We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our four days at OBH. The food was excellent, the service great, especially enjoyed Dylan who served us breakfast....we were waiting to be joined by relatives and it was 11:15, past breakfast service and he went out of his way and asked the kitchen to hold breakfast for us. All the staff were friendly and gracious. I had a facial, pedicure and a couples 90 minute Massage, water aerobics and yoga and enjoyed each and everyone of them.
The check inn staff remembered my husbands name and it was nice to meet Kevin and Michelle.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and because of the foyer entry, we had no hallway noise.....great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

We enjoyed a getaway close to home, and were impressed with every aspect of this charming hotel. Both the food and movie selection at the Dinner Theatre were wonderful. The pools are simply stunning; the best part about them was that the hotel encourages a peaceful, quiet atmosphere in and around the water. Such a treat! We headed over to the Snug Pub after our pool experience, and even though the kitchen was closed, the server brought us chips and salsa for a snack, on the house. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and elegant, enjoyed while watching the sailboats setting out for the day. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and our room was incredibly comfortable and quiet, spacious and beautifully furnished. Not a detail was missing. The price of this hotel is also very reasonable compared to other similar hotels in Victoria -- we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Victoria for a wedding last week and stayed at the OBH. The hotel is beautiful with great amenities, the staff friendly but we found that when you get past the smiles and niceties, the service was left wanting. Some examples...unable to get a time for a spa appointment with no assistance for alternative times etc, car transfer service very hard to secure as always booked and no flexibility to assist, my wife rang down to seek some help from staff for hair appointment with distinct lack of interest shown and she was left with a number to work it out herself, after arriving back to the hotel at around 11pm one evening we had much difficulty in getting a glass of wine and cheese platter and had to approach several staff to arrange which was surprising given the hotel offers an all night room service. There were several other similar examples during our stay which really detracted from what could have been a great hotel experience. On a positive note, we found the service, staff and food in "The Pub" to be excellent on each dining occasion. Suggest management considers some staff training to improve customer focus which could lift the service level of the OBH creating a high standard hotel experience better aligned with the pricing charged. Mark N


  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marnat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Mark N
Thank you for staying at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel during your most recent visit to Victoria. We are saddened to hear that you were left wanting during your time with us. We do our best to accommodate all of our hotel guests in our seaside spa but on this particular weekend with many of our hotel guests participating in weddings and celebrations our
Boathouse Spa booked out very quickly. We do encourage our guests to make their spa and transportation bookings at the time of booking their guest room to ensure that we can provide them with the times and services of their choosing. Our apologies that we were not more accommodating with assisting you with your hair appointment booking and that our late evening room service was not seamless, we will be sure to work with our guest services team to ensure we are always providing Our Best services to each and every guest.
Thank you for your kind comments about your experiences in The Snug. We will be sure to pass them along to the service team.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more seamless memorable experience.
Best regards
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We LOVE this hotel! The rooms are fantastic! We opted for garden view and on our second stay we opted for the street view - both were awesome!! The prices are lower for the garden and street view than the ocean view however you can get enough ocean view from the mineral pool which is open 24/7!! The mineral pool is worth the price to stay at this hotel - I kid you not! I could have lived in this mineral pool - oh and the eucalyptus steam room is included!! Yes! It is divine and incredible and wonderful and did I tell you that I love this place?
The hotel is a very old hotel and has been completely renovated! The rooms are so inviting and have an old world modern charm that says relax - come on in!
Even better is they have a great restaurant/pub called the Snug Pub or if it is too busy and often it will be, you can walk a few short minutes to the Marina Restaurant in Oak Bay. Nice Walk, scenic, and romantic along the ocean.
Our "regular room" was fantastic!! Our second stay was in a one bedroom suite which included a kitchenette with granite countertops, seating at the breakfast bar, outdoor seating on our own private balcony and really big bathroom with walk in shower, soaker tub and his and hers sinks.
I love this hotel and I will say if you think the Empress is the place to stay - think again and please try the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and I guarantee you will be back again and again like we are!!!
OH and by the way - you can buy a condo here - definitely a consideration!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roxann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent two nights on the garden level of the hotel facing the bay.What a beautiful location for our 53rd wedding anniversary! Our room was more than we had expected, the service was excellent and the gardens and pools wonderful.
We ate in the pub and hotel dining room several times and were served by several charming and attentive waiters. We also liked the connection of the hotel to the local fine art scene of the city. During our stay the hotel was participating in an art show and in the David Foster Theater (in the hotel) they had a special event featuring local performing artists in connection with a dinner and wine tasting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MorianPerepelitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Amazing service, comfy rooms. Free Mercedes rides to downtown, ten minutes away. Rolls Royce trip to airport $100. Mineral pool Oceanside was amazing.

We flew up on Kenmore air by seaplane, best way from Seattle. Quick, great service, beautiful flight.

Room Tip: All rooms good. If you want to rent an apartment for more space the top two floors are condos which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank woodinvilletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Absolutely spectacular view! We stayed for 2 nights and it was worth every nickel we spent! The rooms are very nice, the beds top notch and the view is spectacular. The customer service was amazing and very attentive... the food at the restaurant is very very good, with a nice variety and all was very tasty! The pool and jacuzzi's are open 24x7, the grounds are awesome... they offer shuttle services to the Victoria Harbor. We will be back! The hotel offers a wide variety of services that we did not have a chance to take advantage of, yoga, kayaking, spa treatments, etc... full service!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dbl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,842 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,148 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 47 in Victoria
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $182 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing