We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Victoria
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Orca Spirit Adventures
from $106.39
More Info
from $106.39
More Info
from $121.01
More Info
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
728
127
42
40
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
728
127
42
40
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching sea lions covered boat zodiac boat top deck their natural habitat killer whales great trip see whales survival suits hour trip marine wildlife an amazing experience bucket list race rocks vancouver island saw seals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dress warm, and enjoy not only the beautiful scenery but the whales! We were disappointed to not see orcas but it was a great tour. Stopping at the lighthouse and seeing all the seals & sea lions was awesome!

1  Thank jjcoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrcaSpirit, Sales Coordinator at Orca Spirit Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there jjcoffman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your covered vessel tour with us and that you were able to see some of our beautiful local wildlife, including Humpback whales, Seals, and Sea Lions!

If you haven't already, be sure to check out the photos taken on your tour - they are free to download on Flickr! Just search 'Orca Spirit Adventures' on Flickr, and the photo albums are organized by tour date and time.

Thank you for joining us and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Orca Spirit Adventures Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

We got to see several times for 2-3 seconds a fin of an Orca from a distance of approx. 200m. No other whales. Not even possible to take a picture. Our captain seemed to be mostly too late on the right place. All other boats were in the vicinity of animals, but every time as we came the Orca was away. The company gives a guarantee by no seeing whales the second free tour. We tried to make a use of it, but they said we had seen the orca. And this adventure costed 250$ for two. To see a fin from no less than 200m. The biggest flop and tourist rip off of our holidays.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrcaSpirit, Sales Coordinator at Orca Spirit Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Anna,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience on your recent whale watching tour. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

Leaving from Victoria’s inner harbour, we stopped by at Race Rocks Marine Lighthouse as our first destination. Race Rocks is a marine protected area, the southern-most point of Vancouver Island, and home to a number of marine birds, sea lions, and a single male otter – Ollie! While there, the captain received a report of T049C, “Janet”, a mammal hunting Bigg’s killer whale, and so off we went! During our encounter with him, he surfaced over a dozen times and, despite the choppy conditions, we even had a unique view of him approaching our vessel head on.

All vessels on the water abide by the laws and regulations set by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and guidelines set by the Pacific Whale Watching Association (PWWA). As per these guidelines, we are able to view transient mammal-hunting killer whales from a distance of 200m. Our captains are trained in manoeuvering the vessel to ensure compliance and viewing opportunities for all guests located in different locations on the vessel. We are committed to respectful wildlife viewing and follow these regulations. Additional information can be found on our website as well as the Pacific Whale Watching Associations website.

As the whales and wildlife we encounter during our tours are wild, every tour is a unique experience, with no two departures ever being the same. Whale behaviour is always changing and is not influenced by the time of day or weather conditions - they can even travel up to 100km in one day in search of their next meal. Victoria is one of the best places to view whales in the wild and we are disappointed that you were not satisfied with your experience. Our whale guarantee is not specific to any certain species or criteria for sightings behaviour, and is available for those guests who are on a tour where the whales are more elusive and unfortunately are not spotted.

We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Victoria. You can check out our Flickr page for photos that our naturalists took during your tour, Trip Advisor does not allow links but I have put the link to the album on the facebook response for you.

If you have any questions or would like to continue this discussion, please do not hesitate to contact me at rebeca@orcaspirit.com.

Kind regards,
Rebeca
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019

We'd previously done whale watching in Victoria (in May) and got shut out -- no whales seen. This visit was in late September, and we got to observe a pod of transient Orcas. This was quite a thrill, and we got lots of great pictures. There was other wildlife, too -- mostly seals and birds -- but we were there for the whales.

The boat was covered and had a spacious "inside", which was quite important this time of year, because the ride was cold and windy. The guides were *very* knowledgable. The one I spoke with had a degree in Marine Biology, and I think the other guides did, as well. And they shared some very professional photos with us for free. (Note that the photo in this review is my own, amateur, photo -- ones taken by the crew were much better.)

Highly recommended, but go in a month (May was too early) when transient Orcas are around to increase your chances of a sighting.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Chip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrcaSpirit, Sales Coordinator at Orca Spirit Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Chip,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Orca Spirit Adventures.

We're so glad that the whales were not so elusive this time and that you were able to see orcas, seals, and other marine wildlife - What a treat!
Thank you for the mention of our naturalists; they are incredibly passionate about what they do, so they will appreciate your kind feedback!

As well as the photos, I would also suggest checking out our Captain's Blog on our website - The blogs are a great source of information and go over the sightings from every tour.

Thank you for joining us, and we hope to welcome you onboard again soon!

Sincerely,
Rebeca
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019

My first ever whale watching experience and it was even better than I expected. The staff were all extremely friendly and knowledgable, I learned a ton and had a blast even though I went by myself. Adrian hit me with fun facts for the entire time and Taylor took incredible photos with a nice camera so I could enjoy the experience without bothering with taking pictures on my phone. Will definitely go again next time I'm in Victoria and would 100% recommend to anyone looking to get out on the water!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Cal4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrcaSpirit, Sales Coordinator at Orca Spirit Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Cal4747,

Thank you for sharing your review with us!

We are so honored to be a part of your first ever whale watching experience! Our crew is extremely passionate about educating our guests, so we are glad that you were able to soak up some of Adrian and Taylor's knowledge.

If you haven't already, don't forget to check out the photos taken from your tour! All albums are organized by date and time of tour. Just search "Orca Spirit Adventures" on Flickr.

Thank you so much for joining us and we can't wait to have you back!

All the best,
Rebeca
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019

Obviously from the title you will deduce that we saw lots of Whales - clearly you can be unlucky however the zodiacs have the speed to reach places where there are sightings - would do this one again

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrcaSpirit, Sales Coordinator at Orca Spirit Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent whale watching tour on Trip Advisor!
We're so glad that you had an outstanding trip and that you saw lots of whales!

We hope to see you on board again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Rebeca & The Orca Spirit Adventures Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews