We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful antique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful antique hotel!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a great location. Beds are very comfortable. As I was there for a sales meeting, I got to see many of my colleagues rooms. The rooms do vary in size quite a bit. The lowest category room is quite small for two people. I was told my room was a deluxe and I did appreciate the extra room seeing as I had a roommate. Bathrooms are extremely small however, not much room for two women. I am happy to have stayed here and experienced it but I'm not sure I would pay from my pocket to do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,880
    890
    433
    201
    104
See reviews for
786
1,507
123
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked the hotel to attend an global conference, and although the price was a bit overboard, the impressive Empress made it a memorable experience for me! Ever since I checked in (earlier than 12 noon was allowed), I experienced a grand welcome ! The receptionist was very polite and courteous. The room was small, but well decorated, with good views. The VLC conference center was huge and well decorated. The location of the hotel could not be any better, stone throw distance from the ferry terminals, and hydrojet, as well as the gardens/walkways. Shopping complexes were next door too. I was pleasently surprised with the restaurant "Bengal Room" - a wonderful Indian dining opportunity (Bengal and Indian food)! I could walk around the hotel's greenery under the wonderful September sun. The check out was extremely efficient, even one night prior to my departure. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to revel in a little bit of luxury (and money).

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you chose the front panel, you will witness the charming view of the magn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarbapi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Kolkata,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you had such a grand experience and that the staff treated you so well. I am glad that you had such a memorable experience in the Bengal Lounge and that you also enjoyed our beautiful grounds and our wonderful location. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to the West Coast again.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful establishment, superior service, once in a lifetime experience! Definitely a return visit soon! We had an exceptional stay and have recommended as a must stay to all of our friends. High Tea is a must! The tea selections were amazing, the canapés were mouthwatering, and the service was outstanding. I can't say enough about our lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying for 3 nights at this grand hotel. Can only describe the hotel as magestic. Very comfortable, lots of interesting features, overlooking harbour with plenty of eating places. (Bit pricy in restaurant though! The hotel has a charm that we have not experienced anywhere else,,,Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillWhiteTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This impressive and haunting relic of turn-of-the-century edwardian, chateau-style architecture proudly stands at the foot of Victoria's quaint and enchanting harbor, welcoming daily thousands of visitors from around the globe.
Wanting to truly relish in the experience of staying in this grand old dame, we opted to stay on the gold floor, in a Junior suite with harbor view.
What an excellent choice that turned out to be, as our junior suite was extraordinary.
Impeccable details throughout: beautiful crown molding, ceramic tiled fire place and mantle in the separate living room, beautiful four poster bed and most importantly: the view view view!
It was breathtakingly beautiful.
So much so, that each evening, we made sure we were promptly in our room at sunset, so that from the comfort of our own bed we could witness the elaborate sunset of Vancouver Island, spewing tones of fiery pink, orange and crimson across the clear blue sky.
Being able to watch the magnificent sunrises and sunsets from our room; having the luxury of peering out our windows upon the expansive Victoria harbor; viewing from above the thousands of photo hungry tourists captivated by the Empress's facade; we truly couldn't have had a better experience or room in this hotel.
The gold floor staff was beyond helpful, friendly and attentive. They suggested Victoria excursions off the beaten path: tranquil walks through varied eclectic neighborhoods in the city, kayak tours, and the best in locale cuisine. And each did so in a genuine and thoughtful way, even letting us into some of the hotel's lesser known historic corners, which made this historic hotel buff / nerd very happy.
The gold lounge itself was the only let down during this truly memorable stay.
The meat heavy selections left my vegetarian other-half hungry on more than one occasion, and there is an absence of really anything to eat in the lounge from 10:30 a.m. until 5p.m. I found the "honor bar" a little disconcerting, especially with domestic beer at $7 a pop. May as well drink downstairs in the bar with a better selection we thought, so in the end we did.
Had we paid extra for access to the Gold lounge only, we would have been more sore about it, I'm sure, but due to the awe-inspiring junior suite, the view and the remarkable Gold Floor staff, the sting from the lack of gold lounge selection and offerings really didn't last.
All that forgotten: I can't say enough about the haunting impression this beautiful hotel left on me: I plan on making the long journey to Victoria again one day soon, so that I may once more cross through her famous and ornamented doors.

Room Tip: Harbor view is a must. Gold Junior suite room 476 - breathtaking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here in September 2012 for our honeymoon, I picked it even though it was a little expensive as it seemed to be the place to stay. It looked great on the outside, walked in and we were told our room wasn't ready and to come back in an hour. Had a lovely walk around the harbour and came back to be told again that the room wasn't ready. We were offered complimentary drinks which my wife received but I had to wait 30 mins for mine. When we eventually got to our room it stank and I mean it smelt awful. We couldn't stay in the room it was so bad so ended up getting a really crappy room which was apparently the only one left. it was smaller less furnished and so noisy outside.
The gym and pool were closed as they were being fixed the whole time we were there. I was so upset and disappointed by the reaction of the hotel staff. Which is probably why I am still prepared to write a bad review so long after the event. My suggestion come here for a visit as part of the historic tour but don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmetnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Really good position. Rooms are little small and bit overpriced for what you get. Buying or eating anything in the hotel too expensive. Best to eat out. Our room was really small with no view at all but was a long week end and hotel looked like booked out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing