We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinatown tour”

Ghostly Walks Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.42*
and up
Ghostly Walking Tour in Victoria
Ranked #22 of 108 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Behind Victoria's old-world charm lie tales of eccentric characters, heroic deeds, intrigue, love, hangings, murder and GHOSTS!Ghostly Walks tours are scheduled year-round, they last 90 minutes and take place rain or shine.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Chinatown tour”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent tour of Chinatown - our guide was very knowledgeable, and had interesting little tidbits and stories to tell! Very much enjoyed the tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLS99154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    69
    19
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting walk along Victoria's 'spooky history'...”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This walk/tour lends to a very well researched historical lesson of a 'haunted' Victoria that I didn't know existed... The beauty & energy of downtown/waterfront Victoria by day becomes literally haunting at night. Walking along the streets and hearing the stories seems to immerse you in the past - our guide and his presentation of the information made each story very real and very 'present' - well done! I would recommend the experience of this tour for first time visitors to Victoria - having been on it already, once is enough - unless an individual feels like they might have missed something the first time. We didn't.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StefLAnd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do tour for paranormal/ghostly interests!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

John Adam's owns and operates his Ghostly Walks tours in Victoria BC starting at the Visitor's center during the evening at all times of the year, occurring more frequently in the summer tourism season, but offering different seasonal tours throughout the year, like Ghosts of Christmas Past, in December and of course special events in October for Halloween.

I'm a bit of a frequent "walker" of the Ghostly Walks Tours and have been on several different routes to hear the different tales. Though I prefer taking the tours with Mr. Adams as the guide, he also has an equally talented staff that guide the tours on the more busy tour nights and during the summer. While I can't say I have experience or seen a ghost with my own eyes I have captured a ghost on film while I was on one of John's "special" and limited time tours that occurred in my area.

Mr. Adams is not only a bit of a specialist on ghosts and the paranormal, he is also a local historian and knows alot about the city and it's past. As a local historian he also offers historical walking tours for those who are uninterested in the paranormal and ghosts.

I very much enjoy the Ghostly Walks tours and the history. Even if you are a skeptic the tours are fun just to hear the history and stories. Ghosts, after all, were once living people, so the stories behind them are true, regardless if you believe they have come back from the grave to haunt us or not. So even skeptics may enjoy hearing the history and some of the darker and mysterious events of Victoria's past. But skeptics beware, they are often the ones who end up having "ghostly" experiences!

The Ghostly Walks regular tours do not employ special effects or anything of that nature, so all experiences you may or may not have on the tour are real. They also offer the occasional extreme walking tour which is a fair bit longer and DOES employ some special effects for that added spookiness and atmosphere. If you wish to go on the extreme tours you need to register in advance. For the regular tours though you just have to show up at the visitor's center about a half hour ahead of time.

Because the tours are all downtown near the harbour be sure to bundle up as the winds off the ocean can be quite chilly at night, though in the summer just a light jacket will be fine in, but for the rest of the year be sure to dress warm.

Make certain to use the bathroom or purchase any water or other drinks you might need before the walk as there are no bathroom stops or snack/drink stops. The tour does stop in front of specific buildings to tell the history of the hauntings and local stores are open along the routes, but you could miss out on the parts of the tour and chance losing your group if you need to disappear into a store to use the restroom or grab a drink. Also Ghostly Walks accepts cash only so be sure to stop at the bank or atm before you head down to the meeting place. I am uncertain if they accept American currency or not so call ahead to find out or be sure to stop at a currency exchange earlier in the day to be on the safe side.

While some tours are family friendly if you are planning to bring younger children on the tour be sure to phone ahead to find out which tours and when to go since some of the tours are more descriptive in the violent histories and are not well suited for families with younger children, so to be safe, call ahead to find out which tour(s) is(are) the best match for you and your family.

Your tour will not end back at the visitors center where the tour started, so be prepared to to do some walking after the tour is over. Ghostly Walks also sells a book written by Mr. John Adams that talk about the ghosts of Victoria and bastion square in the area of $15 (I think) at the end of the tour if you are interested in a souvenir. If you happen to have John for your tour guide you can even have him auto-graph it!

All-in-all, the Ghostly Walks tours are a great bargain and a great way to spend an and hour and a half to two hours in the evening in downtown Victoria. As I mentioned I have been on several of the tours and some of the tours I've been on several times, but I enjoy them every single time. For those with an interest in the paranormal or spirits, it is a must do to hear about Victoria's paranormal past and current events. Since there are several different routes (in the summer a different route every night!) with reasonable rates it is worth going multiple times!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Had a Hauntingly Happy Hike!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas ghost tour. You always learn something new and interesting on these tours and we were not disappointed. Very enjoyable and the guide, John Adams, brought the stories to life and left us wanting no hear more. Unfortunately I didn't see any ghosts but maybe next time!
Well worth the time and a great way to spend an evening in Victoria.

Helpful?
Thank Murpholocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“well researched and presented”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

John Adams, founder of the business, has worked with the B.C. heritage community for many decades. He's a masterful storyteller and interpreter of the past.

Each year Discover the Past Tours participates in the 'Be a Tourist in Your Hometown' end of February/ early March event and offers free tours. It's a great way to be introduced to an area of downtown, Market Square.

The walks are reasonably priced and open your eyes to the layers of history in Victoria.

John collects information about various experiences people continue to have in various hotels and venues in Victoria.

If you are sensitive to the spirit world, you can choose your hotel experience and perhaps encounter some of the characters that make up the history of Victoria.

This is not a scary experience and kids who want the ghosts to jump out them might be disappointed...until they go to try and go to sleep that night.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghostly Walks Walking Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ghostly Walks Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing