We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Island Tour”
Review of Ocean River Sports

Ocean River Sports
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.20*
and up
Victoria Harbour Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come enjoy the ultimate Victoria Kayaking Experience with Ocean River Adventures. Located in Victoria’s Inner Harbour kayaking is a great way to explore our historic city. Join us on one of our Urban Kayak tours or Sunset Tour. We also offer an Oak Bay Shoreline Kayaking Tour as well as our unique Discovery Island Kayak or Nature Hiking Tour. Offering expeditions, tours and courses throughout the Vancouver Island region, our guests will experience all the wild West Coast has to offer. Hands-on education about water and marine conservation is a key theme and we only employ certified guides that respect sensitive ecosystems and species while teaching about the importance of ocean sustainability, preservation and conservation. Victoria’s premier paddling and outdoor adventure company. Want to try something different? We are also a premium stand up paddle tour operator in the southern Vancouver Island and Victoria region.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Victoria, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Discovery Island Tour”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Getting out to Discovery Island is something that not even many residents of Victoria get to do. Thanks to Brian Henry and the staff at ORS for a great day out on the water, first in the Discovery Shuttle, and then in kayaks cruising around Discovery Island. Saw lots of eagles, seals, and a couple of otters. One member of the group found some wolf scat. That was pretty cool. The finale was a stop at the Snug pub at Oak Bay Beach Hotel. Loved it all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank canadiansoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRiverAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are so glad you had a great time! Discovery Island certainly is a hidden gem, right within sight of shore! Love hearing about your wildlife encounters too - what a great experience your group had!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    23
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“lesson”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

the instructors where fantastic, they had me doing things i never thought possible, and enjoy doing them, the day was very informative and rewarding , i can not express my appreciation enough for their knowledge and perseverance, would advise any one thinking of taking up kayaking to take this course

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well worth a paddle”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

friendly, knowledgeable staff and new, safe equipment. a great way to explore the harbour and get a unique perspective on Victoria from the water. no experience necessary and a good time is inevitable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DontSuffokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Well Done!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

While in Kauai I passed on the opportunity to Paddle board as I wanted to be sure I was paddling correctly. After spending just 3 hours with the instructor Gary at Ocean River , not only do I feel confident enough to Paddle Board in Hawaii, but I want to take my 4 year old out here in Victoria!!
Awesome and thorough! Lot's of fun. I felt one with the water in no time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlissPrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Support for Excessive Amounts of Students”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We basically rented the fleet from these guys, plus paid partial fees in the form of a subsidy. They were super supportive, flattened rates for everyone, gave a great short-but-sweet training sesh and were, well, downright pleasant.

Awesome facilitation of a rad Saturday afternoon--highly recommended, as the Inner Harbour & the Esquimalt Gorge are beautiful areas with some sick seals!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BashOnABike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean River Sports also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ocean River Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing