We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss out on this”

Kelp Reef Adventures
Ranked #2 of 108 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking is the best way to see Victoria. We specialize in safe, fun and educational kayak tours of Victoria's Harbour and waterfront. Our floating location at Fisherman's Wharf is a 10 minute walk from the cruise ship terminal and 20 minutes from downtown on the scenic boardwalk. We are the closest kayak shop to the Juan de Fuca straight, so when conditions allow, we will paddle along the coast to the kelp forests and an island the harbour seals frequent. Along the way we may see different shore birds like eagles, osprey, oystercatchers, cormorants, and the great blue heron. Starfish, jelly fish and kelp crabs are usually hiding just below the surface. Kayaking is easy and we make it easier by offering paddling jackets, gloves and a bottle of water. Plus on our kayak launch you won't even get your feet wet!
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Don't miss out on this”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Our family had a great time on the evening kayak tour. We were passing through on an Alaskan cruise and this was one of our favorite parts of the trip. Spencer was a great guide; he was thorough and reassuring in his safety instructions, knowledgeable about wildlife, and passionate about nature and kayaking. He was also personable and friendly. The scenery was beautiful, both in full light and coming back at dusk when city hall was fully lit. When we returned, other staff members pitched in to help us park the kayaks and take off our gear. I highly recommend this tour through Kelp Reef.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelpReefAdventures, Owner at Kelp Reef Adventures, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
I'm thrilled to hear kayaking with Kelp Reef Adventures was the highlight of your Alaskan cruise! Spencer, or Bear, once you've paddled with him is such a personable guy and great kayak guide. His enthusiasm for paddling and passion for teaching reflects on everyone he meets. Spencer is completing a diploma in Tourism Management and is majoring in Adventure Tourism. He represents the future of eco adventure tourism and in the 3 seasons he's been at Kelp Reef we have watched him mature and excel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    36
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Kelp Reef Adventures- 2 hour trip”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

I had a great afternoon on the waters near Ogden Point. Plenty of seals in view, and Lucas did a great job explaining the natural history of the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelpReefAdventures, Owner at Kelp Reef Adventures, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Thanks! Ogden point is a kilometre long breakwater that marks the entrance to Victoria's harbour. It's not only where the cruise ships arrive, but a popular scuba diving site. Our favourite kayak destination for our 2 hour kayak tour is directly across the harbour from Ogden Point at Harrison Island where the harbour seals spend most of their time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Kayaking Trip Ever! The Guide's Amazing!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We booked a 2 hour guided kayaking tour down on the wharf with Brad, the owner of Kelp Reef Adventures. Did we get lucky or what? We were the only ones to book a group tour; so we had Brad and his guiding assistant all to ourselves. It was amazing! Ok ... I'll say it ... I'm an old, fat and out of shape lady; with lots of problems with my shoulders and neck; I was so concerned that this would not be doable for me, but wanted to do this tandem trip for my husband.It was amazing! I didn't feel the slightest bit of discomfort! Yeah! We saw endless wildlife (Andrew Parker LOL) and learned so much about the area; it was heavenly! Brad is super respectful about the sea life, we loved that he only took us as close to the animals as he knew we wouldn't disturb them; we loved that level of respect for nature.
What can I say ... if your looking for a great time! Go Kayaking with Kelp Reef Adventures!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelpReefAdventures, Owner at Kelp Reef Adventures, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Thanks Rebecca. You shared a great picture of Jonathan the seagull, he usually only shows up about lunch time! I'm glad you were comfortable. We have great kayaks, they make a couple hours sitting with your legs immobile a breeze. Plus kayaking a double kayak is not difficult when two are doing the work of one. The tips we give you about paddling technique must have helped your neck and shoulders, ideally you would instead feel it in your core.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great first kayaking experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family of 5 (2 adults, kids aged 11,11,7) enjoyed a 2 hour kayaking trip around the harbor. Lucas was our guide and he was great with the kids and very safety conscious. He definitely put us at ease as first time kayakers with kids. He took a photo for us too. We were not able to go to the preferred destination, due to the rough water conditions, but we still had a nice time and saw a couple seals at a distance and a blue heron. We had never kayaked before and was surprised how easy it was. The kayaking tour was our favorite part of visiting Victoria and we would definitely recommend it. If go back to Victoria, we will definitely do another kayaking trip. I like that they provide fresh water in re-useable bottles and sunscreen for those like us, who come unprepared.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Portlandpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelpReefAdventures, Owner at Kelp Reef Adventures, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Thank you for your review. It's important to stay hydrated and protected from the elements, especially with kids on the water. We even offer sunglasses and hats if you want to borrow them. Two hours of paddling can be challenging for younger kids so during the summer we offer family specials, 1/2 price to kids 7 to 12 years old. The family tour travels at a slower pace and makes efforts to not challenge beginner paddlers in wind or waves. I'm glad to hear Lucas did such a good job and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“We watched seals!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were walking around downtown Victoria and we just decided to go kayaking... so me and my husband popped into Fisherman's Wharf and Lucas at Kelp Reef explained very straight forward what their tours were about. We signed up on the spot! I am not for extreme sports, but I felt safe right the way. They were very knowledgeable, patient and explained thoroughly every step we were going to take before heading out on the water, including what to expect in terms of wild life, weather conditions and the traffic going out into the sea. Victoria's harbour is one of the busiest in North America, however, we took a trip safe and in a good pace crossing from one point to the other. It was actually cool to see the planes landing and taking off the water from up close! We took many pictures. Lucas made sure we had all the equipment and gear to keep our cameras dry and provided us with jackets (it was a little windy). We saw seals and a sea otter from a very short distance, we could almost touch them! It was a great 2hr adventure. Affordable, fun and exhilarating.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelpReefAdventures, Owner at Kelp Reef Adventures, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Thanks for your recommendation! I'm glad you came across our shop at Fisherman's Wharf, it's an exciting place during the summer. Our location at Fisherman's Wharf is a perfect starting point for our kayak tours. There's the chance to fuel yourself on fresh fish tacos, sushi, or chowder beforehand or reward yourself after with an ice cream or mini donuts. Feed a seal or explore the float homes but don't miss the sunken garden and kids playground in the attached park.
Ocean kayaking is not an extreme sport! By monitoring the conditions on the water and choosing the right route we make it easy and so much fun! You'll have to check out our 1/2 price ladies night tours every Tuesday and Thursday during the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelp Reef Adventures also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Kelp Reef Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing