We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
38
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff street parkingjames bayguest living roomexcellent hostsexploring victoriarooms were very cleanyogurtwalking distanceharbouraccommodationsmuseum
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 39 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

The Marifield House is officially your "too-good-to-be-true" option.

My partner and I found their honeymoon suite (room #1) for an August stay, with prices below $160 and a short walk downtown. Everywhere else I checked was either far outside the city or charging upwards of $250.

At the point of booking, we figured we had already won, but that was just the beginning with David and Toshie! There are so many pleasant surprises with this house: the fragrant garden, the luscious bed, David's wry sense of humour. David and Toshie were not only hosts, but people we wanted to get to know.

(For any vegetarians reading, I can also vouch for their satisfying breakfast accommodations.)

While Victoria is an easy place to see only once, my partner and I decided we would consider visiting again just to return to the Marifield House. We adored everything about our stay and didn't break the bank -- even during "high season".

Room Tip: The washroom in Room 1 is a couples' dream
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights' stay at Marifield House. Our hosts, Toshie and David, were delightful, our room was spacious and comfortable, our breakfasts sumptuous. The location was ideal, a mere four blocks from the Empress Hotel and the heart of Victoria. James Bay is a great place for walking (interesting architecture); Beacon Hill Park is just a few blocks to the east. The B&B is also close to public transportation (BCTransit) as well as buses to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

We reserved a two night stay at Marifield House in the James Bay area of Victoria, BC.
Our room (#1) was very comfortable and spotless. It included a comfortable queen sized bed, reading lamps, two wingback armchairs, a small TV, a large bathroom with double shower. The room had beautiful afternoon sunshine. The owners were friendly, willing to answer any request and served a hearty breakfast. The house was built in 1920 and is full of antiques and surrounded by lush gardens. It has off street parking and is a ten minute walk to the inner harbour and the center of downtown. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room #1 gets afternoon sun and is very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happytrails523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We spent six nights at Marifield House B & B and look forward to returning in future visits to Victoria. David and Toshie greeted us with a warm welcome and we left feeling like old friends. The house is situated in a perfect location within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, shopping, Beacon Hill Park - everything you need. The rooms are comfortable and spotless. David and Toshie went out of their way to provide us with varied artful and delicious breakfasts, helpful advice, and local history which made us feel pampered and special. Believe all the reviews. David and Toshie and the Marifield House are real gems!

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank GailO96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Marifield House B & B is a lovely vintage home, so very clean and accommodating, in a fantastic convenient location within walking distance to many desirable sights. The artistic presentation of the breakfast is beyond description and the quality and abundance of food is amazing. We stayed two nights and our relatives stayed six nights and we have no complaints, only compliments and kudos to the wonderful owners who operate this lovely B&B, David and Toshie.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews