We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Bad cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Bad cleanliness”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I went to Victoria with my family for my vacation during the end of August. I was really excited to have my first experience with Fairmont Empress. Unfortunately, I was so disappointed about the cleanliness. There's food left over (room service) outside of the room next to my room. It was sitting there for 2 days! Come on 2 days? How could that actually happen?
My room.. the hallway was really dusty. Did anybody do the cleaning at all?
This is not a motel or 1~2 stars hotel.
Considering the price of the room, I am really disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BananaLeafVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Vancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. We strive to provide the best experience and customer service that guests have come to expect of Fairmont Hotels. I was concerned to read that there was room service not collected for a prolonged period of time and that the hallway was dusty. I will personally be following up with our teams about your comments. Thank you again for sharing the feedback.

Kind regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    896
    435
    201
    105
See reviews for
788
1,511
125
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great hotel with staff to match. Not state of the art, but that's the charm of the place. Formal, yet comfortable and cozy. The location is perfect, the food very good and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Have a drink and something to eat on the veranda overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertCowboy60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a little over a week three years ago and found the service, room preparation, and desk service verygood to excellent. We will go back when we are the vicinity. My wife I had the tea service and it was very good. We went to an American Iris Society convention and the meals we had were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This has to be the easiest review I have ever written. We stayed here for an overnight stop in Victoria. Upon driving into the City and rounding the harbour view, the Empress cuts a striking sight right. Driving into the front lot, and receiving great service from the moment we opened the door to the moment we left. Parking is simple, either valet or self park in the underground car park.
We had requested a 'turret, circle bed room', and this was duly organised for us, and was pretty special.
The hotel itself is old and grand, some may have moaned about it being dated! It you want new architecture then book it... but you will miss the real character this place offers.
We took an early evening meal (fish and chips) with cocktails on the veranda and this was just perfect. An easy way to enjoy the splendor of the location and enjoy a little people watching. (The many that come to view the hotel as a tourist attraction in itself).
I had pre-registered for the fairmont rewards programme and therefore wifi was provided in room free of charge.
Buffet breakfast in the Empress Room was so tasty, and something not to be missed.
All in all, our stay was enhanced by our stay at the Empress, and should we ever be lucky enough to return to Victoria I would definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Circle bed in turret room.... Fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsACM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a weekend in Victoria with our grandchildren and opted for the historic and folkloric Empress in view of its location,grandeur and history. Our grandchildren were very impressed, as were we. It is the perfect location in Victoria, on the harbor and near the night-lit Parliament building and downtown. The service, for us, was first rate from check-in to check-out. Our room was comfortably appointed. It was our first stay at the Empress, but we would not hesitate to stay there again upon a return trip to Victoria.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, a south-facing harbor facing room would be far more preferable to a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFYakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My companion and I enjoyed a beautiful "somewhere in time" experience when we went to an afternoon tea at The Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria BC. The room was from another era, beautifully appointed with vintage furniture ,draperies And lovely tea service items. Background music was from an exceptional pianist. The assortment of teas from which to choose was creative yet classic and our server was from the old school of impeccable standards. The sandwiches, scones, pastries and nibbles were breathtakingly presented on a three tiered antique tea server and so delicious. I did not want the experience to end.

Room Tip: We stayed a a B and B near the downtown area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkrevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Detroit,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent experience here at The Fairmont Empress. It’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy the Afternoon Tea and found all of it to be so lovely and elegant. The Fairmont Empress has been serving tea in the tea lobby for 105 years. Another interesting historical fact is that The Empress Room features ceiling molding that is actually done with horse hair. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you back to Victoria.

Kind Regards,

Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It wasn't awful but it wasn't fabulous either. It is a grande dame of a building but with that comes small rooms and no air conditioning. The windows only raise a few inches so with the beautiful warm weather our room was stifling. The bathroom required you to enter & close the door in order to wash your hands.

Staff was indifferent at best - and that was even at the President's Club desk. Housekeeping never serviced our room on our second day.

Afternoon Tea was pricey but an enjoyable experience with my daughter. Great view of the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing