We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean hostel, poor info”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of HI Victoria Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Victoria Hostel
Wervik, Belgium
1 review
“clean hostel, poor info”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Mixed feelings on this one. Good location, clean and comfortable with decent beds. A bit of a weird setup for washrooms though, but ok.
Staff however, something else. They're friendly enough but don't ask them anything. They'll send you to the most expensive store, recommend overpriced restaurants and just basically assume you have too much money to spend. But if you do want to go somewhere else and ask them about it, rather than admitting they don't know where something is, you'll find yourself on a wild goose-chase.
Finally, their info on just about anything is outdated. I'm writing this sitting in the fery terminal where the boat was supposed to leave in 15 minutes. But no, make it a 2 hour wait and pay a few bucks more. Should have used their internet more and figured things out myself!

So yeah: nice place, poor info

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwanssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_VictoriaMgr, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay. Please be assurred that our information boards are updated on a regular and frequent basis. After checking our BC Ferrry information board I can find no "wrong Information" I do know that during the May long weekend BC Ferries cancelled 3 sailings due to mechanical problems which was totally out of our control. I have added the information that you must be at the ferry dock at least 15 minutes before sailing time otherwise BC Ferries will make you wait for the next ferry ( in case this is what resulted in your waiting time)
I assure you that all the staff here pride themselves on being helpful and have never assummed our guests "have too much money to spend" If the stores or restauraunts were "expensive" then I apologize for misunderstanding your questions at the front desk. We are currently training some new staff and obviously need to do a better job about the info we share with our guests, making sure it is correct and a reflection of our guests requests.
Sincere apologies for the difficulties and misunderstandings that seemed to happen. Again thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to "do better" for our guests
R Mark Holland-Manager-HI Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    34
    20
    13
See reviews for
4
10
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hostel was okay. kind of standard hardly got any sleep. if you are looking for short term quick stay then this is the right place for that

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estellee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Was what you would expect from most HI hostels, clean, strict drinking policy and common areas that are comforting with a hint of library vibe in some areas. Staff was friendly and very helpful to point out places to eat and check out. Was nervous with the size of the male dorm room but it was actaully nothing to worry about. The washroom and showers were clean and tidy. Didnt use the kitchen, but it looked fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didge77canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The only place with beds BC-day. 40-bed dorms are huge, worked though, but not very good value for money. No breakfast etc. but nice staff. Interesting clientele, definitely not a party place and high average age of guests. Totally OK last resort when everything is booked out for a last-minute getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had been travelling across Canada via train from Ottawa and staying in hostels most of the time. This one wasn't bad but it was the worst one we stayed in. I think the building itself lends to a sort of isolation between the floors and the rooms. The common areas are more open and are OK. Our room was extremely small and there were no shelves or anything for your stuff.

The staff couldn't give us much help on places to eat and at time there was a woman there who seemed to be upset when we needed to ask her a question.

I will stay somewhere else when I am in town next even though I have an HI membership.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in April 2011 and found it was 'ok'. It was undergoing a major renovation which the hostel closed for 3 weeks so a lot of thing could have changed since I stayed there. It looked a bit old on the outside and it isn't any different inside. The Staff at the front desk is very nice and helpful. The dorms were 20-bed dorm, I don't know if that has changed too!? We were about 6 women in the dorm. The only down turn about the hostel is that the room I stayed in was horribly cold and it seemed there was no isolation from the windows at all. Washrooms and showers were clean though. In defence for the hostel I have to say though that it is probably good value because you're not there to stay in your room all day. Location is brilliant and everything is close. I would probably choose it again for another stay even more now that they've renovated it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed in an 8 bed dorm, but we were the oly ones it there. The room was large with big solid beds, but it needed a bit of work doing. There was nothing wrong with the room and the bathroom was cleaned hard every day.

The kitchen was large and well stocked and the free WI-Fi is always a bonus. The whole hostel just needed a bit of an updating (which it said, it WAS getting). The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Victoria Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Victoria Hostel

Property: HI Victoria Hostel
Address: 516 Yates St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing