We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“elegant but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“elegant but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely elegant hotel but is dated. Guest rooms are not too big but they are comfortable, carpets in rooms are in need of updating and the beds are wonderful. Housekeeping does a wonderful job everything is very clean and everything you need is at hand. Over priced unless you get corporate rate or off season. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the location could not be better. My only complaint was the parking, my vehicle was too large for underground so I was assured that it would fit in an overheight lot they have in the back but later that night as we were strolling the waterfront and looking at the large yachts tied to the wharf low and behold backed into a parking spot by the wharf was my vehicle that I was charged $30.00 to valet park!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. It is wonderful to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and you enjoyed the gardens and grounds. Thank you for sharing your comments about our parking. I will ensure that they are shared with our managment team at the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,846
    879
    428
    197
    102
See reviews for
776
1,477
122
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were on a cruise ship so we didn't stay there. However, we totally enjoyed walking through the hotel, the attached conference center and the outside gardens. The rose garden was great. The roses smelled so good. There were some neat old photos to look at in the hotel. If you are just walking the town, you want to stop there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My sister and I were thrilled with our stay at the Empress the only down side was there was no wifi unless you were a Fairmont member.
High tea was incredible and with our bed and breakfast deal with high tea we each were handed a welcome glass of bubbly ,
We loved The Bengal Room and were so happy that we did not have to drive anywhere to dine and it was fabulous ,, A singer had the most lovely and purest of voices and it enhanced our already wonderful evening.
Breakfast was stellar and we both opted for crab cake bennies as did not know when we would have a chance to try these again. both of us will remember our stay forever .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veganwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. The Bed and Breakfast with Royal Tea has tremenous value and I am glad you had the opportunity to experience it. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all of your meals during your stay. I will be sharing your comments with our food and beverage teams. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our city and all that it has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Simply a beautiful and charming old hotel with a lot of history. Had a waterfront view room that was spectacular. Yes as with any Fairmont hotel it's expensive but we got in on a "stay 2 nights and get a 3rd night free" so it was worth the price. Especially if you stay away from the overpriced tourist traps like High Tea. Exceptional service which we have come to expect from previous Fairmont Hotel stays. Perfect location right on Inner Harbour. Lot's of great bars and restaurants close by. Parking was expensive but typical for a downtown area hotel. Wife and I had room service and split a breakfast one morning. It was more then enough food for 2 people unless you are one of the several portly tourist we saw roaming around. Food was delivered in a timely manner and still warm on arrival. Hotel charges a $5 room delivery charge but that's okay because I would have tipped the same anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest from Texas,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the service that The Fairmont Empress is so well known for. The third night free offer we had has great value and I am glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of it. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. I hope you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent a single night at the wonderful Empress and loved every moment. The night we arrived we had cocktails and the curry buffet in the beautiful Bengal Lounge. Our server, drinks, the curry and the atmosphere were all perfect. The next day we wandered all around the Empress inside and out: from the shops, to the rose gardens and ever to the Empress bee hives. We had dealings with the front desk, the baggage hold and the valet service and all were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doxielvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

While the hotel has an enviable location in Victoria and is kept spotlessly clean, I feel that the rooms (or at least the room in which I stayed) badly needs to be updated. The furnishings, and the bathroom especially, feel very worn and dated. I did like the toiletries, though (shampoo, lotion, etc.).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aller et retour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Fairmont Empress Hotel is charming. It has maintained the classic and beautiful elements of a grand period hotel with modern comfort and conveniences. The star is the Gold Floor where the service is superior, the suite and amenities lovely, and the food exceptional. It was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaemma12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing