We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

room was excellent with quality linens. Service was superb with extra special attention to detail. I asked for a selection of cheese and crackers to be in the room on arrival and the selection was from locally sourced product and very fresh. The breakfast was excellent, well prepared and presented beautifully highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Victoria

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invisiblediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your cheese plate. Yes, the cheese is from Qualicum Beach area, raw milk and fabulous. We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure. Warmest,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
59
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were here for three nights Grandparents parents and children liked it We used the living room for relaxing and playing games. The rooms and batheooms were clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious. It is in walking distance from downtown. We definitely recommend it and would prefer it to a hotel room

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I only can recommend this B&B. Friendly helpfull owners, comfortable rooms and nice home made breakfast. The location is superb: a quiet spot on walking distance from the historical centre. I travelled by car, for which they have a private place available.
Downstairs there's a drawing and dining room you share with the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsDJbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Fisher House is a friendly calm and relaxing bed and breakfast within easy walking distance of downtown Victoria. The interim inn-keeper (Jen was away but left the B&B in very capable hands) was very engaging, went above and beyond our expectations in making us feel welcome and help us find restaurants and places of interest to enhance our stay in Victoria. The breakfasts were delicious and well presented. The room was quiet and tastefully decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will highly recommend the Fisher House to anyone visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A friend and I were running the Victoria Marathon over the 2012 Thanksgiving weekend and I was looking for accommodations for our two families of four. Unlike most bed and breakfasts- Jen did not bat an eye at my request to host us and our children (ranging in age from 8-15).

Fisher House is an exquisite home located in beautiful James Bay just blocks from Dallas Road and the waterfront, and is a short walk to downtown and the inner harbour. We were welcomed by Jen and we had the entire b&b to ourselves for the duration of our stay. The rooms are beautiful, with comfortable beds, lovely linens and towels, and are full of character.

Our first morning, we came downstairs to a beautifully laid table complete with delicious coffee and orange juice. Jen prepared gorgeous blueberry pancakes, and served the kids hot cocoa from their own carafe. Jen was so accommodating for us runners on race day- she was up extra early to feed us and we came down at 7:30am to the best oatmeal I have ever had- served with our choice of dried fruit, nuts for protein, and the ever popular brown sugar and cream. Jen still ensured the rest of our families ate after we left to run our marathon. Jen's job was made more difficult as my husband was also running the 8k race, and our kids were running the kids race- all at different times. Everyone was accommodated and taken care of.

We spent 5 fabulous nights at Fisher House and will be back again. Thank you so much Jen- 6 months of training and planning and Fisher House was the icing on the cake. We had an unforgettable experience.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Fisher House is a lovely B&B in a residential neighborhood, very convenient to downtown Victoria. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. Breakfasts are fabulous: carefully planned, beautifully executed and marvelously tasty. Our family of four enjoyed the casual company of the other guests each morning at breakfast and felt completely at home in the living room each day when we returned from our excursions.

The owner is generous and thoughtful. She is friendly, but never intrusive, which suited us perfectly. We love walking and found the location of this B&B to give us an excellent opportunity to walk to the commercial district each day.

On the day we departed, we needed to leave very early and were cheerfully accommodated with a revised breakfast schedule. Thank you so much, Fisher House owners! We would choose your B&B over any other in Victoria every time! (Sorry it's taken so long to write this review)

Room Tip: We loved our room with in-room bath. But, the rest of our family had a bath across the hall which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fell0wtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Victoria BC in several years, and my husband and I wanted to enjoy the relaxing comfort of a bed and breakfast. We found Fisher House B&B on the web and were enchanted by the accurate photos of the house, including the lovely second floor room with the small balcony, as well as the close proximity to all the harbor area sights and activities. Jen and her husband were delightful hosts, the breakfasts were superb, and the accomodations comfortable. We enjoyed five lovely days there and took in sights and activities near and a bit more distant. We met and chatted with some wonderful persons from other countries and enjoyed learning about like in different lands.

Room Tip: The second floor room with the private balcony is quiet and provides you with the chance to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fisherhouse, Owner at Fisher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Mary, thank you so much for your kind words! It was just a delight getting to know you two. So happy you enjoyed your stay so much. See you next time! Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1K9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Top Ten Bed & Breakfasts in Canada" this year. This 1912 Heritage Home in the heart of James Bay Village in Victoria is walking distance to downtown, Coho Ferry terminals and the Inner Harbour. Enjoy the comfort of a beautiful room, a delicious breakfast and warm hospitality. We are happy to accommodate special dietary needs (gluten, lactose, vegan, vegetarian, etc.) with notice.All our rooms have their own bathrooms (no sharing), some are attached (en-suite), and others are private (3 steps across the hall-robes provided). Come see us in our quiet neighborhood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fisher House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing