We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fishy chips!”

Old Vic English Fish & Chips
Ranked #432 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: This place has been serving victoria since 1930 and is a bit of an institution.I bought it in jan2013 and we are going to keep it going strong for manny more years to come.I am from wales in the U.K and have worked in and owned fish and chips shops for most of my years so when the old vic was up for sale it went without saying that it was perfect.We will be keeping the original fish and chips but adding some british additions to our new menu.We are in the process of having some work done as old vic looks a bit tired i.e a new paint and floors etc.. but all in small stages.We will keep with the original look as i think after talking to our guests that they love the old place so not to many changes.Please come and see us and give us your feedback we would love to hear from you thanksPaul
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy fishy chips!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We dropped in here with our brood of boys and each had a nice lunch. Our waitress was the owners sister recently from Wales and she was sweet and friendly! It's got an old fashioned feel and the portions were generous. We enjoyed our afternoon at Vic's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schmotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Frozen in Time...”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I beat the lunch crowd on a Monday. The place is well-kept, and the decor is virtually IDENTICAL to how it was 30 years ago. Also, the halibut and chips haven't changed a bit. Service was fast, friendly and efficient, and the coffee was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm__j__ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphine, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“authentic and tasty”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food was great but the nicest thing about the place was the very pleasant and helpful server. We told her we were looking for Abzeckie (sp) garden and needed to find its location. We didnt mean for her to research that but she did and returned with good directions. Above and beyond!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I went for the cod and my wife went for the Halibut. Both were excellent! My wife substituted salad for the chips and it was fine. I really liked the coleslaw and the peas. Very authentic and very tasty!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJRinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't order salad”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I ordered a salad with halibut but my order came as 1 PC halibut with salad. The server was new so I forgave that and decided to have the meal. The halibut was excellent! My daughter ordered 2 PC halibut with a split of fries and salad. Again her halibut was excellent. Both our salads were not edible. They smelled like freon, the cucumbers looked like they had been frozen and the lettuce was limp and tasted awful. We complained and had the price of our meals reduced but they said they would continue to serve the salads!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vic English Fish & Chips also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Old Vic English Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing