We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating find in Victoria.”

Legislative Dining Room
Ranked #28 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating find in Victoria.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

You will need photo id, exchanged at security for a pass, to gain access. Often but not allways one might need to reserve ahead. They serve breakfast and lunch. This "now being discovered" restaurant is in the basement of the BC legislature buildings in Victoria. The decor is a 1950's restoration of a turn of the century (Victorian) room. The food is quite adequate, from club house, to a roast, to hamburger and fries, it is licensed. A most interesting glimpse at the BC legislature!

Helpful?
4 Thank Riverdale114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrific cafe in a very interesting location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Visit the Legislative Dining Room for excellent food at very reasonable prices! You will need your passport - this is a government building and you have to show ID. We visited the small gift shop and enjoyed some of the exhibits before going downstairs to the cafe. I think it is open only for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReisenistmeinHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

A visit to this dining room in the basement of the provincial legislature building is really a treat. The food is sensational and at the perfect temperature. The decor is excellent. The service was second to none (thanks, Christine.) The price was right. Check for times and make a reservation. We ate at many restaurants during our week in Victoria, but this lunch was the best dining experience we had.
P.S. Guys, don't miss the antique, marble urinals in the john down the hall.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Canada_Reals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Entering the Legislative Buildings for lunch requires a piece of photo ID and a good sense of direction. Somehow, we found our way into the basement of the building, arriving at an elegant but small Victorian period fine dining room. When the Legislative Assembly is in session, the opening hours to the public are 11:30 to 1:00, otherwise you have time for a more leisurely lunch.

There is a daily fresh sheet along with the regular menu. The menu provides a good variety. You would be hard pressed to not be able to find something good to eat. The servers were attentive and experienced.

My meal was the daily special: tortilla soup and beef stirfry. The food was fresh and attractively presented, definitely appetizing, definitely chef prepared. The slightly smaller portions were matched by reasonable prices. Having room for dessert, I chose the chocolate cake with a touch of whipped cream and an artistic flourish of raspberry coulis which was a great choice. The wine list contained enough choices to please most palates.

There are some windows around the room but no actual view. The fun is in the novelty of the dining room and the enjoyment is in the expertly prepared dishes.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MuftiVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Modern food in a traditional setting at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Enjoy a free tour around the State Parliament building and then go here for lunch. You are asked for photo ID but we were let in with other ID. The menu is posted outside the building where the tours start and includes a mixture of salads, paninis and full meals. I had a bean soup and goats cheese salad, my husband had jerk beef, both of which were excellent. Service is excellent and there are linen tablecloths etc. We would have gone back again if we had been there longer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ajh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legislative Dining Room also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Legislative Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing