is the food and drinks. Only downside to this hotel is the price of parking which is about 30$.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel to visit the botanical gardens and it was fantastic. The rooms were beautiful, the staff friendly and the hotel itself was an amazing property. We had afternoon tea and that was great as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from London,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you were welcomed warmly upon your arrival and our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our wonderful afternoon tea experience. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy a city tour of Victoria and see all that our city has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights recently and really loved it. We had a harbour facing room as part of a gold package which was well worth the extra cost. The Gold lounge has excellent service, lovely views, great breakfast, afternoon tea, canapés and desserts.. Very good value. Definitely go for a harbour view in this pretty little town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,055 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,735 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing