We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairmont Empress
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$279
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
$204
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$441
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
$263
$186
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
$184
$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,103)
Filter reviews
4,103 results
Traveler rating
2,193
1,064
488
237
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,193
1,064
488
237
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbengal loungehigh teaafternoon teagold floorbengal roompresident's clubcurry buffettea roomceiling fanold worldbeautiful hotelair conditioningharbor view roomsconesbutchart gardensbritish columbiainner harbor
Filter
Updating list...
3,318 - 3,323 of 4,103 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Liked:

beautiful swimming pool, open from 5 AM until late at night

the location, the ambience, the well-trained and friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Brandon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our fitness centre / pool facilities and the convenient hours of operation. I am pleased that you found both our location and our engaging guest service really added to the enjoyment of your stay. Thank you again for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to the West Coast again.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Fabulous curry buffet! The Bengal room is luxurious with large oversized leather chairs & sofas as well as tables & more upright chairs. Old world atmosphere. Great place for a drink & munchies. Luv it!

Room Tip: Check out the Bengal Lounge curry buffet! Fabulous!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about The Bengal Lounge! You give such a great description of the lounge which offers both lounge-type seating as well as tables and chairs. As you note, it's the perfect place whether you're looking for munchies and drinks, the renowned curry buffet, or a wide selection of a la carte entrees as well. Thank you again for sharing your love for The Bengal Lounge! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here for the marathon in October. Great central location to everything, friendly staff, clean and quiet room. Love the ambience, history & decor of the Empress. Will definitely stay there again the next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buldoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Seattle,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. Congratulations on taking part in the marathon! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only the central location, but also the ambiance of the hotel and our engaging guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back again next October during Marathon weekend.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The exterior building is imposing; the inside is superb... However, the service at the reception is very slow, albeit courteous. The room is smaller than the average hotel at this price. You have to walk miles to get to your room. There was a face cloth left on the floor when I first got in the room. I picked it up... filthy! I wasn't pleased. I phone the reception... no answer. There was an answering machine where I was told to left a message. I did. I had put the face cloth outside with my feet. It was picked up in the morning, but the reception never phoned back. I wasn't expressed. I've checked the room carefully. It was clean, but the carpet is stained. There is no or little insulation. It is difficult to sleep... a lot of noise!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wow what an experence we will never do again,From the time we arrived and the door man dumped our luggage at the front desk and left us to fend for ourselves as the bellmen played slap and tickle at their desk watching us struggle with our luggage.We had an adventure finding our room which was small and not very clean.We went to the bengal room for drinks and the service was awful the staff should spend less time playing at the bar.Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Islanders022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear Valued Guest from Campbell River,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay at The Fairmont Empress. I feel badly that you did not have an enjoyable stay while you were with us. We strive to provide engaging guest service and from your description it sounds as though we fell short in many regards. If you happen to recall your room number, I would greatly appreciate it if you could take a moment and share it with Edward Roe, our Director of Operations (see contact below). It is very important to us that our rooms are very clean and I would like to have our Housekeeping Manager inspect the room because your description is not up to the level of service we strive to provide. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back down to Victoria again.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office

On behalf of
Edward Roe
Director of Operations
edward.roe@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews