We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empress hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is tired and in need of some refurb and cleaning, the dust on some of the pictures was months of build up, the chairs were stained and falling apart, to pay credit to this beautiful building some serious attention to detail needs to take place. As a Brit, afternoon tea was not the standard the British would expect, sandwiches were definitely not fresh, ther was a long hair on the plate of "fresh" strawberries which had shriveled leaves. The waiter had a soiled waistcoat and he poured hot water all over the table when trying to add this to the teapot. If you are trying to emulate a world class tradition, again attention to detail is a must. Hence great disappointment for a birthday treat and the cost is way too high for the standard of food and service provided.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,761 - 2,767 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Upon arrival in our room I found the bath mat dirty & a black hair on our white bed duvet. The room was very tired looking. The front desk had someone come and reclean the room right away. The bathroom was very small and the hot water in the shower took a good 5 minutes to get going - never did get very hot. Parking is $30 per night for valet or self park. We chose self park for the convenience. Not very convenient at you are at the mercy of the the Victoria Conference Centre parking attendants. We had to wait every time we tried to exit due to no one covering the parking attendant when they needed a bathroom/coffee break. We checked out at 5:45 am - I informed the front desk we needed to get our rental car out of the parkade - they informed me not a problem - it was......the parkade is not open early in the morning. We had to call the front desk to have someone come down and let us out. The parking attendant made it clear they do not work for the hotel & are not open until at least 6:30 am. Why the confusion at the front desk??
We booked into the Willowstream Spa & had amazing massages. The only problem was the change rooms needed to be better monitored. Both the mens and womens change rooms were low on towels in the lockers. Someone in the ladies steam room used a disposable razor and left it in the steam room. Very small shared lounge area to wait for your treatments. That said the treament was incredible and very relaxing.
The Bengal Lounge was very good. Excellent servers, good drinks and appys!
The concierge was most helpful with advising us in our travels. I love the location of the Empress. We love to walk and this enabled us to go on long walks with incredible views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetotravel744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Calgary,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the service shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide the best experience and customer service that guests have come to expect of Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. From the comments you have shared I can see that we did not succeed in achieving our goal. I will personally be following up with our leadership team to ensure that these service shortcomings do not occur in the future. I was very pleased to read of your experience in The Bengal Lounge and will be sharing those comments with the Director of Food and Beverage. Thank you again for sharing the feedback; I would be happy to discuss your stay further should you wish. Kind regards, Don Fennerty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has it all! Fantastic views, fantastic staff, fantastic amenities, fantastic history, fantastic architecture! I love the Empress!! Eat here, stay here, talk to Any of the staff here, from store clerks, to wait staff, to housekeeping. Everyone is great, friendly and accommodating! I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Well this was a rare treat. Champagne to warm things up before enjoying the Famous English Aternoon Tea in this very stylish hotel. The service the tea, the sandwiches and the cakes were all exquisite. It was a relaxed comfortable experience in the hands of people who exude welcoming, informed, service to ensure their customers have a memorable and enjoyable experience. Loved it and will go back. Not inexpensive but fantastic value for money if you enjoy the finer things in life.

Room Tip: Do book early and ask for a window table overlooking the front gardens and Inner Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Edinburgh,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea service. We have been serving tea in the historic Tea Lobby for 105 years now and pride ourselves on providing the best experience. From your comments I can see that we have succeeded in achieving our goals. I will be sharing your wonderful comments with our Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage who will share these comments with their teams. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again. Kind regards, Don Fennerty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Hotel is right out of a story book, the ivy covered building is incredible.
The view is amazing across from the inner harbor.
Service was impeccable, rooms were great
Not the cheapest hotel in Victoria but absolutely nothing else could compare

Everything you would want to do in Victoria is within walking distance.
We have never been to Victoria before but have started planning a return trip already

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbor, the night time lights are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leggy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My Cousin and I stayed 3 blissful nights at this amazing hotel and we just loved it
the GOLD floor service was just out of this world
the food that they had was so wonderful
we loved the cappachino bar the breakfast and the appetizer bar in the evening
the service from the staff was just so FABULOUS
I personally travel a fair amount and I would say this is one of the hotel service I have ever received
I will be stayin at The Fairmont Empress in Victoria again sooooonnnn!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Short&Sassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Empress several times and have never been disappointed. It has a storied and historical past. The hotel itself is charming and staff very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The suites are large, clean, well appointed, and a little dated. However, the view of the harbor was beautiful at all hours of the day. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and clean. The Fairmont Gold room allows you access into the lounge for breakfast buffet and appetizers before dinner or dinner itself. The lounge offers wonderful selections, a magnificent view of the harbor, and refreshments for your day trip or after. The Bengal Lounge buffet and its cost is a winner! The Empress is steps away from the Royal Museum, IMax, the harbor happenings, shopping and the best restaurants.

When traveling to Victoria, a stay at the Empress is a must!

Room Tip: Stay in a Fairmont Gold room. The extra cost is well worth the access into the lounge for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Honolulu,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear your great comments about The Bengal Lounge, Fairmont Gold and our beautiful city. The Bengal Lounge is a great place to relax in the afternoon with a cocktail made by one of our master mixologists. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,379 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $203 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a Condé Nast Readers' Choice and Gold List hotel, and honoured with the Travel + Leisure distinction as a top Canadian hotel, the Fairmont Empress graces Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour with an iconic presence. The Fairmont Empress, Victoria B.C.’s most iconic hotel, has just unveiled a $60 million dollar restoration.This luxury hotel offers 464 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, and expansive meeting and wedding space adjacent to the conference centre. Located on the picturesque West Coast of Canada, this is the ideal location to explore all the natural beauty of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing