We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious”

Pizzeria Prima Strada
Ranked #58 of 1,204 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $48
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Authentic Neapolitan Pizza. At Prima Strada, we're passionate for the fire-roasted pizzas born in Naples, Italy. We pay homage to our Italian roots with a commitment to simple, fresh ingredients on traditional wood-fired, thin crust pizza. Join us for wood-fired pizza, seasonal salads, cocktails, craft beer, Italian wine by the glass, house made gelato and caffe!
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The pizzas are to die for. All of their meats are homemade and the olives are yummy. Pleasant staff and warm atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julianna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    136
    33
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I ordered a Salsiccia Piccante and liked it because of the nice thin crust and also because it wasn't oily at all. Will go there again on my next trip to Victoria

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Tehrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pizza fantastic”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This small restaurant has the best thin crust pizza I have ever eaten. The ingredients are fresh and they do not scrimp on them. The service was very good and it is also vegan friendly. It is worth a short walk as parking is tight in this trendy area of Victoria. The 3 of us all had different pizzas and tried each other's and they were all good with mine the one with prosciutto and I added mushrooms. The red onion on it was really tasty and it really seemed like they took personal care with each one. This was my first time but not my guests as they had recommended it. I now know why. I will definitely be back and the price is fair ( +_ 15.00) and we all took 2 pieces home) give it a try and I am sure you will agree.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderful58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite as good as on previous occasions”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I really like Neapolitan-style pizza and enjoy travelling down the island to Victoria to have some at this pizzeria, and have done so for many years now.

This time, to start with, we had the mixed olives and the “Insalata Rucola e Coppa” salad. The olives were nice and firm and flavourful. Unfortunately, with the salad, the “Caesar salad”-like dressing on the arugula overpowered the flavour of the green, and the locally-made coppa had almost no taste and was not recognizable as coppa.

The pizza is usually very good, and was again on this occasion, with the one small exception being that the crust of the first of the two pizzas (“Margherita” and “Rucola e Crudo”) was too thin (much thinner than usual), but the second pizza was perfect. Apart from that, they were both delicious.

Next we had some pistachio gelato and “Campari” grapefruit sorbetto, both of which were excellent – very refreshing and tasty.

We like to finish our meal in the traditional Italian way with espresso, and so ordered two. Once they arrived and we tasted them, we immediately noticed that they were very sour (i.e. too much acid), and explained this to the server, asking her if she would please remake them. When the replacements arrived, they had exactly the same problem, and so we left the coffee undrunk, and it did not appear on our bill. We asked which brand of coffee it was, and once we knew, we suspected that it was the brand of coffee at fault rather than the espresso machine or the person who made them, as we had the same experience with this brand of coffee in other restaurants.

Overall, the service was fairly good, except that the reaction to our concerns about the coffee could have been at least courteous.

We do realize that a restaurant cannot be expected to be perfect all the time, and so we do plan on continuing to return to this restaurant for their delicious pizza, and hope that the coffee may change at some point in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValerioRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wood fired pizza - a great change of pace during our visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our host at our hotel recommended this place. It was a 10 minute walk from where we stayed. In a small neighborhood urban area, Pizzeria Prima Strada was the perfect place for us to have our final meal in Victoria. Pizzas were tasty and the salads were fresh. Definitely recommend and would go back when in Victoria again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgoudeseun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Prima Strada also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Pizzeria Prima Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing