We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food 5 Stars, Service 2 Stars”

Pizzeria Prima Strada
Ranked #61 of 1,204 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $48
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Authentic Neapolitan Pizza. At Prima Strada, we're passionate for the fire-roasted pizzas born in Naples, Italy. We pay homage to our Italian roots with a commitment to simple, fresh ingredients on traditional wood-fired, thin crust pizza. Join us for wood-fired pizza, seasonal salads, cocktails, craft beer, Italian wine by the glass, house made gelato and caffe!
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Food 5 Stars, Service 2 Stars”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I wish another restaurant made pizza as good as Pizzeria Prima Strada. The room was icy cold. When we inquired about the heating, we were told, without apology that the heating was not working.
We had a beet salad (delicious) for an appetizer. When our pizza arrived, we had to ask for clean plates. I didn't feel it was unreasonable to ask so we could enjoy the pizza on clean plates, but the server's attitude seemed to us to be annoyed. When the pizza was served, our water glasses were not refilled and when we asked, it seemed to be another inconvenience to the server. We had other beverages, but wanted more water.
We were not offered spicy oil or any other condiments. We were so cold that we didn't order dessert as we had planned. The freshly sliced prosciutto ham was perfect and the arugula that topped our pizza was fresh. Maybe we'll wait until summer and get take out, but we are tempted to try the other pizzeria that makes wood fired oven pizza. It is noisy in the Cook Street location, but we do not mind as it is an open kitchen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    136
    33
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best pizza in victoria”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Prima Strada has two locations. If you are closer to west Victoria (say, downtown) don't forget Bridge Street. Perhaps more open spaced an noisy, the original Cook Street location can be very busy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WaterfrontDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“family get together”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Families met for traditional italian pizza evening was great and authentic. Atmosphere is what simple, service was friendly and the food was classic italian.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank riverboat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We ate here 3 times during our stay at the Beaconsfield Inn!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We brought our 26 year old son here to give us the lowdown on the pizza. Result-fabulous. We all agreed that the food was delicious. The meatball appetizer was yummy! Had it twice. We loved the salads. They seem to change which is good. We had the special pizza once and it was great. All the pizzas were fresh and right out of the wood-burning oven. We never had dessert but it did look good. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return one day. Also, the location on Cooke Street is good. Very positive experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Victoria!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

They have amazing authentic pizza. It is a great place for dining in or grabbing take out. The restaurant is fairly small so there can be a little bit of a wait to get a table. Their take out wait time is usually 15-20 minutes. My food has always been ready at the appointed time. I don't think they have anything bad on their menu. The food is fresh and tasty. My favourite pizza is Panna E Pancetta.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Prima Strada also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Pizzeria Prima Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing