We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pace in the City for a great meal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have been to the Oak Bay Beach Hotel numerous times since it has opened. It is the "go to" spot in town for us to take family and visitors to the region. Victoria is filled with great places to eat and many have great service and great food. But the Beach Hotel is the only one with Great Food, Great Service and an Amazing view of the Ocean, Mnt Baker all tied in with a 5 Star Hotel and the regions very best Chef, Ian Rene has taken the Hotel and Restaurant to entire new level with enticing meals created using local seafood, produce and spices as well as some more simple Pub food that is more "Comfort" based but still way above your normal pub fair if you decide to visit and eat at the "Snug" pub. I would highly suggest this location for Business Lunch meetings in the Pub, Romantic getaways and Family and Friend special meals when in town. You will leave satisfied for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

There is much to love about this hotel: the service, new facilities, and the outdoor pool. They pick up clients downtown in their Benz. Can't ask for more.

Our only concern is that the representation of the panoramic ocean view rooms on the website did not match our panormaic ocean view room. The window in our room was smaller and did not provide a panoramic view. Guests booking panorama ocean view rooms should ask for the full window as shown on the website.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the OBBH for 5 nights, it was a dream. The staff was helpful and the housekeeping folks took great care of our room. Our suite was beautiful, on the 5th floor with the most amazing bathroom. I spent a lot of time in that tub. The rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable. We were traveling with our 2 year old and the hotel was kind enough to provide a PacknPlay for her to sleep in. The view was wonderful and we even saw some seals one morning right outside the window. The mineral pools are terrific. It's a bit of a walk outside and down the steps to the pool but once you are there, WOW! We spent a lot of time floating around in the warm water. The two hot tubs are also wonderful. The spa is beautiful, there is a steam room and a work out room with great equipment (put it all to good use). We ate room service every night because of the little one and the food was great. I have a gluten allergy and the kitchen was very helpful to be sure that all that I had would not make me sick. We ate a Kate's Café most mornings. It's a little expensive but a nice place to get a snack and relax. The underground parking is great, since it rained every day, very convenient and the car is safe. We had a great time and hope to be back in the future. Thank you for a terrific trip

Room Tip: Room 508 - 1 Bedroom Suite, if you have little kids, it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Cozy up in a beautiful modern room. Comfy beds and a fantastic bathroom. You can see that in the pictures. The best feature of the hotel is the heated mineral pool. Open 24HRS, it's such a great relief to hang out with your loved one in the super warm pool. There are 2 hot tubs nearby if you like to hang out in the hot, but the pool temperature was perfect.

The front desk folks are crazy friendly. They really know the city and are just great to interact with.

Another great feature is the shuttle to and from Victoria. You get picked up in a Mercedes Benz and driven around in style. Save a ton on cabs and parking and let the friendly chaps at the front desk show the sights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I loved the trip. We only have one problem: our wine tasting was running so late that we ended up canceling. Other than that, the food and service was great as was our beach view hotel. The complimentary car service was top notch. Saved us A LOT in Taxi fares.

Room Tip: Be sure to upgrade to a beach view hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our West Coast is truly one of the most beautiful places in the world. My daughter and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel when we ferried to VI to tour UVIC- very exciting! The Hotel looked fantastic on the web site- and the reviews were glowing, so I booked us a "treat" night.
After a leisurely drive on Beach Drive, (oogling the beautiful homes) the stately Manor House style Oak Bay Beach Hotel came into view. With only overnight bags, we self parked and completed check-in in a twinkling, and we were on our way to our second floor room.
Very impressive! Bathroom and bedroom palatial and well appointed ,everything looked brand new- well supplied kitchen area with bar sink- lots of drink making supplies if you are so inclined, and two queen beds that proved to be very comfortable- perfect for a cozy afternoon nap- (did I mention it was raining?)
Feeling refreshed, we decided to use our $40 food credit in The Dining Room. My daughter had chicken, I had a peppercorn steak and both were perfection! Dessert was an explosion of taste- and just decadent enough. Your chef is a gem!
Next on the agenda- the hot mineral pools. A bit of a hike outside in the rain, (and I could not locate spa slippers in the room that might have saved me from wearing my boots with my robe)- and we discovered we were the only ones in the whole facility that evening. Floating in that gorgeous pool looking at the stars was soooo nice! I have to come back and book a massage in the spa- everything looked super clean and there is a great steam in the change room area. Best thing ever is the pools being accessible 24 hours-
The room had been turned down which was appreciated. I looked longly at the big tub and the bath salts, but couldn't stay awake. Very quiet night, great sleep-
We had a light breakfast at Kate's Cafe- that was the only disappointment- my daughters breakfast sandwich was over microwaved on high (?) and was too hot to eat, and I had to ask for a clean glass for water- the tray that was put out had crusted bits of food on the outside of every glass. The young lady that had served us appeared a bit miffed, but without a word took the tray and rewashed the glasses by hand. Medium latte, fruit muffin and breakfast sandwich with a drink was about $18, and I had left a $2 tip. Cafe was busy-
So I will, without a doubt, return to the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. I would love to take in a show at the David Foster Theatre and check out The Snug- I think I will need two nights next time!
You will not regret booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a beautiful new luxury hotel in a residential type area in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Victoria. Close to two golf courses and close to downtown Oak Bay. Oak Bay is a quaint small town but with some pretty good restaurants and shopping. The rooms are beautifully decorated and include a kitchen. Service is great and the outdoor pool is amazing. It is a 10 minute drive to downtown Victoria so if you like being in the middle of all the action this is not the hotel for you. There are lots of places to walk to and it's very close to The Marina. The hotel is also trying hard to entertain its guest by bringing in local entertainment into the David Foster Theatre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,006 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,505 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $183 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral baths while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral baths, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing