We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful British style B&B, wonderful hostess & breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Pirouette B&B
Ranked #17 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful British style B&B, wonderful hostess & breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

Vctoria is perhaps the most British city in North America, and the Cottage Pirouette is a British style B&B, meaning you are sharing a home wih the hostess instead of the American style where a grand old house is renovated to Victorian grandeur and the hosts live offsite. Don't get me wrong - the accomodations are very nice, and the family keeps to the back of the house. We very much enjoyed visiting with the other guests and the hostess is wonderful too, going out of her way to meet every need. The breakfasts were outstanding, the rooms very comfortable. One morning, we had scones (to die for), bacon & sausage and scrambled eggs. The other morning, we had the choice of Japanese style breakfast or pancakes, eggs, bacon & sausage. (She took orders.)

I would much rather stay at the Cottage Pirouette than an American style B&B, the value is much better, and you'll get a much better feel for the real Victoria!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcpalmer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    30
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
37
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was my second stay at the Pirouette. The first time was with my son in Sept/09 when he and I were taking sailing instruction. In May my wife and I stayed for a night after a bumpy seven hours on the West Coast Trail Express bus. Lorraine is a wonderful hostess. Her home is relaxing and friendly and a short bus ride to where ever you may wish to go in Victoria. We will certainly stay at the Pirouette again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcolax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

From the moment we met Lorraine and were welcomed into her home, we knew we were in the right place for our stay... Mom and Dad enjoyed a king sized suite with a sunny window overlooking the front garden, and I was next door in the Rose Room, with the soothing sight and sound of the Japanese-styled waterfall and garden. Breakfasts were wonderful, and accommodated the diabetic diet for us. There were accommodations for our own tea and snack preparation (important to us, on a budget for this trip), and the home is friendly and quiet... I look forward to returning, and am happy to have found a new friend in Lorraine.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brend_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

The breakfasts were fantastic, we stayed here for a few nights and woke up to something different every day for breakfast.
Cottage Pirouette is located in a quiet suburb only a short drive away from downtown Victoria.
The ocean is a short walk away and there are some good walking trails nearby which are perfect for an evening stroll.
Lorraine was approachable, friendly and full of useful information about the surrounding area. Overall a great host.

Cottage Pirouette allowed me to have a great stay in Victoria and I will surely be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada-KiwiEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

My biking friends (there were 18) and I stayed at Piroutte cottage and were treated like royalty. Lorraine had biking info, best places to eat, a great biker's breakfast, and good sites to visit during our stay on the Island. Unlike some places, Lorraine was truly interested in our group. We BBQed in her back yard and she volunteered to take three of our riders off to the morning ferry 30 minutes down the road before the sun rose. Truly above and beyond. The prices were extremely fair. The best part is Lorraine continues to stay in contact. I know our paths will cross again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Excellent location - bus stop outsite with bus straight to downtown Victoria or 7 minutes in your car. Plus very close to wonderful seaside park, boat launch and rock climbing. Lovely hosts - Lorraine and her children were wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and catered to our individual needs. Great selection of rooms - whether you're on your own, with your spouse, your Mum, your friend or you're a family with children, you'll find a room that's right for you. Very competitive prices makes travelling in a larger group much more affordable too. We were a party of eight people, ranging from 4 months to 74 yrs old and look forward to staying again when we next visit Victoria. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I have nothing to be critical of regarding Lorraine and Cottage Pirouette. The stay was just what my cricket team and I wanted. Great rooms to rest at night, close to Victoria's harbour, a quiet, clean neighbourhood, and above all, a kind, welcoming host whose tips and suggestions were right on the mark. We like it so much that we've booked in to stay for our next tour this year. Meals were hearty, with something for everyone. The rooms and house as a whole were nothing but charming. We enjoyed our stay very much and encourage anyone else to make a smart decision about staying in Victoria and to give Lorraine a call!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradgibson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Pirouette B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Pirouette B&B

Property: Cottage Pirouette B&B
Address: 401 Lampson St, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Victoria's famous sites, 4 minute walk to the beach and walking trails. A beautiful harbourside walkway into town, or convenient bus at front door. Recreation centre and shopping plaza just a 5 minute walk away. Quiet neighbourhood, friendly hosts.Plenty of free parking and safe bicycle storage area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing